We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 South Hayes Street, Arlington, VA 22202 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Shop Til' You Drop
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for the Easter long week end and really enjoyed our stay! Not as expensive as you would think and located right next to the yellow and green metro line so easy to get to wherever you want. Also in the same complex as a mall with 4 levels of stores so lots of good shopping without even having to go outside! The spa is nice with a pool, gym and sauna!
If you ar staying for more than a day or two we recommend you get a Smartrip pass for the Metro. It is a refillable card that cost you $5.00 to buy but saves you $1.00 every time you use it so 5 trips and it is paid for and you continue to get a dollar off each trip! Best buy if you are travelling around a lot by Metro!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GKimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    298
    98
    33
    22
See reviews for
195
190
70
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Mr. Gossa offered excellent service during our visit. The location is perfect for access to the District and northern Virginia highlights. The work-around due to construction was well done, and the Fyve bar continued to be serve quality food and beverages.

Room Tip: ask for quite rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacations23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
345 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel, typical of all the amenities of Ritz. Is nearby the Pentagon, and conveniently located within a very nice tier one mall. Walking distance to descent restaurants, offers a great workout facility, spa and exceptional customer service.

Great choice for business nearby the Pentagon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyby0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicottville, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

...when they have government rate rooms available, which they do a lot! I love to stay at this hotel as it's really luxurious, comfortable, and in the perfect spot. Its always a pleasure checking-in, walking into the lobby, getting friendly greetings from the staff... I wish all staff at all hotels were this much into the hospitality portion of their jobs. Since the Ritz is owned by Marriott you get Marriott points which is great. No question that there are usually cheaper places to stay, but it's worth it to get the Ritz treatment every so often.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Broctoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
122 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

In short, if you have work in VA but your partner, spouse, kids are with you and they want to do the tourist thing in DC - this is the prefect high end hotel. Not trendy, not modern but up to date, fresh and comfortable.

This was not my first choice but it worked out best since I was there for work in Alexandria and the boyfriend was going to do the tourist thing in DC while I worked. Somehow we got a corner room at the hotel with a good view (could see the pentagon). The hotel is located so close to the metro you can literally throw a stone and hit it from the front door. The staff was friendly and generally helpful (although I did call down on two occasions and was told that we'd get a call back but didn't.) There were very minor problems with the room 1) one of the phones didn't work (someone prior to me got to agressive with unplugging it and as a result it no longer would stay plugged in.) 2) the water pressure in the shower was too low and the sink drain plug wouldn't stay up so we had to reach in to pull it up for the sink to drain (yuck). 3) I noticed only because I had to pick up something off the floor that under the dresser was an unopened pack of coffee and a swizzle stick that had probably been there since before we checked in (had fallen down the back out of reach of the vacuum). And on the last day the toilet only did very weak flushes (would not have passed the golf ball flush test from that toilet commercial). I know all this sounds bad but it was REALLY a very pleasant stay. I'd definitely go back. Those things were minor and to be honest we didn't ask for any of them to be fixed (didn't complain). The turn down service was fantastic (free bottled water replaced twice a day - LOVED that.). The hotel itself in a perfect location and the staff helpful when needed but not constantly there when not needed. My boyfriend forgot his umbrella and they liberally loaned them out to us. Apples by the front door. Choice of newspapers delivered. Coffee and tea too downstairs and in the room. Comfy robes. All the tourist buses pick up steps from the hotel which is super convenient. I spent an entire morning and afternoon working in the room and the maid was awesome - she cleaned quietly around me and asked my permission before she turned on the vacuum cleaner. Saw her several times. She seemed like a lovely person.

I highly recommend this hotel at a 4.5.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, MD
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I decided to take a weekend close home and stay at the Ritz. Very good service and the room was fantastic. I appreciated that the staff called us by name and was very attentive. If you are visiting the area, the location is excellent with the subway system near by taking you into the city. It is located within a high end mall, where you can also do shopping. The surrounding area has plenty of places to eat so you are not limited to the food court in the mall or the dining at the hotel. The bed was very comfortable, and a very welcoming room. We ordered room service for breakfast, and that would be the only minus I would have. The food wasn't as good as I expected for the Ritz. If I have the opportunity, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YDM425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I came to the Ritz Pdntagon City for five nights to attend a class. We stayed on the club level & I reccomend it! All the Ladies & Gentleman of the Ritz Carlton made our experience great, but I must give a shout out to Farida, Sonia & Babou in the club lounge. They took amazing care of us and they are great people. They truly have the heart to serve built into their DNA. We walked to the Pentagon 9-11 memorial and easily took the metro to the city. This is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skourasfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
The Westin Crystal City
#12 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#13 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,203 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Address: 1250 South Hayes Street, Arlington, VA 22202 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#7 Business Hotel in Arlington
#7 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#10 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City 5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the banks of the Potomac River and only moments from Washington, DC, The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City offers a hotel experience that beautifully blends modern luxury and traditional touches. Here guests can enjoy easy access to historic monuments, world-class museums, fine dining and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City Hotel Arlington
Ritz Arlington
Ritz-Carlton Arlington
Arlington Ritz-Carlton
Ritz Carlton Pentagon City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing