We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but with one big issue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I have stayed here several times and there are many pluses.
There is a metro stop right out front..in fact, you can enter without going outside. The hotel is attached to the Fashion Mall, which is a nice distraction. if you get a 'city' view it is pretty nice, if blocked by a few buildings.
The hotel staff is very nice, very helpful and the rooms are quite attractive.
The club level, the club lounge, is very, very nice and the staff there is excellent..although for reasons that did not make sense to me the club lounge was 'closed' during a recent holiday stay. That was a MAJOR disappointment to me. Sure, I would like to be off on holidays but that is not an option for a hotel, is it?

My only dissatisfaction with this hotel is the restaurant Fyve.
Bland looking and lacking service. There always seemed to be a lot of guys in suits who work there wandering around and too few servers to actually handle serving. Food are slow to be delivered, morning and night and while pretty good, not worth the price and often served while not hot! I do not blame the servers but management..this is a restaurant in need of better management.

Room Tip: go club level..city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caitemaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,274 - 1,280 of 1,605 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

Location is perfect 2 stops from Reagan Airport. Stayed on the Club level. Club attendants were very friendly and attentive. Room was comfortable. Room service was top notch, with the food delivered hot and fresh.

Would return for my next trip to the DC area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank F015898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is our "go-to" hotel when staying in the DC area. Five minutes from Reagan Airport and a short Metro ride away from nearly anywhere in the District, this hotel boasts some of the most quiet, comfortable rooms around. This visit, we booked the special package that included free parking and breakfast along with a reasonable (less than $200/night) room rate. Unfortunately, though, the staff at the hotel needs some serious (re)training. One concierge recommended a barbecue restaurant (Epic Smokehouse) that left a lot to be desired. Another seemed utterly clueless about how to book a tour of Mount Vernon. In the dining room (for breakfast), one day, we were seated near a large table that wasn't bussed for nearly the entire time we were there (despite numerous staff walking by - including a couple of managers who seemed more interested in some nearby floral arrangements). On another day, my wife's oatmeal was served stone cold. When it was eventually replaced, it was without apology. The worst, though, was at checkout - when it took far longer than it should have to remove the breakfast charges from our bill.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank NickK7501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Not only is the hotel First Class in evey way but you are treated to the convenience of DC's Metro just outside the hotel when you leave from the front entrance. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. Another plus is the beautiful glass ceiling mall adjacent to the Ritz. The best part of all were their beds. Treat yourself to a stay at this Ritz.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best view of the Pentagon and Arlington
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The location is fantastic, next door to a nice mall and right above the Washington Metro subway line. Rates however are the lowest of the 4 Ritz in DC area, so good value. The building is nice and staff was excellent throughout. Breakfast was fine. Only drawback is in housekeeping as we had a bulb out and staff apparently couldn't understand English note to fix it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritzytopaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very nice hotel- everything first class -especially the service. Metro stop just outside front door makes it so convenient to get anywhere in DC. The hotel is attached to a great mall with lots of shopping and eating options. Then, behind the mall is an area with outdoor skating rink, lots of great restaurants and more shopping. Absolutely would return again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomt708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are a bit tiny for a Ritz location and the price, although very clean. There is no parking aside from $32/night valet. There is a fabulous high-end mall literally attached to the hotel. Includes stores such as: Apple, LUSH and Nordstrom. I'd recommend this hotel based on cleanliness and location.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
1.1 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Arlington/Courthouse Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Arlington
Hyatt Centric Arlington
#11 of 52 in Arlington
1,789 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
3.2 mi away
The Westin Arlington Gateway
The Westin Arlington Gateway
#23 of 52 in Arlington
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City

Address: 1250 S Hayes St, Arlington, VA 22202-5000 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#7 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#7 Business Hotel in Arlington
#10 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: $175 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Northern VA’s most desirable neighborhoods and connected to high-end shopping at The Fashion Center at Pentagon City, our hotel offers more than simply a prime address. A local influence is weaved throughout our hotel, from the artwork of Virginia artists that adorns the walls to the regionally sourced ingredients on our restaurant menus. The experience is unique to the Washington DC area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City Hotel Arlington
Ritz Arlington
Ritz-Carlton Arlington
Arlington Ritz-Carlton
Ritz Carlton Pentagon City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing