We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Location But Behind the Times for Conferences” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania6500
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Location But Behind the Times for Conferences”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I have visted the Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City for several legal conferences. I can only comment on the conference rooms, as I have never actually stayed at the hotel.

The hotel itself is fairly standard for the upscale Ritz-Carlton brand. Doormen, common areas appointed with thick plush carpeting, wood panelling, expensive wall paper and wall art. The bathrooms are pristine appointed with marble and have seperate sitting rooms, cloth towels, and private floor-to ceiling stalls.

Unfortunately a HUGE negative for this hotel is that it's conference facilities completely lack adequate plugs for laptops and other electronic devices. The conference rooms consist of ballrooms with numerous folding tables and plush chairs placed in the center of the room. While the conference setup is attractive it is simply not functiona;. Most of the conferences that I attend are full-day eight hour affairs and at every break attendees literally have to scramble to find an available plug along the wall to charge their computers and phones. I have actually requested that the conference hosts not partonize the Ritz solely on this basis.

On the plus side, the hotel is very conveniently located on the subway line, less than 20 minutes away from the DC Amtrak Station. There are a number of (expensive) hotels in the area, and numerous buses that provide easy transportation to less expensive hotel options. The hotel is also located next to a galleria-type mall which offers a number of affordable dining and range of downtime shopping options.

Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Pennsylvania6500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    305
    98
    34
    22
See reviews for
206
195
71
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Well appointed room on upper level, prompt service (rollaway), metro right at doorstep. Nice amenities, very quiet. We were very satisfied with a quality nights sleep. Suggestion: fix/change the broken/worn wall-mounted light fixtures behind the front desk - didn't give a great first impression.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rpcvx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Was there over july 4th weekend for sightseeing. Rooms are a bit older compared to other Ritz BUT are still better then other 4star hotels. The access to the Metro is worth it all! Staff is very accomodating & friendly. Mall access is great. Hotel is handicap accessible & room had a roll in shower. Definitely a nice ritz & the service is great! Club lounge is soooo worth it. Unlimited beverages, breakfast, lunch, light dinner & desserts! Overall I was very satisifed!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drelynn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

For a shopaholic, this location couldn't be better. The hotel is attached to the Pentagon Fashion Center Mall. I like having so many eating and shopping options. Occasionally I like to eat in the hotel restaurant if they have sole on the menu.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Outlaw50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is steps away from the metro-only two stops away from the National Airport and two stops away from Arlington Cemetery. It is literally on the Pentagon City Mall property...very convenient to all the shops. This is also one of the stops on the Hop On Hop Off Tour, which makes it convenient for sightseeing. TheU service was amazing and its very close to restaurants and shops....but you will have to hop on the metro or take a cab to get to the National Mall....keep that in mind.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanesa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Booked a last minute over night stay at the Ritz Carlton at Pentagon City. I put in the comments section of the reservation that it was a occasion. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by name and shown to our room. A few minutes later freshly baked cookies, a hand written card, and two sodas were delivered to the room. It was a lovely gesture. The location is great and is adjacent to the mall also it is 15 minutes from downtown from DC. I highly recommend the hotel and the staff was great. The only annoying thing is that the tv remote didn't work 100%, the buttons kept sticking. I highly recommend the hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee11540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Just had a great stay at the Ritz-Carlton at Pentagon City in Arlington, Virginia. Checked in July 3 and stayed for 2 nights. There was a special rate (maybe they did not expect big crowds for the 4th of July?) and my room was nice but not too cool! I called the operator who was going to send someone to check the unit. Heard nothing after almost one hour. I called again and asked for the manager. Nick L. (Assistant Front Office Manager) spoke to me and within 20 minutes, I was in a new room (actually a bigger, better, nicer room!!! A suite!!! When i suggested I did not really need such a nice room just one like the one I had with working air conditioning, Nick L. said to enjoy the suite for the time I was there. Apparently the hotel had filled up and even though there might have been other rooms available, he chose to give the suite to me. Needless to say, the stay was absolutely wonderful. Breakfast was served to my room piping hot. The suite was on the concierge floor and I had access to snacks, sandwiches, etc. all day. I have stayed in several Ritz properties all over the world with all positive experiences. This hotel by far, is fortunate and blessed to have someone like Nick in management. I will encourage my friends to stay here in the future and I certainly will again. Thank you Nick L. and the Ritz-Carlton Hotel.

Room Tip: Metro is just outside the front door. All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,512 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Address: 1250 S Hayes St, Arlington, VA 22202-5000 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#7 Business Hotel in Arlington
#7 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#10 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City 5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the banks of the Potomac River and only moments from Washington, DC, The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City offers a hotel experience that beautifully blends modern luxury and traditional touches. Here guests can enjoy easy access to historic monuments, world-class museums, fine dining and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City Hotel Arlington
Ritz Arlington
Ritz-Carlton Arlington
Arlington Ritz-Carlton
Ritz Carlton Pentagon City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing