We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic Suites!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic Suites!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

I typically have stayed in just a regular room at this location; however, during my trip last week, the upgraded me to the executive floor. The room I was in the first night had a couple of problems and in true Ritz-Carlton style, they moved me the next day and upgraded me to a suite. The suites are huge (so much so that you have a doorbell for room service and visitors). There is a nice half-bath right off the entrance foyer AND a great espresso machine on a table in the foyer. The living room is very nice and the bedroom is incredibly spacious with a great dressing alcove complete with a dressing table and make up mirror. The bathroom is also large with a separate tub and glass enclosed shower. I'm 5'3" and my only "complaint" about the tub was that it was so long, I didn't feel safe doing my usual stress relief soak at the end of a long day for fear of falling asleep and drowning! :-) If you are a loyal fan of the Ritz-Carlton and can afford a suite, by all means enjoy this fantastic accomodation!

Room Tip: The highest floors apparently have some issues with having hot water on demand. I recommend checkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RocketCityStarbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    323
    103
    36
    24
See reviews for
232
216
82
404
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stayed here on Memorial Day weekend to celebrate a bachelorette party and I have to say it was a good choice. Snagged this hotel at a discounted rate on their website for two connecting rooms (which worked out better than booking a suite). Just as spacious and half the price.

Simply put, the service is unparallel. Upon checkin I notified the front desk I was having a party and they actually gave me supplies to help decorate the room for the party. There were no questions, judgements, or those infamous "No Party Letters". My guests had no issues coming and going to my room and overall we didn’t get the dreaded security knock on the door. It was simply a group of friends have a few drinks and enjoying our weekend before a night on the town. At checkout, I apologized to the attendant if there were any noise complaints and she said they actually blocked our whole area and did not check in other guests around us. WOW! Talk about service…I was stunned that they would go to that degree to ensure the comfort of other guests but also to allow us to enjoy this event without being bothered. That is what service is about, making a win-win situation for everyone and I was truly impressed.
No this hotel is not as chic and pretty as the Park Hyatt, the rooms are very drabby and a little dated, but the level of service is unmatched and that makes it well worth the expensive rate. Thank you Ritz Carlton for making my stay a wonderful one and for being so proactive!

Room Tip: Try connecting rooms instead of suites...just as big with half the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IN
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Romms are a little small, but naturally that's because of their age. They are excellently maintained, of course, as is the entire property. Showers are good, heat and pressure were great, could have used a little more height on the shower head, but I didn't have to duck too far down. The bed was a little on the fluffy side, but that's a personal preference, obviously. The lobby is small and cramped compared to more modern hotels. They have taken care to make sure it's very well appointed. The front staff make a big scene of fussing over their guests (it was a little snowy and breezy when we visited, and the concierge was *quite* concerned that we would be walking about 2 blocks outside without our hats!).

The location of this hotel is outstanding. Connects to the mall, which is pretty danged big....four stories of shopping 'fun,' if you're into that. Even better, connects right to the Metro, which is pretty much a prerequisite for me in DC. I think it's 2 stops to DCA. Also very close to many different restaurants within a 15-20 minute max (down to Crystal City) walk. If you can't find something you like close by, they have a bar and restaurant inside, too (I didn't eat there, so no comment).

As for fees, they get you for the normal 'big city fancy hotel stuff.' Parking was pretty high (my business partner drove, so I don't remember the cost), wi-fi had a fee (didn't use it this trip), and there's no free breakfast. Probably pretty average for name-brand DC stuff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beezlebubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

Recently stayed for business and the staff was the most helpful, pleasant, and business like ever! It was evident they were thinking about what they were doing and not just going through the motions. Much appreciated! The rooms were a little older but well kept. My only complaint is that the business center on the second floor charged for everything; time on a PC, copies, etc. C'mon Ritz Carlton, really?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarryonBag78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronado
Level Contributor
166 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton Pentagon City for a three-night weekend. It was the least ritzy Ritz Carlton I have ever stayed at.

Our room, 1118 was somewhat shabby and smelled of mold. The ceiling in the bathroom was peeling next to the vent. The cleaner did a very good job with what she had to work with, and I was glad to see free bottled water and a coffee maker.

Since there was nothing in the room to tell us anything about the hotel, I only found out by accident that there was a spa, etc.

The service was, for a Ritz Carlton, very poor. One harried woman concierge was very helpful, but the male concierges and doormen were to be seen, several times, chatting and laughing amongst themselves while ignoring the guests.

The restaurant and bar areas were quite grim, and I was very pleased that I had been unable to get a reservation for the $90-per person brunch. All day Mother's Day the hallways smelled of fish as a consequence of that brunch.

The location of the hotel is excellent, in the Pentagon City Mall, where you can get breakfast at McDonalds and take it to your room, thus avoiding the usual high meal charges for room service (this Ritz was no worse than other hotels here). The Metro is a few steps away; I chose the hotel because it was on the Yellow Line which is where I needed to go.

If you get a decent rate for this hotel, under $250, I would recommend it over other DC hotels I have stayed at. But not otherwise. And if your room smells of mold, ask them to find you another one.

But the Pentagon City Ritz Carlton is not really a Ritz, since it is not ritzy.

Room Tip: Go to the room you are assigned, and before you unpack, take a deep breath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoronadoCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC area
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

This hotel is located in a great location, adjacent to the Pentagon City Mall. It is also convenient to Reagan National Airport. There were plenty of staff persons to assist you. Front desk seemed a bit slow upon check-in and check-out, but the hotel seems very busy. The rooms are clean and adequate, but I wasn't blown away by the hotel rooms. However, my room had a bit of smell of some sort. Breakfast from room service was OK--not spectacular. The staff neglected to arrange an early morning taxi to the airport, so it was good to have allowed extra time. Overall, a good stay for business or if the room rate is reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tnc2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
245 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

The hotel backs onto a busy shopping mall - you could easily spend your entire weekend hitting the shops - but is the usual Ritz-Carlton oasis of calm, comfort and service. There are no surprises here, everything runs smoothly, the rooms are so comfortable you won't want to leave, the staff are friendly, welcoming and professional without any of that grand hotel grand attitude. The restaurant serves a generous buffet breakfast - by your second morning the omelet chef will know what you want. We entertained a party of friends to brunch, who were delighted by the choice and quality of the offerings, as we were by the way the staff treated us by then as regulars and old friends.
If you can bear to leave, you are on top of a Metro station and can be anywhere in DC (or at DCA) in minutes.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
The Westin Crystal City
#12 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#15 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Address: 1250 S Hayes St, Arlington, VA 22202-5000 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#7 Business Hotel in Arlington
#7 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#10 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City 5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the banks of the Potomac River and only moments from Washington, DC, The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City offers a hotel experience that beautifully blends modern luxury and traditional touches. Here guests can enjoy easy access to historic monuments, world-class museums, fine dining and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City Hotel Arlington
Ritz Arlington
Ritz-Carlton Arlington
Arlington Ritz-Carlton
Ritz Carlton Pentagon City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing