We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Brunch Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2012

A get together by a dozen or so folks for brunch had an interetsing twist to it. We were directed to the brunch line and were greeted by a fine assortment of salads, meats, fish, shrimp, crab claws, beef, chicken, and and omelette stand. In the meanwhile champagne and orange juice were provided for all of our party.

Following our first course, our waiter passed out menus containing additional entrees including breakfast staples such as eggs benedict, steak, French Toast, crabcakes, etc.

Who knew? Thie brunch was the closest thing to a sea cruise meal I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank jrjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,425 - 1,431 of 1,659 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2012

I stayed here rather than the preferred hotel for a conference that I was attending in the local area.

Bottom line up front. This hotel offered and delivered on better, larger rooms and an excellent gym and pool in comparison to most other hotels in the area. In particular it was much better than any of the other Marriott brand hotels. The per diem was the same as for the Marriott hotels in the immediate vicinity.

The welcome throughout my 5 night stay was always very courteous and professional, from check-in through to check-out.

The room was very pleasant, with a good sized workspace and a very comfortable bed. Everything was to the standard that one would expect from this brand. The bathroom reflected this with spotless attention to detail by the cleaning staff.

The gym and pool facilities were of an excellent standard, including a wide variety of equipment and plenty of space. The changing rooms and other facilities were of fitness club standards, and the pool was a 15m lap pool not a novelty shaped splash pool. The only thing missing was a whirlpool or hot-tub for relaxing after a workout.

The hotel is very well located, with a wide variety of shops and restaurants right on the doorstep. A Starbucks is just downstairs from the Mall exit, which makes for economy on the breakfast and coffee front if so desired. eating in the restaurant is not overly expensive for a Ritz-Carlton, but there is a very wide variety of good cheaper in very close proximity if hotel dining is too expensive or not your thing.

The hotel is extremely convenient for a number of key locations including the Pentagon.
Washington Reagan airport is 5 minutes away by cab, and there is a Metro station directly underneath the hotel. The connection time into central DC is only 10 minutes once onboard a train.

Whilst I was present for a conference in Arlington, I would happily use this hotel as my base for visiting downton DC either on business or for pleasure. Overall a very impressive stay. This is a Ritz-Carlton in Arlington and not the Bahamas or London, and the drab location is not a reflection on the hotel which seems to confuse some people when writing their reviews.

Room Tip: Enjoy breakfast in the Starbucks just inside the Mall from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pzfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I would highly recommend a stay at this property. The service is first and foremost amazing! The management is to be commended on how well the employees treat their guests. We booked a room on the Club Lounge floor and found this to be an excellent choice. The Club lounge offered presentations throughout the day and we found all the choices to be superb. We also enjoyed breakfast in their restaurant as well as dinner. We had a room that had nice views of the Pentagon. The mall is attached to the hotel which made shopping very convenient. The metro is situated right across the street. We were here on business, and have had to stay in several other DC hotels, but found this one to be our favorite. I would have rated this a 5 star, but as I have said with several of my other reviews, unless a property is perfection, I never rate a 5 star status. However this is a 4 plus!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Always5Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

My friend and I met for a social breakfast, and we were both impressed by the service. From walking in the front door, warmly greeted by every Ritz Carlton associate, to being addressed multiple times by name in the restaurant, we were impressed. The service was just the right amount of attentiveness. Our coffee was never cold, we did not need to ask for anything since almost every request was anticipated by waitstaff. The eggs benedict with crab was heavenly and the egg and tomato sandwich looked wonderful. The portions were generous and cooked to perfection. Yes, it was an expensive breakfast, but the quality of the food, the beautiful setting, and the superior service prompted this frugal diner to tip a full 20% as it was well deserved. Will definitely return to dine again. Best part? We stayed for a very long time, about three hours, and we were never asked to leave or pressured to depart our table. Now that is hospitality!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yesharvardsucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in January for our anniversary. Some of the hotel staff were really great especially Ali at the front desk,but we were treated like garbage by the manager (Edward at Fyve). We asked for a table and his response, in a very condesending tone was we could see there were empty tables and walked away! This was during their happy hour, so it was obviously a full lounge. Having stayed at Four Seasons, Trump International and a host of other four & five star hotels, I was appalled that we would be treated this way! We had planned a family dinner for eight which we immediately cancelled. I couldn't stand the thought of my family being treated as though we were here to beg! Totally ruined our anniversary! I expressed my sentiments on the comment card, received an email asking me for my phone number so they could speak to me, but never got a call. The last straw was when I called to find ask for some items we had left forgot, so we could have them mailed to us, but I was told they donate the unclaimed items that have been there for a month to the housekeeper that found them! Really?? So someone is wearing my wife's $500 sweater because the hotel staff didn't have the decency to call or email us (since they have our phone number and email on file)? When I asked why they didn't reach out to us, the response was...well,we don't know who comes here with a person who is not his spouse! This is totally offensive and should never come from a staff member at the Ritz! Unacceptable!!!

Room Tip: Pay for the upgrade and get a suite, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WellTravelled572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed here for two nights during a weekend. As a family, with two small children (7&9), we really appreciated being so close to the different food options. The mall offered great shopping as well. The location of being on the Metro line meant that we did not need our car during our time in Washington. The pool at the Ritz was in excellent condition and at a perfect temperature. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We had a lovely view of the Pentagon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Location, location,location. Metro,shopping and food all nearby. Overpriced so look for days that Washington is sleeping and rates drop. Beds and pillows best amenities, slept so soundly that I thought I was the only one in the hotel. Only complaint not really inviting to single traveler. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slwalkerthacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
1.1 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Arlington/Courthouse Plaza
0.5 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#28 of 52 in Arlington
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#14 of 52 in Arlington
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City

Address: 1250 South Hayes Street, Arlington, VA 22202-5000 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#7 Business Hotel in Arlington
#7 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#8 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: $194 - $585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Northern Virginia's most desirable neighborhoods and connected to high-end shopping at The Fashion Center at Pentagon City, The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City offers more than simply a prime address. A local influence is weaved throughout our luxury hotel in Arlington, from the artwork of Virginia artists that adorns the walls to the regionally sourced ingredients on our restaurant menus. The experience is unique to the Washington D.C. area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City Hotel Arlington
Ritz Arlington
Ritz-Carlton Arlington
Arlington Ritz-Carlton
Ritz Carlton Pentagon City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing