We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“stayed many times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 South Hayes Street, Arlington, VA 22202 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Shop Til' You Drop
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“stayed many times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Rooms are clean and comfortable (although I did notice a small stain on the ottoman). Great location-- connected to a mall in case you need to shop for something, and Metro is right there. The food in the hotel is good, and the service is good. Room service is prompt. Much cleaner than other area hotels, which is important to me.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roguewavehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    298
    98
    33
    22
See reviews for
195
190
70
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Stayed for two nights on a trip with college aged son. Booked a non deluxe level suite with fold out couch and found we had been kindly upgraded to a suite with an extra half bath. Made the entire stay more pleasant for us. (Thank-you, R-C for that.) The concierges on all shifts were truly kind and helpful. People on staff are markedly genuine here which takes the edge off the concrete newness and lack of character of this city near the Pentagon.
Location is excellent for many reasons. Drop dead best access to the metro you can imagine across the street from the hotel entrance...or your choice, enter the very good mall and get on the Metro from the lower floor of the Mall itself and never go outside. Location is also great if you want a safe place at all hours to return to from your daily work or touring experiences. We really got out and dined in Pentagon Row and in the local restaurants and found the area to be quite hospitable with good dining you can enjoy on foot and nice evenings dining outside in the neighborhoods that service the high rise condos surrounding this area if you like. Kudos to pro concierges Mark and his associates for going above and beyond to help orient our college age son to DC for his pending local employment. could they have been any nicer?
If you are patriotic, you will appreciate the people in uniform you see residing in the housing nearby. This location is a close in hop over the river to all the attractions in DC itself. The rooms are very quiet and in room dining was handled with the same sort of personal touch that you get at the front door with the valet parking attendants and doormen and the front desk attendants. All so professional. The baths are marble with a walk in shower in our unit which I enjoyed, and dressing areas that are seldom seen in other hotels. My only caveat would be that the mattress itself was only OK although the linens were all quite nice for a luxury hotel. will be rebooking and returning! We enjoyed the location particulary on Memorial Day weekend.

Room Tip: upper floor on Pentagon View side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Great service, customer service and everyone working in the hotel, went out of their way to greet and make us comfortable. Room was up to Ritz Carlton standards, bed and linens etc. Breakfast was included in the package and a full menu and/ buffet was part of the selection. A great deal ! Near all the monuments and shopping.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseyPatD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

This is a wonderful hotel with amazing customer service. Traveling with 2 very young chldren and an infant can be difficult and the staff was more than helpful, holding doors and even unfolding the baby's rather complicated stroller. On a very hot weekend it seemed as though someone was always there offering complimentary bottled water, lemonade, and apples.
The pool was fantastic after a long day exploring the city and was very child friendly.
The hotel is attached to the mall with lots of child friendly restaurant options. California Pizza Kitchen, Johnny Rockets, and Chevy's are all next to the hotel and the mall food court has many fast food options.
The ONLY downside of this hotel is the bed. Despite being large enough for queen beds, the rooms with 2 beds only have full size (double) beds. These are a tight squeeze for two adults. On our first night, one of the two beds was awful and made for a very uncomfortable night's sleep. It was as if an old and sagging mattress had been covered with a featherbed to extend it's life. After a restless and uncomfortable night sleep, and waking up with a sore neck, back, and hip, we considered checking out and going to the Residence Inn neraby. We were willing to trade luxury and fantastic customer service for a good night's sleep. Fortunately, before checking out early, I spoke with the front desk who happily moved us to another room. While we were out for the day, the staff took care of everything, even moving our luggage to the new room. The new room, while it still had the very small beds, was substantially better. The beds were very comfortable and we woke up the next day rested and refreshed.
All in all this was a great stay at the Ritz Carlton Pentagon City, we will be back, but will probably book a suite next time to avoid the double beds.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trippinwiththekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

It's an easy cab or subway (2 stops) from DCA to the Ritz. The conference rooms are nice as is the lobby (small) and the rooms were comfortable, but not as large or as 'exceptional' as other Ritz Carlton's I've stayed. Staff was very friendly, and food was great. Great place for business meetings. The gym was well appointed, and easy to get to. The pool seemed nice (but small).

The room I had was on the 5th floor, and looked directly onto a flat roof - one of the worst views I've had from any hotel in D.C. Ask for a higher room, or one that faces out the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glbltrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We absolutely loved this Ritz. Location is unexpectedly convenient. The metro is right next to the hotel, there is a huge mall/ shopping center with Nordstrom Rack (!) literally attached to it. The I BR was very spacious and having 2 bathrooms was ideal. We were on the Club level and were very impressed with the level of service! Virginia was amazing, such a sweet lady- she would save us food for when we returned from museum trips!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aiordana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

From the time we pulled up to the door, we received personal service. Edward and Mark helped with our plans to walk to dinner on Saturday night and also to brunch on Sunday. Landolino was courteous on Sunday morning. He has worked 21 years for the Ritz Carlton. That is something to be proud of! Finally, the wonderful valet, who's name I can't remember who offered me cold bottled water when he observed that I may be hot. We had a wonderful experience and hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthJersey08080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
The Westin Crystal City
#12 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#13 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,205 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Address: 1250 South Hayes Street, Arlington, VA 22202 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#7 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#7 Business Hotel in Arlington
#10 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City 5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the banks of the Potomac River and only moments from Washington, DC, The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City offers a hotel experience that beautifully blends modern luxury and traditional touches. Here guests can enjoy easy access to historic monuments, world-class museums, fine dining and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City Hotel Arlington
Ritz Arlington
Ritz-Carlton Arlington
Arlington Ritz-Carlton
Ritz Carlton Pentagon City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing