We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place....but Never go when there are large conferences taking over the building”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place....but Never go when there are large conferences taking over the building”
Reviewed July 29, 2010

The Hyatt Crystal City would have been a really nice place to stay except......I had to experience the horrible nightmare of a large conference that took over the whole hotel!! The wait for the elevator was absolutely ridiculous. Every elevator was packed with people from the conference all day long!!!!! We had to wait anywhere from 15-20 minutes or longer for an elevator and there were six elevators!!! We had to let five or more elevators pass us by b/c we could not squeeze on the elevator.And when we did get on an elevator it stopped on almost every floor to let someone out. The parents let the kids do whatever they wanted to do and run all over the hotel destroying and littering every floor. The pool area was disgusting because of the kids that were rowdy, loud, rude, pushing little kids and acting crazy. There was no supervision for these children.
And forget about checkout day waiting for over 30 mins for an elevator and everyone from my party could not get on the elevator. It took us three trips to get down to the lobby. It took us 45 mins in total to get to the lobby. The elevator stopped on every floor and the people from the conference were pushing and shoving trying to get on the packed elevators. One guy piled his suitcases on top of my suitcases while pushing me to the back and I just barely fit on the elevator??!!!! The door couldnt even close b/c of the man.Talk about rude!!! It was a horrible nightmare. Its a wonder the elevators didnt break down. I am warning everyone MAKE SURE YOU CALL TO FIND OUT IF THERE WILL BE LARGE CONFERENCES AT YOUR HOTEL BECAUSE THEY WILL MAKE THE HOTEL EXPERIENCE A LIVING NIGHTMARE! The Hyatt was unable to accomodate the large groups and it was more than one large group. I dont think I will stay at this hotel again. I am traumatized!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justme031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    616
    316
    144
    65
See reviews for
285
222
162
1,019
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We arrived on a Sunday and there was garbage everywhere in the lobby. There were not enough couches to sit in the reception, unless you sat at the bar and ordered something. The room was spacious, but the bathroom was very small. There was a lot of dust behind the night table and in some corners in the room. I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tixeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

. This hotel is terrible! You can hear clearly what is going on the hallway. People talking, knocking the door, service people using the speakphone.

We are having a conf in the hotel. It takes at least 5 minutes to wait for the elevator! Even though there are six elevators, it is always crowded. The conference rooms are hiding everywhere. There are even no cellohone signals in some rooms.

I always have bad experience of hyatt. Terrible hotel but ridiculous price.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoppiLLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

I stayed here during a large conference. I found my room and the facilities to be top notch. As a vegetarian, I found the dining options really limited, but I managed to make due; what I did try was delicious, if a little pricey. My complaint about this facility is that it's far from tons of places in DC including Union Station and Dupont Circle (I name these places because my cab rides to these sites were expensive).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Stayed 5 nights while attending a conference. Our 18th floor room was clean, comfortable, spacious, well appointed and had a fairly nice view of nothing in particular but at least were weren't staring at other buildings. The bath was modern and clean but the lighting was poor. The buffet was forgetable and cheaper than ordering from the menu but next time I'll go with the menu. This hotel is a few blocks from the nearest Metro station and Washington DC proper is only a few stops away. Very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCFLongIsland_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

The front desk staff could give training seminars to other hotels' staff on how to "do it right". So gracious, very accommodating. My room was very spacious and comfortable. The elevator is slow to arrive. Charging for Internet access is standard in big cities, but free whenever I stay in a smaller town. Why? I declined to pay the fee. The bed was quite nice.
The hotel is undergoing renovation. The only thing that set this property apart from the usual was the kindness and professionalism of every employee I encountered.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
467 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

The good: easy and efficient check-in, clean rooms, good group rate for reunion, and regular shuttles to the Metro station. The bad: thin walls (I actually heard my neighbor roll up their blinds), exhorbitant parking fee (I parked my car elsewhere), no free wireless internet, and unfriendly policy regarding mileage points. I did not have my American Airlines account number and was told I could call it in later to get points. When I called a day after my stay, I was told they can only give me points during my stay but not after. However, had I been in their Silver Club or whatever they call their own hotel loyalty club, they would processed my mileage points after the fact. Stupid policy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TarHeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.6 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#13 of 51 in Arlington
1,171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#15 of 51 in Arlington
1,441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.5 mi away
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport

Property: Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport
Address: 2799 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-4002
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Arlington
#9 Family Hotel in Arlington
#16 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 686
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the heart of it all at Hyatt Regency Crystal City. Our hotel is perfectly positioned for easy access to Virginia and the entire DC-metro area. Enjoy a complimentary shuttle to the airport and easy access to Metro transportation. Within minutes, you can be exploring the nation’s best monuments and museums, taking in a show at the Kennedy Center, enjoying a Washington Nationals game or even touring the White House! Prefer to stay local? Arlington, Virginia has plenty of attractions, including luxury shopping and dining in Clarendon, the historic Arlington Cemetery or hiking in nearby Great Falls Park. Within our spectacularly updated Crystal City hotel, you’ll discover the services and amenities only Hyatt can provide – award-winning dining and inviting spacious guestrooms with luxury amenities like Hyatt Grand BedTM, and iHome stereos with iPod® docking stations. Enjoy the perfect combination of luxury and convenience at the Hyatt Regency Crystal City hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Hyatt Regency Arlington
Hyatt Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing