We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Okay for business, disappointing management response to issues.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Okay for business, disappointing management response to issues.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I recently stayed here under the Business Plan rate. The hotel itself is reasonably nice for a business stay. It’s very close to the airport and many nearby offices are easily walkable from the hotel. The room was comfortable and I had no complaints with cleanliness. The in-room safe was not working, and after bringing this to the attention of the front desk (see below) it was repaired. The bathroom is small, but it was sufficiently equipped for a single traveler. The wireless internet service was okay, no issues there. I had the breakfast buffet in the 2nd floor restaurant on two mornings. The food was good, there was a nice selection of both hot and cold foods, and the service was friendly and efficient. I had drinks and a chicken quesadilla in the lobby bar one evening. The drinks were ample, no complaints. The quesadilla was okay, but not really great. I used the shuttle service for a quick ride (and return) to the nearest metro stop. I also used the hotel’s airport shuttle for my return trip to the airport. I did not use the airport pickup shuttle - I waited for 15-20 minutes and never saw the shuttle, and finally another hotel shuttle driver asked where I was going and offered me a ride which I accepted.

I did have a few issues which are related to staff and management. First, check-in was not smooth. I asked the check in agent about the free breakfast and free internet that was included in my rate. She told me that was wrong, neither was included. Only after calling a manager over did they confirm that my rate actually did include these. Second - tooth paste. Aquafresh toothpaste is a common amenity offered by most, but not all, Hyatt hotels. It is a nice amenity that distinguishes Hyatt from most of the other chain hotels, and one that I appreciate when I’m flying to a destination. I checked the room descriptions when I booked this hotel, and noted that toothpaste was an “amenity”. So I was surprised and disappointed when, upon arriving in my room (shortly after 11pm) that there was no toothpaste. I assumed it had been overlooked by housekeeping, but upon returning to the room the next evening I noted there was still no toothpaste. I mentioned this to the front desk the following morning and they apologized and delivered a tube to my room. I also questioned the front desk about the “complimentary bottle of water” that was supposed to be included in my Business Plan rate. I was told that complimentary water was not included, but they would comp a bottle due to the tooth paste issue and the safe issue. I consumed one of the $5 Aquafina bottles of water that evening.

Upon return home, I received a Hyatt survey which I filled out. I was later contacted by email by someone at the hotel. They informed me that the toothpaste amenity was only provided on request. I believe that when a hotel advertises toothpaste as an amenity (along with hair dryer, free local calls, etc.) that it should be present in the room without me having to ask for it (as is the case in every other Hyatt I’ve stayed at, which is a lot of Hyatts). During the email exchange, I rechecked my rate description, and noticed that I WAS supposed to get a free bottle of water each day. I also noticed I was suppose to receive a daily newspaper delivered to my room each morning (M-F). The hotel responded that I was correct about the water, and told me they would remove the charge for the water…..Unbeknownst to me, after I checked out, they billed me for the bottle of water I was supposed to be comped for due to the toothpaste and safe issue….and even though I was suppose to receive a free bottle each day.

Hotel management made no other effort to respond to my complaints other than to tell me toothpaste was only provided on request and removing the bottled water charge.

I would sum this up by saying unfortunately you as the guest will have to understand what is included in your rate, and then verify and insist that the hotel provide it to you. The hotel staff made several mistakes, and I was very disappointed my the management's half-hearted attempt to reach out after my survey responses were received and then failing to acknowledge a number of my concerns, and made no there efforts to address or compensate for the obvious short comings.

For the record, my rate also included "1 free shirt or blouse pressing daily". This was not mentioned or offered, and I did not request it, but this again demonstrates the hotel's failure to both understand their own rate plans and to be forthcoming in delivering the included services.

Again, the hotel generally was a nice place to stay while on a business trip, but the overall service as reflected by management and the front desk were disappointing at best.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanq K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattCrystalCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Greetings Tanq,
We appreciate you sharing these details about our experience at Hyatt Regency Crystal City. We are very sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Your feedback regarding your Front Desk service has been relayed to the staff and is something we will continue to work on. We apologize for the confusion with your specific rate plan and for the fact that the response you received from management wasn't up to par. We hope the next time you come to visit Crystal City that you will give Hyatt Regency Crystal City a second chance to make your stay an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    548
    277
    124
    50
See reviews for
245
200
140
857
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed here for a conference and was very impressed with the service. The staff at the front desk, in the restaurant, and manning the buffet were all extremely friendly and accommodating, helping with directions, recommendations, mailing items, and even snagging me my favorite kind of soda! The room was nice - nothing spectacular - but it was clean. The buffet breakfasts and lunches for the conference were surprisingly good. I usually don't expect very good food at these kind of events but they were hearty, tasty, and filling. There is a free shuttle that provides transportation to the subway stop as it's quite a walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VoyageHopper42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattCrystalCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hello VoyageHopper42,
Thank you for your great review of Hyatt Regency Crystal City. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be so kind and service oriented. I will pass your kudos on the conference meals along to our Culinary Staff; they love to hear that the guests enjoy the food. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

I just got back from a conference held at the Hyatt and wish i could have said i was impressed. The hotel overall is beautiful with great amenities, but the rooms weren't so great. The beds were horrible. We had a double room and both beds were caved in. The sheets and towels had stains and were not very soft. The showerhead is fantastic! Conference food was cold and unappealing.
I guess for a conference of college kids its ok, but next time I'll stay elsewhere.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

I find it exellent for the price clean very polite girl think was Lucia in the desk bad just the internet fails a lot and one don't do international calls they are way crazy expensive
We enjoy our stay

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alberto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a visit to DC between Christmas and New Years. Great accommodations with sleek, modern rooms. Use of space is city style where every square in of your quarters is purposed. Amenities offered are nice and give the hotel an upscale feel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank margaret f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

My spouse and I stayed here a couple of days before Christmas when airline delays caused us to miss our connecting flight and land in the wrong city well after rental car companies closed for the night. The location is very close to DCA and the rates are very good. The hotel is older but is kept very clean. The room was clean and the staff was gracious. I appreciate them allowing us to check in during the wee hours of the morning. I slept well.

The breakfast food was quite good, with generous portions and a super healthy, on-trend menu.

They have a shuttle that runs to and from the airport, however we arrived too late to use it. A taxi from the airport was just over $10.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shutter_Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

I was at the Hyatt Regency for only about 8 hours – just to get a night’s sleep between flights. I wish I could have been there much longer! The room was fantastic – modern and comfortable, and a great value for the price. I slept very well in the bed and enjoyed the rain shower and the KenetMD bath products. I also appreciated the punctual and frequent shuttle service to and from the airport, which was about a 5 minute drive away. Check in and check out was also a breeze with the online option. Only thing that I could have asked for is free wi-fi in the rooms, but there is free wi-fi in the lobby. If I’m ever traveling thru DC again, I know exactly where I will stay again. Thanks, Hyatt!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazines_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.6 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#12 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Arlington Crystal City / Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport

Property: Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport
Address: 2799 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-4002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Arlington
#9 Family Hotel in Arlington
#16 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 686
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the heart of it all at Hyatt Regency Crystal City. Our hotel is perfectly positioned for easy access to Virginia and the entire DC-metro area. Enjoy a complimentary shuttle to the airport and easy access to Metro transportation. Within minutes, you can be exploring the nation’s best monuments and museums, taking in a show at the Kennedy Center, enjoying a Washington Nationals game or even touring the White House! Prefer to stay local? Arlington, Virginia has plenty of attractions, including luxury shopping and dining in Clarendon, the historic Arlington Cemetery or hiking in nearby Great Falls Park. Within our spectacularly updated Crystal City hotel, you’ll discover the services and amenities only Hyatt can provide – award-winning dining and inviting spacious guestrooms with luxury amenities like Hyatt Grand BedTM, and iHome stereos with iPod® docking stations. Enjoy the perfect combination of luxury and convenience at the Hyatt Regency Crystal City hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Hyatt Regency Arlington
Hyatt Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing