We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Its fine...but just fine” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Its fine...but just fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The staff at this aging member of the Hyatt family is terrific...but prepare to be underwhelmed by the hotel generally. Its fine - its clean - but the elevators are slow, the rooms dated and the restaurants not worth your time (much better options nearby!). The night I was there the main restaurant (rooftop) was closed to the public so they could have a private event - I guess they wanted to encourage us to eat somewhere else.

If you get a really good deal its a fine hotel (and theres a great little italian deli next door that makes a really good/cheap breakfast!)...but there are far better options in and around Crystal City.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WallyOU812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    506
    256
    105
    42
See reviews for
225
185
128
773
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is in a great location close to Regan National Airport with numerous other hotels in the area, restaurants and shops. I had reserved a standard King room, but none were available when I checked in. The clerk said "I am going to give you a double-double, OK". I said "not OK" to see what she would do. It is my opinion, don't ask if you are not prepared for the answerr to be "no", well she got completely flustered and was prepared to argue with me. I could see the wheels turning as she thought better of it and gave me an executive King room, which was an upgrade for the reservation rate. Overall, I felt the staff was competent but NOT welcoming and friendly. The concierge/bell hops hinted for tips upon each interaction. The valets actually almost ran me over with a luggage cart and acted as if I was "in the way", what nerve I had trying to enter the hotel upon returning from dinner. My housekeeper was Rosa, and she replaced my towels, coffee, cups and toiletries each day, so based on LCV_12's review, that seems hit or miss. They do not have customer comment cards, nor did the clerk ask me if I had a nice stay upon check-out.

The rooms are quiet, I hardly heard a sound from the hallway or neighboring rooms. I was on the 17th floor and there was no street noise, I could not comment on the lower floors. The linens are not scratchy, although the mattresses are not the best and gave me a backache after one night's sleep (my back is a sensor for poor matresses the way granny's arthritis is for rain). The bathroom was absolutely tiny. So if you are a large person, consider a different Crystal City hotel. There literally was about a two foot by two foot open space (I estimated with my feet) when the bathroom door was closed between the door, counter, toilet and shower (no tub). The shower door passed withing two inches of the toilet and the bathroom door passed within 3 or 4 inches of the toilet in opposite directions - i.e. you could not have both open at the same time. It was next to impossible to step out of the shower and close the shower door again without bumping the toilet. The workspace was on the small sized, but adequate. Although the outlet was loose or something and eventhough my phone was plugged in all night, it did not charge, so I charged it the next night from the bathroom outlet. The clock has a dock for a iPod or iPod shuffle, which was nice.

The free shuttle to Regan and the Metro is nice, except the Marriot chain of hotels in the area also provided shuttle service both to and from area restaurants and shopping. When I noted that to the front desk they just stared at me like I had not just two heads, but three heads. Like I said, adequate but not terribly good customer skills.

Overall, you will have a fine stay. Nothing too much to complain about. But, except it was the hotel that was booked by the company I was there to work with, I would not choose this hotel if returning to the area for a different reason. Although I think staying in the Crystal City area is excellent in terms of restaurants and shops within 10 to 15 minutes walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a handicapped accessable room so that you will have enough room to turn around in the bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WIsconsinTravelerToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl, Mississippi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Everyone at the hotel was very accommodating. Shuttles ran on time and often - courteous drivers. The concierge desk held my luggage after checkout so I could attend meetings on the Hill, then I returned to the hotel to take the shuttle to the airport. Room was very comfortable; there was a sofa and desk in addition to the bed. There were some restaurants (about 10 or 12) within walking distance of the hotel. Stand up shower only, no tub, but that wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taya33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a very nice bedroom, spacious bright and clean, the food was delicious, they clean every day, they change the towels if you ask for and replace everything you need, they say always yes,
they help with my laptop, and provide me with european electric contacts, really excellent.

Room Tip: 1821 was a good spacious bright room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurvois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

There were a couple perks that made staying at this hotel worth while. First, the courtesy shuttle to and from the airport or metro & secondly, it's proximity to the metro & dining options. I attended a conference that was hosted at this hotel. The first night I opted for dinner in the hotel due to weather conditions. While it was tasty, it was rather expensive. There is a deli, McDonald's, Starbucks and Subway nearby. If you catch the courtesy van to the metro station, there is a mall with lots of dining options.
The staff were friendly & helpful. They did whatever they could to accommodate requests. I chose not to use house keeping services but I did allow them to empty my trash.
The room was comfortable & offered the space needed to get some work done.
I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The hotel is well situated in Arlington, really near the Pentagon and a short drive to downtown. The hotel is nice and the beds were comfy. Staff was friendly and helpful. Housekeeping was pretty bad. Our beds were made every day, but toiletries were never replaced, a dirty glass was not replaced for over 4 days and we had only 1 cup for coffee, when clearly there was more than one person in the room. Also, parking is expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCV_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The room is nice, but really dusty, the carpet really needs swept, the desktop is glass which is awful for mice, the closet and its doors are not flush, the lighting is very dim, the bathroom is small, but I was happy to find the bathroom door works (it did not in another review). The restaurant on the 2nd floor just opened for dinner - go elsewhere. There is NOT a separate Perks and Lobbibar - they are one and the same. I don't want to drink coffee at a bar, thank you. On the brighter side, the hotel staff so far are very courteous and the driving directions were better than google's.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevators. Buy water in the vending machine by the elevator rather than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.6 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#12 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,053 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Crystal City at Washington Reagan National Airport
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport

Property: Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport
Address: 2799 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-4002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Arlington
#9 Family Hotel in Arlington
#16 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 686
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the heart of it all at Hyatt Regency Crystal City. Our hotel is perfectly positioned for easy access to Virginia and the entire DC-metro area. Enjoy a complimentary shuttle to the airport and easy access to Metro transportation. Within minutes, you can be exploring the nation’s best monuments and museums, taking in a show at the Kennedy Center, enjoying a Washington Nationals game or even touring the White House! Prefer to stay local? Arlington, Virginia has plenty of attractions, including luxury shopping and dining in Clarendon, the historic Arlington Cemetery or hiking in nearby Great Falls Park. Within our spectacularly updated Crystal City hotel, you’ll discover the services and amenities only Hyatt can provide – award-winning dining and inviting spacious guestrooms with luxury amenities like Hyatt Grand BedTM, and iHome stereos with iPod® docking stations. Enjoy the perfect combination of luxury and convenience at the Hyatt Regency Crystal City hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Hyatt Regency Arlington
Hyatt Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing