We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Conference, Hotel. Close to everything.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
TEXAS
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Conference, Hotel. Close to everything.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Beautiful hotel , nice rooms. Great for conferences. Free shuttle van to and from airport. Free shuttle to metro. Great people . Good customer service. Pool, Hot Tub, and fitness room. Great for business trips,or fun. Close to crystal city mall. And resturants. Only down fall I had to share a room with a co worker due to hotel on line reservation.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinnredhotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    548
    277
    125
    50
See reviews for
246
200
140
857
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here when the reservation hotline recommended by USAir identified it as the cheapest available place within 10 minutes of the airport (no compensation when th claim the light was cancelled due to "air traffic"). Spent exactly 8 hours there before heading out on a rebooked flight, but enjoyed them very much. Very comfortable bed, nice bath products, pleasant decor throughout, soothing Eurogroovy music in the lobby, and fast, effective service at the front desk and on the shuttle. Didn't pay for the Internet so don't know how well it works; didn't have time to explore the restaurant, fitness room, or much of anything else.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank rue_papillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Great hotel and staff. They always are friendly and willing to help! I have been to this hotel numerous times and every trip has been good. One time I had an issue, which was resolved rather quickly for me, but not only did the hotel resolve it, I was given several thousand hyatt points for a free night stay at any hyatt worldwide. Highly recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: Ive stayed here numerous times, I recommend the lower floors. The elevators can be slow during busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed this place. I think the pricing is a bit high, but the staff is fantastic. Good location, nearby DC, the front desk were pleasant. Not to mention all the good food around, the comfortable bed, and the omelets were mmmmmmm yum!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

PROS:

1. The Hyatt is located amongst so many similarly nondescript, tan hotel buildings (Courtyard Marriott, Renaissance, etc.). It is easy to find - if you are on Route 1, get off at 27th Street.

2. Breakfast is quite good - omelets made to order (egg whites available), Tazo teas, bacon, sausage, pastries, oatmeal, grits, French toast (if available), vegetable medley, potatoes, yogurt and cottage cheese with assorted granola, shaved coconut, walnut and slivered almond toppings. Came out to approx $55 for a party of 3. Hiram is absolutely the best waiter ever - ask to be served by him. Not intrusive, extremely perceptive, before you even realize something is missing or need something, he is there. The last time I received service of this caliber was at a Fairmont resort. If you are a Diamond member, breakfast is included.

3. Elevators are fast, and some are glass enclosures where you can see outside as it goes up.

4. Service was courteous and prompt. I left a note about the pullout couch being unbearable on my back, and housekeeping actually outfitted the pullout with a thick feathertop mattress, which was more than I anticipated, and Sarah left a voicemail after it was done. Wonderful work.

CONS:

1. Shower layout: There is half a glass wall barrier separating the standup shower (there is no tub) from the floor. Because there is no shower door, so the water washes right out onto the floor. Architectural genius.

2. Veranda and futon in the Ambassador suite: Dirty futon, small veranda with no view - looking directly into a wall of other hotel rooms, dirty veranda chairs. The springs from the pullout sofa digs into your back.

3. Fruit Amenity: Do not get this. The fruit was inedible - apple and pear was too bitter and hard, and the orange was almost going bad. Presentation was also subpar - just silverware on a napkin and this small fruit bowl. Compare this to room service by a Starwood hotel, where the trays are beautifully laid out.

4. Bathroom amenities: Foul smelling Hyatt private label (Portico) bathroom amenities. The scent was called White Ginger, but smelled like too-strong black licorice, without the sweetness.

5. Parking: Because of a wedding, valet parking ($27) was full every night, so I was forced to park in the PMI public parking (I paid $16 for the weekend night rate, from 9 pm - 8 am). There are few signs in PMI for the elevators and parking exit, difficult to navigate and a waste of time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I called this hotel when I was literally fuming inside. A prolonged argument with TSA officials over travel documents of my college-going daughter had just made us miss the flight from Ronald Regan Airport to Oakland California. Fortunately, Delta didn't charge us anything more and just booked us in the same flight 24 hours later - nothing was available any earlier. The question then was where to stay the night.

I didn't want to go much further away from the Airport. I had already returned my rental car and wasn't in a mood to rent another one for a day. I used my iPhone to look for nearby hotels that pick up guests from DCA. This particular Hyatt, possibly a 5 to 7 minutes walk from the Airport, did offer pick up. Since I am a Hyatt passport member, it was easy to succumb to the lure of another night's stay in Hyatt. And this really nice hotel soothed my mood.

The first thing that catches your attention after coming in is the huge sprawling lounge. We spent quite a bit of time there the next day, since our flight was late in the afternoon and we had to check out in time. Hotel offers delayed checkouts but it was completely booked that day and the option wasn't available. There is plenty of couches and comfortable chairs in the lounge and the ambience is really nice.

Next we went out for dinner. Crystal city is full of excellent restaurants. A brief 5 minutes walk from the hotel will take you to an area where almost all types of cuisines are abundantly available. While coming back from the dinner, the walk will take you through some dimly lit streets but we felt safe with lots of people walking.

As far as the room and the bed and the cleanliness etc - it is a Hyatt and enough said. It conforms to the Hyatt quality that I have always enjoyed and have come to expect.

In this trip I was staying in Virginia before and driving to DC daily. I had a terrible, terrible time finding parking in Washington DC, particularly in the neighborhood of busy tourist attractions such as the Smithsonians or the National Mall. I think the travellers will be much better off staying here and then taking the metro to National Mall; they will save a lot of time and avoid a lot of stress.

Room Tip: All rooms are quite good. But since they have a H-U-G-E lounge teeming with people, the lower floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fremont_ca_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Overall, you will be satisfied with this hotel. The rooms were a good size and clean. I had booked an executive king, but got put in a double double so that I could be far from the dinging of the elevators and noise of the vending machine. Overall, the room was mostly clean, comfortable and in working order. The digitial thermostat a plus. You could also make the fan stay on all night for white noise. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful, some not so much. Problems I encountered, which have a low likelihood you will. The closet door would not close - but it was in a separate part of the room, so did not have to look at luggage etc. There was a vent in the bathroom, but I could not find a switch for a fan. The bathroom filled with steam and was kinda moldy/damp smelling as a result. And I take SHORT showers. That said, the water pressure was great and the water drained well - not standing in puddle of soapy water - which was great. One of the days I was there, the maid forgot to leave new towels after removing the used ones that I had "hung up to use again." When called, housekeeping was apologetic and rectified this within an hour. However, the front desk phone rang about 50 times (I do not exaggerate) before someone answered. The response I got was, "we're busy." Which I thought was a poor excuse, before I got transferred to housekeeping. Better to answer and be put on hold. The courtesy shuttles are a great service. Some of the drivers were fabulous. The foreign ones were rude and dismissive. But the worst was the concierge. I arrive in the evening and am often skeptical about the safety of walking around a strange city at night. I asked the concierge for a suggestion of someplace to eat that was walkable, that wasn't too expensive and had a relaxed atmosphere. There are alot of restaurants in the area that fit that bill as I discovered the next day. He suggested McDonalds and Subway because they were closest. Say what?! I did not say junk food nor was I dressed or could be mistaken for a teenager. Better option would have been to suggest taking the metro shuttle and there are about 2 dozen restaurants within 3 or so blocks of the metro. There are other decent hotels in the area closer to the restaurants and metro. Those might also be an option for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WIsconsinTravelerToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.6 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#12 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Arlington Crystal City / Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport

Property: Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport
Address: 2799 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-4002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Arlington
#9 Family Hotel in Arlington
#16 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 686
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the heart of it all at Hyatt Regency Crystal City. Our hotel is perfectly positioned for easy access to Virginia and the entire DC-metro area. Enjoy a complimentary shuttle to the airport and easy access to Metro transportation. Within minutes, you can be exploring the nation’s best monuments and museums, taking in a show at the Kennedy Center, enjoying a Washington Nationals game or even touring the White House! Prefer to stay local? Arlington, Virginia has plenty of attractions, including luxury shopping and dining in Clarendon, the historic Arlington Cemetery or hiking in nearby Great Falls Park. Within our spectacularly updated Crystal City hotel, you’ll discover the services and amenities only Hyatt can provide – award-winning dining and inviting spacious guestrooms with luxury amenities like Hyatt Grand BedTM, and iHome stereos with iPod® docking stations. Enjoy the perfect combination of luxury and convenience at the Hyatt Regency Crystal City hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Hyatt Regency Arlington
Hyatt Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing