We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good conference venue and base for DC visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good conference venue and base for DC visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Rooms were well appointed for business traveler - good workspace, internet access, lighting. It was nice to have a sofa seating area in the room. No mini-bar, which wasn't a problem. The lobby area is pleasant, but it was pretty hot throughout the public areas of the hotel. I didn't mind this if we were saving energy. The elevator service was a bit slow for conference traffic, but it was easy to take the stairs and escalators. Food in main restaurant was quite good, but it was weird that there was really not much open for dinner in the hotel on Sunday or Monday nights. There were other places about 10-15 minutes walk, and room service was available. Good location for taking the train into DC, because one can walk (10 min) or take the convenient hotel shuttle to a prominent metra stop 10 minutes away by foot.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    524
    265
    110
    44
See reviews for
232
193
133
806
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed here while participating in Jon Stewart's Rally to Restore Sanity. The hotel did a splendid job accommodating the hordes of visitors from every corner of the US who dropped in to enjoy Mr. Stewart's little gathering. While packed to the rim, we managed to get in and out of the restaurant on multiple occasions having enjoyed a satisfying meal that was served in a timely fashion while also maintaining high quality. We selected a suite due to traveling with a teenage daughter and we found our accommodations very comfortable. The room divided very nicely and had two televisions for either end of the suite. We took full advantage of the shuttle service that drops off and picks up at multiple areas with several very nice restaurants. Overall, we really enjoyed this location and would definitely return. Only one complaint if you can even call it that would be the partnership Hyatt has with T-Mobile for their Wi-Fi connectivity. I really was unhappy with the internet connectivity at the hotel and this is often the case where T-Mobile is the provider.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IRTravlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Like Fox News, I like to think of myself as "Fair and Balanced." Overall the stay was average, but there were a few issues. Rather than be terribly verbose, I'll summarize.

The good: Friendly staff with positive attitudes.
Exceptional performer: Marcellus Riley from Guest Services

The issues:
Recevied two wake-up calls at 5:30 AM (did not ask for them)
TV reception was bad (said they were working on the problem and would be resolved)
Requested USA Today newspaper several different days--they always brought The NY Times, when they brought a paper at all.
Personal soap removed from shower and discarded; replaced with hotel soap.
Breakfast buffet offering nearly the same every morning. (got old after 6 mornings)

Metro and airport shuttle service very convenient and reliable service. Had one issue when it left a few minutes early, which would have caused me to be late for a meeting. Marcellus (from Guest Services) recognized the bus left earlier than scheduled and he sprung into action, grabbed a hotel car and took me personally--GREAT recovery and "Hyatt Touch" Thank you, Marcellus!

Good hotel if you're looking to be near the airport. Rooms are a bit tired, but nothing significantly wrong with them. Good access to Metro using courtesy shuttle that leaves hotel every 15 minutes and takes you to Crystal City metro stop. At first thought, I would have been hesitant to explore DC from this hotel, but after using shuttle for a week, found it to be quite reliable and easy to use. Good weekend rates usually available here. Small pool and jacuzzi, but at least there is one. Adequate workout facilities for cardio and strength training. Conference facilities looked impressive for a DC hotel, though I was not at the hotel for a conference.

Would recommend the hotel and am a staunch Hyatt supporter, but there are better options out there in this part of the city. Overall, average.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAviator2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Shuttle service was very dependable - no need to rent a car - prompt at the metro station and airport. If specific dates are not needed search for the special that includes 50% off in their restaurants. Otherwise the food is very expensive. The mini-mall in Crystal City is at the escalators and has many food choices and is much more wallet friendly. All staff was very friendly and accommodating from the valets out front to the housekeeping. Pleasant stay and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peach018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

I've stayed here twice while en route as its 5 min ride from the airport. Very clean, seems new or newly remodeled. Lots of plugs, new TVs, good connectivity, etc. Bigger rooms. Nicely tiled bathroom. To me, the bathrooms are where you can really see how much was spent in a re-model. If the tile is well done, then they paid the $ needed to do things right. The tile work was very good here :)

The lobby is always super busy, so busy in fact the elevator can be a bit overwhelmed. The staff was competent and friendly. In spite of being really busy, the clientele was mostly reserved/professional. Some people were yelling in the hallway at 11 PM, but it was limited. Lots of families. In fact, there were a ton of family re-unions in matching t-shirts. Looked like a good time.

Stayed on a Friday night for $99 booked just days before arriving. Great deal.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleFamily999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
336 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 630 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

I have stayed here before without any problem, but, my last visit in June was a very bad experience. Upon check-in I complained about my smokey room 857 and hallway to the hotel, which the hotel agreed was smokey. The best they could do was spray the room and hallway, but, that did not solve my congestion during my 3 night stay. No other rooms were available. I latter confirmed that some rooms on the 8th floor were smoking so never stay on the 8th floor.

Room Tip: Do not stay on 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff_Conrade, Assistant Executive Manager at Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we appreciate your feedback and the ability to address this concern for the future. Our apologies for the smoke smell you experienced while at our property. After previous positive stays, we are disappointed this stay was less than exceptional. We are in the process of making the hotel a smoke free facility. Your review has also been sent to the General Manager. If you would like to follow up, please feel free to call into the hotel for further discussion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trinidad
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Stayed for one night - not much to do around the hotel. Has a few eating places. Hotel itself was lovely and staff especially Rhoel was amazing. Breakfast was up to the standard that is expected of Hyatt so I was happy overall with my stay.
My only complaint was how small the bathrooms were, other than that two thumbs up.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fareesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.6 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#12 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Crystal City at Washington Reagan National Airport
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport

Property: Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport
Address: 2799 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-4002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Arlington
#9 Family Hotel in Arlington
#16 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 686
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the heart of it all at Hyatt Regency Crystal City. Our hotel is perfectly positioned for easy access to Virginia and the entire DC-metro area. Enjoy a complimentary shuttle to the airport and easy access to Metro transportation. Within minutes, you can be exploring the nation’s best monuments and museums, taking in a show at the Kennedy Center, enjoying a Washington Nationals game or even touring the White House! Prefer to stay local? Arlington, Virginia has plenty of attractions, including luxury shopping and dining in Clarendon, the historic Arlington Cemetery or hiking in nearby Great Falls Park. Within our spectacularly updated Crystal City hotel, you’ll discover the services and amenities only Hyatt can provide – award-winning dining and inviting spacious guestrooms with luxury amenities like Hyatt Grand BedTM, and iHome stereos with iPod® docking stations. Enjoy the perfect combination of luxury and convenience at the Hyatt Regency Crystal City hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Hyatt Regency Arlington
Hyatt Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing