We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Locationwise is this hotel not excellent for a DC-citytrip. But it's really close to the Airport so for early flights it's perfect. It offers a free shuttle bus to the airport.
If you want to visit DC you can take the shuttle bus to the airport and get on a subway there. Or you can let the shuttle bus drop you off at the Crystal City metro station, which is about 10 min walking from the hotel. It takes max 10 min by metro to DC centre.
We had a great room, on a higher level, which was extremely sound proof. I don't know if the rooms on the lower levels are equally good, so i'd recommend paying/asking for a higher floor because it's located on a really busy street so there's traffic around the clock. Also planes fly by every now an then, but didn't hear them at all.

Breakfast is served in the diner that's attached to the hotel. The buffet is nothing special, but when you negotiate a bit you're able to order from the menu. Everything's fresh and tastes really good.

Overall a great hotel!!

Tip: try eating out at any of the restaurants located in crystal city, there's a great variety of places there!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have a great view and are really quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sterrenvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 535 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

The Holiday Inn National Airport Hotel in Crystal City is conveniently located only a few miles from Ronald Regan Airport and they run a shuttle 24/7 to and from the airport. I had an early flight out of DCA so decided to stay the night at the hotel, despite being from Northern Virginia. The hotel itself is fairly nice, though the carpet in the hallways and rooms are definitely worn out. The rooms, however, are spacious and well decorated with a large desk area. The sink area is nice and updated but the actual bathroom definitely could use some updating. The shower/tub are old and worn with paint peeling and cracks around the structure. I also thought that the parking signs needed to be larger and better illuminated.

The thing that stood out to me the most was that the staff was incredible. They were very helpful and accommodating. The shuttle service and drivers were superb, as well. The customer service is what took my rating from a 3 to a 4. It was some of the best service I've experienced at a hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejonesy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

It's a Holiday Inn at an airport, what more can I say? The rooms are pretty spacious; the bed was comfortable (including the pillows, unlike other Holiday Inns I've stayed in); it was clean. What made a difference was the staff who were really friendly and helpful, especially the desk staff and the waiters in the National Diner. All of them went out of their way to find solutions to anything (e.g. how to get to Dulles airport, or healthier options on the breakfast menu). The Shittle service from the airport to the hotel was also very efficient. Thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the side that faces Crystal City - unless you like looking at airports!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LozBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I was stuck in Houston during a recent storm, trying to get to VA. with my daughter and grandkids. When I saw we were not going to get back in time to rent a car to get home, I immediately called Holiday Inn. Yannick, the front desk clerk assured me there would be no problem. The check in time was 1:30 a.m. and we were exhausted from traveling all day. He went over and above what desk clerks do to make our stay restful. All desk clerks should be as friendly and helpful as he was for us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Was stuck in an ice storm in DCA and got this for 80$ AAA discount the night of. Was quickly picked up by the shuttle with other stranded passengers, and brought to the closeby hotel. Slow check in (mind you, I had 10 people ahead of me with 2 clerks) but they did manage to be friendly and in good humour. Was provided with a free breakfast (was it as an apology for the wait or because of my new gold status).

The room itself was decent but there was some tear and ware to be seen on carpet and lampshades...beds were a bit soft. Bathroom was decent. Free wifi and LCD TV with plenty of channels.

Gym was smallish but with good equipment, new and functional (but did not have any gear to use). Breakfast was provided a la carte in a dinner like restaurant on the premises , with good options. I had eggs and sausage with a pancake. There is a Macdonald next door if you are on a budget.

Overall, a decent option if the price is right.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lubiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Rooms were clean and serviced daily. No check in problems all excellent. You can buy 'old town trolley tour' tickets from the little shop downstairs which is not only a great way to get around Washington DC but there is a FREE shuttle that picks you up daily from the front of the hotel. The road that the hotel is on always has taxis driving along, but the front desk easily organises you one. Mcdonalds is next door. There is Chillis in one direction and IHOP in the other. No more than a 1.5mile walk at the most. We will be staying here again when we visit Washington DC for Christmas 2014. Only complaint is they need much better pillows.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The receptionists were really friendly and service oiented. Service in the bar was also good. But the rooms are dated and my heater kept cranking up very loudly every 20 minutes. Got the technician in but problem was not fixed. Toilet flush was also broken on the first night. Coffee mugs in diner was old with coffee stains and lipstick stains. The hotel is near many restaurants and right next to a 24-hr macdonalds outlet. Do try the kebab joint that is 5 minutes walk in the direction of the metro. As I was attending a conference at Hyatt regency, location wise, it was ideal at an affordable price. I will not stay here though if I were on vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toffeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINationalAirport, General Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Toffeebee,

There no excuses I can give you regarding the level of service you experienced during your stay. Your comments will be shared and addressed with the management team that's responsible for the area you mentioned in your survey. My apologies on behalf of the team at Holiday Inn National for not delivering the level of service you come to expect when staying an IHG brand hotel.

Yours in hospitality,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Arlington Crystal City / Reagan National Airport
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Reagan National Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.2 mi away
Hilton Crystal City at Washington Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Address: 2650 Jefferson Davis Hwy, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: $105 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nation's Capitol and the Holiday Inn National Airport, the best hotel in Arlington Virginia! This full service Crystal City hotel is located minutes from Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Pentagon, and 23rd Street restaurant row. Take advantage of our free wireless high-speed Internet. For government, contract and military travelers, the Holiday Inn offers a unique per diem package, the best of any Arlington hotel. Our hotel is also a great business location, convenient to many Northern Virginia companies, including IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, EPA, Raytheon, USPTO and Navy Elite. We offer the amenities and meeting room services a business traveler needs for a productive visit. Our Arlington hotel offers accommodations that are great for vacations too! The monuments, museums and attractions in Washington, DC and historic Old Town Alexandria are easily accessible by Metro or car. Shop at the Pentagon City Mall and Fashion Centre Mall. For dining, guests can choose to enjoy Fresh Kitchen for breakfast and lunch and O'Malley's Sports Pub for dinner! We offer free high-speed Internet in our guest rooms and wireless Internet in our public areas. Our finest attribute is our professional and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Crystal City
Holiday Inn Arlington
Arlington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing