We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City
Nearby Hotels
$79
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Westin Arlington Gateway(Arlington)(Great Value!)
$118
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Virginian Suites Arlington(Arlington)(Great Value!)
$98
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Econo Lodge Metro(Arlington)(Great Value!)
$96
EconoLodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Centric Arlington(Arlington)(Great Value!)
$129
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crystal Gateway Marriott(Arlington)(Great Value!)
$169
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$105
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$233
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $308/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (593)
Filter reviews
593 results
Traveler rating
141
229
150
46
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
229
150
46
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational airportcrystal cityfront deskpark and flyshuttle servicefree shuttlepleasant staydc areaan early flightbed was comfortablemetro stopthe entire stafffree breakfastfitness centerbusiness centerfew blocksparking
Filter
Updating list...
395 - 400 of 593 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Have stayed here several times without any problems. This time we had a problem. We woke up and the shower knob rotated; completely broken. We walked to the front desk and maintenance showed up. They replaced the knob, so now we had water but it would not shut off.
I visited the GM and asked how housekeeping could clean the bathroom without seeing there was no water coming out of the tub area? I explained maintenance fixed it but then the water continued to trickle after turning off. He was good about it ; wrote up a maintenance request and hopefully got it fixed.
I still like this property; rates are very reasonable and you're near many restaurants/bars. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcjw700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Usually you get what you pay for. We didn't pay much, but we got an awful lot for our money.
My husband and I stayed here for four days as tourists.
First, the positives:

The price. The price. The price. I think we stayed for less than $100 per night, which in D.C. is unheard of.

It was clean and comfortable. If you're looking for pampering, this isn't the place for you. But if you're looking for a clean and comfortable bed with easy access to all D.C. has to offer at a reasonable price, you'll be hard pressed to find a better hotel.

There are two areas nearby with lots of shops and restaurants. It was very convenient. There's even a CVS next door.

Weekday service: The weekday staff allowed us to check in early, which we greatly appreciated. Our flight arrived shortly after 11 a.m. and check-in time was after 4 p.m. Being able to freshen up before hitting the town was a wonderful plus. They also allowed us to check out a few hours late, and the weekday shuttle driver was always available to answer questions and offering us rides to the metro station or the airport.


The negatives:
The service on the weekend left a lot to be desired. After check-out, the desk told us we could leave our bags in a closet until it was time for us to head to the airport. Unfortunately, whoever was taking bags disappeared. We sat in the lobby waiting assistance (after asking at the desk) for a half hour. When we finally inquired a second time, she sent the porter up to some other rooms to get bags before directing him to unlock the closet. Again, we'd been patiently waiting for more than a half hour.

They say the shuttle runs to the airport every 15 minutes, but the weekend driver seemed none too interested in taking people to National. Along with four other passengers, we waited in the van for a half hour before the shuttle driver returned to take us to the airport. I suspect we might still be sitting there had one of the other passengers not gotten out of the van and inquired a second time at the front desk.

It was super, extra bad service from the weekend staff.

This hotel is quite a walk to the metro station. I'm guessing it's a good eight blocks. Under normal conditions, that's not a bad walk, but as tourists, you'll be walking a ton and those extra 16 blocks a day were brutal after the second day!

We learned that the shuttle driver would drop us at the metro when they had time, and the last day we were there, we took advantage of the service.

Bottom line: I wasn't expecting a whole lot, because the price was so good. But the hotel far exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danedri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Lots of extras make this place a 4+ with reasonable rates for hotels in and close to DC. There is a free shuttle to and from Metro, to and from Washington National. Just call them.

Nice sized room. Not super fancy but very pleasant.

From desk extremely helpful. Shout out to Helina. I asked for a dinner suggestion - nearby, non chain, good food. She recommended several places - one of which I went to - Kabob Palace, just 2 blocks away. It was terrific (please see separate review). The front desk has a list of nearby restaurants and IS willing to provide suggestions.

McDonalds immediately next door for those seeking that form of food, and many, many restaurants nearby.

Several computers in lobby available for customer use, Free wifi in rooms.

This place was $40-60/night less than several other nearby hotels. I would not pay more unless you wanted 5* luxury (which many of us don't need and don't want to pay for).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Always a good choice for their "Park and Fly" Program. We have stayed here at least 3 times. The front desk is always pleasant. The parking is plentiful and the transfers to and from the airport have always been problem free. Stayed March 28th prior to our Family Florida Vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thekeatings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Thekeatings,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I recently booked two rooms for myself and family members. We stayed on the 9th floor. The hotel is located within walking distance to the Crystal City metro. They also offer a shuttle service. Save the hotel phone numer on your phone and call when you need to be picked up. Our longest wait was about ten minutes.
We had two double beds and both rooms had small refrigerators and coffee makes. Oddly, they provide shampoo but no conditioner. The tv is HD, but not all channels. The elevator was speedy.
The hotel is just off a major highway, with a McDonals's next door. There were several tour groups staying at our hotel, but once inside our rooms, we didn't hear from them.
We requested rooms that wer near to each other or eve connected, and were given rooms just two rooms apart.
There is a charge for parking. We drove up from N.C. on Monday, parked, rode the Metro for four days, then departed.
Speaking of the Metro, it's very clean, convenient, and relatively inexpensive. If you walk from the hotel to Crystal City metro, the walk is about half-a-mile. The walk is along and across heavy traffic and at me point we used the underground walkway at a bus stop to cross over. Take the shuttle.
The staff was good. We left each day at 8am, and arrived back near dark. Our rooms were cleaned and beds made, each day. I prefer a dark room, and was happy to see that the smoke detector was mounted on the side wall, and not overhead. This is a small thing, but made for better sleep.
Like most Holiday Inns, this one went with those weird, small, almost bubble-shaped pillows. They were comfortable enough, but I prefer a bigger pillow.
The bathroom was nice enough, standard hotel style, if a little out dated. The exhaust fan didn't work in ours.
All in all, for the price and location, this is a great place to stay for families looking to tour D.C. Metro ride to Smithsonian took less than 20 minutes, location was convenient, and the price was right.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank SCalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews