We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location, terrible customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We selected this hotel for its location near the airport and to downtown DC, and it fulfilled every expectation in that regard. The hotel is practically within walking distance of Reagan International, and it's a $10 cab ride to the National Mall. The hotel itself is well-maintained and clean, and the adjoining 50's style diner is decent enough for breakfast or a quick lunch.

My only complaints are that the adjoining Irish pub is only open from 4-11pm (which makes me wonder why they bother opening at all), and I found the customer service a bit lacking. On a Friday and Saturday night, it seemed as though only one person was working in the lobby at any given time.

I requested a rollaway cot for our room when we checked in at 1:00pm. When I returned to the room at 11:00pm, the cot still hadn't arrived, so I called the front desk, and was told one would be on the way. We waited...and waited...and waited. After about 20 minutes, I went down to the lobby to investigate, and it seemed as though the person at the desk was surprised that such a request had been made. I went back to the room and waited again...and waited...and waited. After a second trip to the lobby, and another 20 minutes of waiting, the cot finally arrived in our room.

No compensation was offered for this inconvenience, and the front desk was not only unapologetic, but didn't seem to be in much of a hurry to accommodate my request even after my second visit. This may be an isolated incident for all I know, but it left a bad taste in my mouth.

Room Tip: Book directly (not through a third-party discount travel site), or you probably won't get the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlanderFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

Hello GlanderFam,

First and foremost, we apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. Please know we pride ourselves on great customer service and making our guest feel at home. Rest assured that this issue will be addressed with our guest services to avoid future incidents.
Holiday Inn National offers two dining options; The National Diner and O’Malley’s Pub. The National Diner is open for breakfast and lunch serving fresh dishes made to order and O’Malley’s Pub is open daily for dinner, 4 p.m. to midnight, serving up pub dishes and sports programming.
Due to our convenient location to all the Nation’s Capitol attractions we hope that you took advantage of our complimentary shuttle service to the metro and now offered to the Pentagon for your sightseeing needs.
Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn National Airport on TripAdvisor. We take these reviews very seriously as it is a tool in better serving our guests.
We look forward to serving you again!

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn National Airport Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (554)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 554 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2011

Our stay was for one night... I searched the internet and found a great deal on a 1 night stay and 2 week parking. I looked at the prices for this hotel both here on TA and on the actual Holiday Inn website... they are absolutely crazy. Way overpriced for what we got and what the hotel offered. The room was pretty small. Bed was pretty comfortable, and the little interaction we had with the staff was without issue. I am a normal Priority member and didn't need any special bells and whistles, plus, like I said, it was only for one night so that we could be super close to the airport. We were close to the elevators, but heard nothing from them or from any other rooms / guests. Located right next to a McDonald's and fairly close to a CVS (both 24 hours I believe; definitely the CVS) in case you need anything. Shuttle service was early and convenient enough for us since we had a pretty early flight. No issues with my car being parked here for a week since the garage was covered and had plenty of space. I'd stay again since it's really convenient to Reagan, but only after searching and finding myself a good deal. If you stay here, make sure you do the same!

Room Tip: Search the internet, find yourself a good deal!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonOL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Dear dragonOL2,

We are pleased t to hear that you were able to take advantage of our ‘Park and Fly’ package at the Holiday Inn National Airport! Our Priority Club members do earn special perks which makes it easier than ever to get what you want, when you want it. You’ll enjoy greater choices and flexibility with these benefits even if you are staying for just one night! The next time you stay with us, take the time to enjoy the fare in O’Malley’s Pub . We appreciate you taking the time to post a review about the Holiday Inn National Airport on TripAdvisor. We look forward to serving you again!

Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn National Airport Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights in August 2011. The hotel is older, but well maintained. Rooms were cleand and staff was very polite.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_Ryckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Hello Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor about your stay at Holiday Inn National! We pride ourselves being your home away from home and hope that next time you are traveling through the area we can serve you again!

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn National Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

As frequent travelers to DC, we decided to try this hotel. We stayed here from July 30 until August 2 and are a Priority Club Member. Upon check in, we were given the wrong room which was extremely small, however they did correct the problem when we arrived to the room and saw there was no sleeper sofa. However, having to vacate one room, to go to our new room, made us run behind and late to the baseball game. Unlike other Holiday Inn's around the city, including the ones in DC itself, parking is full price at $16, although I was told club members get a discount. Sadly, we could have stayed at Holiday Inn on Capitol Hill and parking would have been cheaper with the discount and we would have been able to stay roughly for the same price. Secondly, beware of the kids eat free, you must have tickets to get the free breakfast which can be obtained from the front desk but we did not know until they tried to charge us for a full price for the kids breakfast. The shuttle to the and from the metro was nice, and the drivers were awesome! We also received a wakeup call this morning at 6:00 a.m. although we did not request to be made to us. The room was big and we didn't hear any noise from other rooms which can be an issue at other hotels. Overall, I would rate it 2 for not having clear policies that would be automatically be honored at other hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentlyTravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Dear FrequentlyTravels11,
Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn National on TripAdvisor. We take guest feedback seriously, and use your feedback as a tool to improve our level of service. First, and foremost, we apologize for the inconvenience we have caused during your stay. We pride ourselves on our guest service and are disappointed to hear that our policies were not better communicated during your stay. Your comments will be shared with our team in order to better serve all of our guests in the future. Our goal is to meet and exceed all of our guests needs, and hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn National Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I guess that most of us have an idea of what to expect from Holiday Inn. My first was back in 1974. Always solid delivery. But this hotel stuck out in a few aspects.

The free wifi is the fastest I have encountered in any hotel. I stayed at this hotel, while attending a conference at another hotel nearby. The wifi there was like trying to breathe through a straw.

The idea of having The National Diner and O'Malleys as separate eateries is great. There seemed to be quite a bit of traffic from locals, which ensured liveliness.

The staff in the hotel and restaurant were all personal, friendly and helpful. I managed to mislay my glasses on the way from the airport. Mathias at the front desk localized them within 5 minutes of checking in. Special thanks for that!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Dear PaulHolm,

The Holiday Inn National team is so happy that you returned to stay with us after many years! Since your last stay, our hotel has gone through improvements and has increased amenities and service, as high speed wireless internet. We understand the necessity of this amenity to all our guests and are glad to see it was to your satisfaction.

We hope that you were able to enjoy a meal at one of our eateries. The National Diner serves up a great fresh breakfast buffet and lunch, and O’Malley’s is fantastic option for dinner and drinks.
The Holiday Inn National staff works very hard to make each guest feel at home and be as personal and helpful to make mobility easy in the Nation’s Capitol! We will be sure to extend the ‘thank you’ to Mathias.

Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel, Holiday Inn National, on TripAdvisor. We take this feedback very seriously as it is used as a tool in better serving our guests.

We hope to see you again, soon!

Kindly,
Holiday Inn National Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I have stayed here several times on business. There is free shuttle bus service between the Reagan airport and Crystal City metro, but, other than that there are other alternative hotels which are more convenient. It is about 15 minute walk to the Crystal city metro. Rooms are clean and comfortable. As a gold member I always enjoy complimentary breakfast at their restaurant.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

Dear tonytigerjaz,

We are very excited to have you as a returning guest and a Priority Club Gold member!
Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn National Airport on TripAdvisor as we know your time is valuable.

We look forward to serving you again!

Best Regards,
Holiday Inn National Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

After a long day touring, getting caught in the rain and then having our flight cancelled that night, we were scrambling for a place to stay. We called them and they had the perfect room for a group of 3 at an incredible price. Since I was a Priority member they were gracious and accomodating; which we really needed at that time. Our only concern/scare was when we checked out at 4:15 AM and were told that without a parking ticket on the car it could have been towed! Since no one was at the entrance of the garage when we parked, we assumed we were OK. The room was clean, beds comfortable and was convenient to catch our early AM flight at Reagan. Trip: Don't ever rent a car in DC, especially from Hertz!

Room Tip: Be a Priority member
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gourmet_galDallas_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

Dear gourmet_galDallas_tx,

We work very hard in trying to accommodate all travelers and we are extremely happy that we were able to do so with your party! As you know, being a Priority member has its perks and we are excited that you partake in the program.

We apologize for the miscommunication in regards to the parking. For security measures, each guest receives a parking ticket to display on their dashboard so each guests transportation vehicle is accounted. This has been brought to the attention of guest services and we are working on better communicating parking information on Holiday Inn National Airport’s property to all future guests.

Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn National Airport on TripAdvisor. We take this feedback very seriously as it is a tool used to better our services.
We look forward to serving you again!

Kind Regards,
Holiday Inn National Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Reagan National Airport Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Crystal City at Washington Reagan National Airport
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Address: 2650 Jefferson Davis Hwy, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: $88 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nation's Capitol and the Holiday Inn National Airport, the best hotel in Arlington Virginia! This full service Crystal City hotel is located minutes from Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Pentagon, and 23rd Street restaurant row. Take advantage of our free wireless high-speed Internet. For government, contract and military travelers, the Holiday Inn offers a unique per diem package, the best of any Arlington hotel. Our hotel is also a great business location, convenient to many Northern Virginia companies, including IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, EPA, Raytheon, USPTO and Navy Elite. We offer the amenities and meeting room services a business traveler needs for a productive visit. Our Arlington hotel offers accommodations that are great for vacations too! The monuments, museums and attractions in Washington, DC and historic Old Town Alexandria are easily accessible by Metro or car. Shop at the Pentagon City Mall and Fashion Centre Mall. For dining, guests can choose to enjoy Fresh Kitchen for breakfast and lunch and O'Malley's Sports Pub for dinner! We offer free high-speed Internet in our guest rooms and wireless Internet in our public areas. Our finest attribute is our professional and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Crystal City
Holiday Inn Arlington
Arlington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing