We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good service, convenient and stayed for the park and fly deal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersGold level
Maryland USA
Level Contributor
233 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Good service, convenient and stayed for the park and fly deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Had an early morning flight and a 10 day trip planned so chose this property because it was a HI and the park and fly deal. Letting you leave your car for 10 days was quite a perk!
Front desk staff was very helpful and they have a pub or a diner to eat (both serve the same food). Parking garage was convenient to property and elevator is the same for parking and rooms. There is a McDonalds and CVS pharmacy right next door open 24 hours if you desire. Rooms were up to date and bed was comfortable. Only thing of note is that the airport bus starts at 4:45AM so we had to take a taxi, no big deal. Will stay again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank panther61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilkersonj, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Hello and thank you for your review on our hotel! We are extremely satisfied that you were pleased with your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our Park and Fly! Our goal is to completely satisfy every one of our guests. We hope that if you are ever in the area again that you choose to stay with us.

The Holiday Inn National Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    186
    121
    35
    18
See reviews for
97
81
51
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

We stayed here on a school trip. The rooms were comfortable, and the hotel was amazingly quiet, especially since we were near the airport. I found the bathroom to be a little small. My only real complaint was the desk staff. They would pretty much ignore you if you went up to the desk. Would talk on the phone, or to each other rather than assist me. Once, I literally left the desk and went all the way up to my room and called them, because they ignored me when I stood right before them. The breakfast was hot and good and had excellent variety.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleverknc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilkersonj, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Greetings Cleverknc,


Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review about our hotel, The Holiday Inn National Airport, on TripAdvisor.

We would like to sincerely apologize that we were unable completely satisfy you during your recent stay.

Our front desk team has been made fully aware of the situation.

Please allow us to assure you that we take this feedback very seriously. It is a critical tool to assist us in providing excellent service.

We look forward to your return to our hotel so that we have another opportunity to provide you with a warm welcome, all that you expect, and a little bit more!

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to serving you again!



Warmest Regards,

The Holiday Inn National Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

Booked the hotel so I could visit DC on the evening of arrival then out to business the next day. Nice and close to the National Airport although the shuttle bus is only every 30 minutes rather than on demand so there can be a bit of waiting about. The shuttle bus drops at the terminal where the Metro station is so it is good for a quick trip into downtown DC. Hotel and room were nice enough - a little cramped but clean. Breakfast was buffet and okay - not a fantastic selection but reasonable and hot. The room was over-priced but even on a Monday night there wasn't much else any cheaper so I guess it was the going rate.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo_of_the_Valley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilkersonj, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Hello Mo_of_the_Valley,
Thank you very much for your review and your stay at the Holiday Inn National Airport. We take our reviews very seriously and take them as a great opportunity to know what exactly our guests are thinking. We are very fortunate not only because of our wonderful team members but because of our convenient location. We are located less than 1 mile to Ronald Reagan National Airport. Our complimentary airport shuttle does only run on the top and bottom of every hour, so that our guests can schedule accordingly.

We hope that if you are ever in the area again you choose to stay with us. We appreciate your time and stay with us. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn National Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

I was a bit weary not having stayed at this chain before, but the hotel turned out to be very similar to a Marriott Courtyard type of a hotel - high-rise business hotel: no frills, but clean and convenient. Room size was decent; a large desk was a plus.

The hotel faces a very busy street - Jefferson Davis Highway - so I asked for a room at the back of the hotel. The back faces a wooded residential neighborhood. The room was very quiet - I did not hear any traffic, nor my neighbors. I did not hear or see any plains either. For an airport hotel, Holiday Inn was exceptionally quiet, almost serene (provided you get the room facing out back).

The only disadvantage was that compared to some of the other airport hotels that are in Crystal City proper, there was no metro station within easy walking distance. But you can take the shuttle to the airport and take the metro from there. Same for the return trip. The shuttle runs every 30 mins; I was lucky and did not have to wait that long.

Free internet in the room is a plus.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kseniacoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehager, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, December 29, 2010
Greetings! Thank you so much for your review on our hotel, the Holiday Inn National Airport. We take great pride in our hotel and service, we think it’s the best. Your reviews help us know what our clients are thinking and therefore we are able to improve our service.

Even though we are the closest hotel to DCA, we have never had complaints with external noise. We are so glad that you experienced the same. The Crystal City Metro Station is located about 6 walking blocks to our hotel and yes, we do offer the shuttle to and from the Reagan National Airport Metro Station every half hour between 5:30am and 12:00am.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope that you chose to stay with us again when you travel to the area.

Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn National Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

My daughter, along with her significant other, and myself stayed here in 2 rooms on the Friday night prior to Jon Stewart and Stephen Colbert's Rally to Restore Sanity and/or Fear, as were many, if not most, of the other guests in the hotel. Kudos to staff for knowing how to effectively manage attendance at large functions like these. The free hotel shuttle to the airport metro enabled a short 4 stop ride to our destination on the national mall. A bit of patience for the metro to clear out and we were back at the hotel by 6:00 PM, no worse for wear. I would recommend this hotel as a good choice for visitors to the area who don't want to pay DC hotel prices, but want to be close to most of the monuments and museums. The rooms were on the smallish side, but the bed was comfortable, the room was quiet, and everything seemed modern and up to date.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehager, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, November 10, 2010
Hello!

Thank you so much for your detailed review on our hotel. We truly appreciate every review we receive on our hotel, this is one of the best ways to figure out what our guests are thinking. We are thrilled that you guys were able to utilize our shuttle to the metro to go downtown for the rally. We take great pride in knowing that we offer a short shuttle ride to the metro that takes our guests downtown in no time.

Next time you are in the area, we hope that you decide to stay with us in Arlington again. Again, thank you for your review.

Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn Naitonal Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for the 2010 Marine Corps Marathon and was happy with the service provided. They allowed me to check out late which was appreciated.

I used the shuttle a few times and it was convenient.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for MCM runners.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magagnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehager, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, November 10, 2010
Hello!

First, thank you for your stay. Second, we truly appreciate your review on our hotel. The Marine Corps Marathon weekend is always a great weekend for us. Not only are we able to provide an excellent location for the MCM runners but we have been serving runners for so long we have figured out exactly what they expect plus a little bit more, such as the late check out on Sunday (if possible).

Lastly, we hope you choose to stay with us again next year for the Marine Corps Marathon. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable.

Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn National Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seward, Nebraska
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

On a very busy weekend in Washington D.C., the staff was very accommodating. A shuttle to both Reagan and the Metro is a plus. The rooms were clean and prices for meals in the onsite restaurant were not out of line with good meals.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teachman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehager, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, November 10, 2010
Hello!
We would like to thank you for your review on our hotel in Crystal City, just outside of Washington, DC. We take every guest’s review very seriously, as this is the best way to know how to improve our service. Washington, DC has so much to offer, especially on these busy weekends, so thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope that you choose to visit us again if you are ever back in this wonderful city.
Thank you again,
The Holiday Inn National Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Arlington Crystal City / Reagan National Airport
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Crystal City at Washington Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Property: Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City
Address: 2650 Jefferson Davis Hwy, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nation's Capitol and the Holiday Inn National Airport, the best hotel in Arlington Virginia! This full service Crystal City hotel is located minutes from Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Pentagon, and 23rd Street restaurant row. Take advantage of our free wireless high-speed Internet. For government, contract and military travelers, the Holiday Inn offers a unique per diem package, the best of any Arlington hotel. Our hotel is also a great business location, convenient to many Northern Virginia companies, including IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, EPA, Raytheon, USPTO and Navy Elite. We offer the amenities and meeting room services a business traveler needs for a productive visit. Our Arlington hotel offers accommodations that are great for vacations too! The monuments, museums and attractions in Washington, DC and historic Old Town Alexandria are easily accessible by Metro or car. Shop at the Pentagon City Mall and Fashion Centre Mall. For dining, guests can choose to enjoy Fresh Kitchen for breakfast and lunch and O'Malley's Sports Pub for dinner! We offer free high-speed Internet in our guest rooms and wireless Internet in our public areas. Our finest attribute is our professional and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotwire, IHG and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Crystal City
Holiday Inn Arlington
Arlington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing