We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Pros: It's close to the airport and metro stops. It has free internet (lobby only) and a Starbucks. Rooms are comfortable. Free airport shuttle.

Cons: Walls are paper thin. No free internet in rooms or Wifi.

I stayed at this hotel with a group of colleagues. All the hotels we tried to book were full due to a large conference in town so we selected this hotel. I like Crowne Plaza and have stayed at many different Crownes across the country and this hotel was adequate. It was clean and had good amenities, I just really don't like the no free internet thing and the Starbucks closes early so no afternoon pick me up. Also, two of us were on the 10th floor and the rest on the 12th floor; all our colleagues up on 12 got comfort kits and we didn't get anything on 10. I don't know the difference between the floors, but we didn't get the "comforts" they did. The walls in my room were paper thin. Good luck I'm an early riser because the guy next to me was too and I was privvy to his work conversations from 5am on; the comfort pack with earplugs would have come in handy to drown his voice out. I would stay here again but would prefer to stay closer in to DC proper next time.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theladyknownascady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehager, Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, June 9, 2010
Greetings!

Thank you so much for your review on our hotel! We always take advantage of our incoming reviews because we are constantly trying to better our service to you, the guest. We have taken all of your comments into consideration for future planning. We strive to serve everything to our guests that they expect plus a little bit more.

Next time you are in the area, we hope that you allow us to serve you again. Please let a guest services representative know if there is anything we can assist you with.

Thank you,
The Crowne Plaza National Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    208
    88
    27
    9
See reviews for
87
73
46
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zion Grove, PA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Arlington last week for 2 nights while we were participating in the Race for Hope in Washington DC. We arrived very early from Pennsylvania but our rooms were ready and we were immediately checked in. We had 4 separate rooms for our group, with people coming in from all areas of the country and at all different times, and we were all very pleased with the hotel. On Sunday morning we needed to be in DC very early and the Metro would not have gotten us there on time, so the front desk made sure there were plenty of taxis waiting for us, and the rest of the guests participating in the RFH.

The rooms were very clean, a nice size with very comfortable beds. The entire hotel was spotless, no mean feat because of the construction going on around it.

We had checked out of our rooms before the race but returned to pick up our cars. The staff was very nice and allowed us to use a large restroom near the meeting rooms to freshen up in. We stayed for a long very relaxing post race meal in the Veranda Cafe. Our waiter was very nice and did not rush us, for which we were very thankful.

The only downside was the lack of free internet service in the guestrooms since we all needed to use our laptops in the rooms.

I would recommend the Crowne Plaza very highly.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehager, Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, May 11, 2010
Greetings,

Thank you so much for your informative review about our hotel. We take great pride in our team members and are so glad that you had such a positive experience.

Our company follows three steps to ensuring that every guest deserves all that they expect plus a little bit more during every stay with our hotels. We call these three essential steps our 'Big 3'.

We will absolutely take your comments into consideration for our future endeavors. We look forward to seeing you next year for another successful Race for Hope!

Always,
The Team of Crowne Plaza National Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Pros: Location, Clean

Cons: Pay for internet, pay steep for parking and no valet, kept forgetting to replace the coffee for the in-room coffee maker, plug for coffee maker not accessible.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bzybees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehager, Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, May 11, 2010
Hello,

Thank you for your stay at the Crowne National Airport and for your comments about the hotel. We always take every comment seriously, as we are constantly trying to better our service. We would like to apologize that you were not satisfied with the value of the parking and internet rates and for the in-room coffee. Next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact a guest service representative for assistance.

Thank you,
The Crowne Plaza National Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2010

We came to this hotel to attend a national competition with our daughter's high school constitution team. I loved it because it was a block from the metro station (easy and cheap transport to the city), the room was quiet even though we were literally at the elevator and the hotel was filled with high school students, and most of all, the people who work here are amazingly nice, friendly and helpful. Dan, Lolita, and Zayna in the restaurant remembered us and our orders...my husband loved it because they gave him the remote control for the tv in the bar so he could watch his game. This hotel will make you feel very welcome and very at home. I would choose to come back here again when I return to the Washington DC area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissMissArcadia_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehager, Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, May 11, 2010
Hello and thank you very much for such a fabulous review. Our company is constantly trying to better our service to our guests and finding out what people think is the best way to constantly improve. We have three steps to ensure quality excellence, we refer to them as our 'Big 3'. Our team members are guided by these three steps to always provide excellent service to you, the guest. We are so glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our excellent location, less than two blocks from the Crystal City Metro Station, and our exceptional team members. We look forward to serving you again when you are in the DC area.

Thank you again,
The Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Just letting you know our experience at your hotel in Arlington Crowne Plaza National Airport.

My family and I were there Apr 3-6.

[-]

The beds caused back pain for Carmen Stevenson, which is something rare from my experience.

Lack of hot water for baths

Stain on towels.

Verenda Cafe brunch was plain and not great. Poorly stocked items. Staff friendly but the food was not that great at all.

Bad buffet...

no free internet services

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carmenlivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehager, Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, May 11, 2010
Greetings!

Thank you so much for the review on TripAdvisor. We would like to sincerely apologize that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay at the Crowne Plaza National Airport. We are constantly trying to better our service to our guests so we will absolutely take your comments about the bed and food into consideration. Everyone has different preferences in the comfort of their beds and the tastes of their food, so it is always great to gather opinions for future decisions.

Please be assured that all of these issues are being addressed. We hope that if you are ever back in the area that you allow us to serve you again.

Sincerely,
The Crowne Plaza National Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago il
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

My hotel stay was all tight, except for one major factor: there is no free wi-fi in the rooms! Economy motels now usually have this, that charge a fraction of what this hotel charges for a room reservation! I just can't believe this is not available. If I had known, I would not have brought my laptop--yes, I used it in the lobby, and it worked fine, but this was quite inconvenient.
Otherwise the visit was ok--shuttle was quick and food was good. The Crystal Ctiy area, while convenient, is a bit impersonal and devoid of character. Unless I had to stay in Crystal City again, I would probably not choose this hotel, and I would definitely check out the internet situation first--if another hotel in the area offers it free for a comparable room price, then I'm staying in the other hotel!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoIlWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehager, Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, April 20, 2010
Hello,

As the Crowne Plaza National Airport, we would like to thank you for staying at our hotel. We take every opportunity to improve our service to our guests.

Having said that, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with the in-room internet connection. We are currently working on getting wireless internet service added to our guest amenity list. Although, we are so glad that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary airport shuttle and convenient restaurants on-site.

Thank you for your detailed review and hope that next time you come to the Washington, DC area you are able to stay with us again.

Sincerely,
The Crowne Plaza National Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale West
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

My wife and 3 year old son visited the DC area and we were furtunate to choose the
Crowne Plaza Crystal City for our over-night accommodations. The staff was most accommodating, knowledgeable, and friendly. They treated my family like one of their own and assisted us with tours and restaurant information.

We had a chance to enjoy some of the restaurant specials and we loved the breakfast buffet every morning.

This hotel is very close to a metro station and access to local restaurants by walking or via shuttle.

Our stay was most memorable and we want every family with children to know that kids are welcome and treated with respect.

My family and I had an excellent stay at the Crowne Plaza and loved the closeness to Washington DC.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris197110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dattardi, owner/operator at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, March 24, 2010
Hello there!

Thank you so much for your posting on TripAdvisor. We know that you went out of your way to share your experience at our hotel, so we greatly appreciate your time, as well as your feedback!

We are so excited that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you and your family got to experience Washington, DC. We have had some gorgeous weather recently, and there aren't many places more beautiful than DC in the sunshine, so I hope you guys had nice weather while you were in town!!

Our team prides themselves on treating our guests like family, so I'm glad to hear that you felt the same way. Also, I am happy to know that you guys took advantage of the awesome breakfast buffet.

It is very important to us that all guests are treated with appreciation and respect, regardless of their age, so I am thrilled to hear that your family was comfortable and happy!

Thanks again for your feedback and your business. We hope to be able to serve you all again in the near future!

Always,
Crowne Plaza National Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 51 in Arlington
1,141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#16 of 51 in Arlington
1,390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Americana Hotel
Americana Hotel
#21 of 51 in Arlington
1,317 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
Address: 1480 Crystal Dr, Arlington, VA 22202-3231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Arlington
#25 Business Hotel in Arlington
#31 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel in Arlington, Virginia is a first class, full service hotel located in the heart of Crystal City. Only moments away from the Nation s Capitol and the Pentagon, we are less than one mile from Reagan National Airport. Located within minutes of Washington, DC agencies and attractions, the Crowne Plaza has been newly upgraded offering the Sleep Advantage Program for your additional comfort. With you in mind, each guest room offers plush duvet covers with 7 pillows, upgraded linen and mattress toppers, and a 43" flat-panel television. The Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel is close to companies and agencies such as US Airways, IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, General Dynamics, National Guard , and many more. We specialize in government travelers offering per diem rates. Stay connected with our free Wireless High Speed Internet Access in our public areas and 24 Hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24 Hour Fitness Center. The Crystal City Metro Station is one block away with Historic Old Town Alexandria only two miles. We boast five meeting rooms plus an array of business class amenities. We take pride in providing exemplary customer service and will take care of your every need. Come to the Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel, The Place To Meet! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport Hotel Arlington
Crowne Plaza Arlington
Crowne Plaza Hotel Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing