We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Me Gusta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Harrison Township, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Me Gusta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Great dive bar atmosphere in the bar! Just my style, no annoying crowds. nice Yuengling drafts and great music. Just the right mix of weirdos and seemingly normal people. I would return to this destination.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    186
    81
    25
    8
See reviews for
80
66
42
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
299 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This property is acceptable but unremarkable. The rooms are clean and comfortable and, at the right price, an excellent value. The hotel is located at the northern end of the Crystal City mall with no direct access to the covered underground mall, meaning an umbrella can be an important asset in an otherwise very well connected and protected urban environment. Inconsistencies with other Crowne Plaza branded properties are minor but frustrating. No in-room video check out, no complimentary breakfast on the “club” floor, which seems to have no differentiation I could detect from any other guest floor. Shuttle bus service to the airport is inconsistent. At certain times of the day it runs on a schedule and at others it needs to be requested. Early morning departures were from a lobby where it took several bell rings to obtain front desk service, which was curt and not particularly hospitable. As a place to sleep, this hotel is fine, but attention needs to be paid to the details of the brand promise and hospitality expectations of guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WARSAWRUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNationalAirport, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear WARSAWRUN:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear you found our rooms clean and comfortable. However we are sorry to hear you were not entirely pleased with your stay.

I do want to mention that during business hours, we do have direct access to the Crystal City shops by simply entering the building next door, reachable by just crossing our (covered) driveway. We are sorry you did not find this access available to you while staying with us.
I will certainly mention the inconsistencies you found with our property to our management. We certainly want to stand out amongst Crowne Plaza hotels, but not for the reasons you mention.

We do hope you will give our property a second change to impress you. If you would like any assistance setting up a future reservation, please feel free to contact me. I can be reached at (703) 416-7200 or by email at libby.vertz@bfsaul.com.

Best,

Libby Vertz
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Very nice looking and great and friendly staff. Microwave in the lobby. Small gym but within walking distance to major transportation and shops as well as restaurants. Great location but you do need to take a bus, train or bike to the major monuments. Not more than 20 minutes by subway. Very clean and five minutes from DCA

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JorgePKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed here on a family trip. I guess I didn't realize just how far things were from this hotel when I booked, but the staff was more than helpful with a shuttle or help calling a taxi. The rooms were a little small, and honestly double beds are just plain silly. Queen sized beds are a little more modern and comfortable size wise.
If I'm ever back in this area, I will definitely look into this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Just in DC for a quick overnight. Parked across the street, free after 4pm and on weekends. Hotel is near the metro and convenient to all. Across the street from Crystal City, over 100 stores and restaurants, perfect to walk around on a rainy day. Minutes from the airport and the rooms were nice, semi-modern. No complaints and will definitely go back !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjla434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad, Israel
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We were unexpectedly layovered due to bad weather and airport closure. We received stranded traveler vouchers for this hotel. We waited a very long time for the shuttle but once we arrived at the hotel which was very close by everything was better than expected. Room was lovely with lots of amenities. Location was perfect with lots of nearby restaurantsand bars in a lovely area for walking around. Voucher made the price affordable. In hotel Starbucks opened very early so we could catch a light breakfast before catching an early flight. If you have to be stuck this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shahama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

When I visit Washington, DC to attend training classes at the USDA Graduate School, I usually stay at the Holiday Inn right across the street from the school. This time, unfortunately, the Holiday Inn was booked solid, and the reservations clerk found me a room at the Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport. One of the nice features is that they offer free shuttle service from Reagan National Airport (DCA) to the hotel. What they don't bother to tell you is that you need to call the hotel from the airport and request the shuttle. If you don't, and you get on the shuttle van labeled with the Crowne Plaza Hotel, and even after asking the driver if this shuttle will take you to the Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, then you get a nice ride to the wrong Crowne Plaza Hotel, and then you get to cool your heel in the lobby until the shuttle van is ready to make their next scheduled run to the airport. The (correct) Crowne Plaza is certainly very clean, and the staff are friendly, but there are little quirky things that made my visit feel almost like a visit to Grandma's home...a poor, sweet, Grandma that is slipping towards senility, that is. For instance, the stopper in my bathroom sink didn't seem to function well, Upon inspection, I found that it wasn't attached to any hardware on the sink, and was merely laying at the bottom of the sink. The proper hardware wasn't in site, or I would have just fixed it myself. I instantly thought of those old rubber sink stoppers with the chain, and would have actually preferred one of those - especially when trying to shave. As I was exhausted from my flight, I decided to splurge and order room service. The room service menu was adequate, and the prices seemed fair - even for room service. I ordered the half pound of fried shrimp. What I received were about a half a dozen, very heavily breaded shrimp. They were edible, but the breading was so thick and heavy - it was almost as if they were dressing them for a journey outside the hotel. This should have served as an omen, but everyone has an off day, and so the next morning, I decided to try their breakfast buffet. Watery scrambled eggs and bad tasting coffee at $16.00 meant I spent the rest of my week eating bagels from the food carts. Housekeeping I think is where Granny also spent a lot of her time as the giant "show" pillow and the coverlet at the foot of the bed found a new location every day. Some days they were on top of the desk, next day on top of the entertainment center - they were never both back on my bed during my stay, which isn't really a big deal to me, just very odd. On the final night of my stay, I decided to roll the dice and try room service again, and I decided to really roll the dice and to order the steak (NY strip). Wow! That was an excellent choice! Excellent steak, cooked to my order with excellent sides (baked potato and asparagus). Also, by my last day, Maintenance finally got to my room and fixed the stopper in the sink, maybe Granny finally took her meds and had this issue properly addressed. Would I stay at the Crowne Plaza again? Eh, the jury is still out. It wasn't my worst stay at a hotel, nor was it my best. The Holiday Inn is still going to be my top choice just for the sake of convenience, the Crowne Plaza - I'm going to have to think about that one.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dchiang2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNationalAirport, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear dchiang2:

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on your recent stay at our property. It is through feedback like yours we can identify the areas in which we are excelling and those that could use improvement.

We are sorry to hear about the rough start to your stay with us; however, we are glad to hear you found our staff friendly, our steak delicious, and that by the end of your stay things had begun to turn around.

Still, we take comments about our maintenance, restaurants, and housekeeping seriously. I will pass on your concerns to each individual department so they can ensure issues like those you experienced do not happen again.

We do hope you give our property a second chance to impress you. Should you like any assistance arranging a reservation in the future, please don’t hesitate to contact me. I can be reached at (7-3) 416-1600.

Sincerely,

Libby V.
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,053 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.3 mi away
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
0.2 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#13 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
Address: 1480 Crystal Dr, Arlington, VA 22202-3231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Arlington
#25 Business Hotel in Arlington
#31 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel in Arlington, Virginia is a first class, full service hotel located in the heart of Crystal City. Only moments away from the Nation s Capitol and the Pentagon, we are less than one mile from Reagan National Airport. Located within minutes of Washington, DC agencies and attractions, the Crowne Plaza has been newly upgraded offering the Sleep Advantage Program for your additional comfort. With you in mind, each guest room offers plush duvet covers with 7 pillows, upgraded linen and mattress toppers, and a 43" flat-panel television. The Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel is close to companies and agencies such as US Airways, IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, General Dynamics, National Guard , and many more. We specialize in government travelers offering per diem rates. Stay connected with our free Wireless High Speed Internet Access in our public areas and 24 Hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24 Hour Fitness Center. The Crystal City Metro Station is one block away with Historic Old Town Alexandria only two miles. We boast five meeting rooms plus an array of business class amenities. We take pride in providing exemplary customer service and will take care of your every need. Come to the Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel, The Place To Meet! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport Hotel Arlington
Crowne Plaza Arlington
Crowne Plaza Hotel Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing