We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

This hotel should be the model for customer service in the hotel industry. Every person I came in contact with was beyond pleasant and friendly. They really wanted to please their customer. When I arrived at the airport, I called the hotel and the shuttle was there in about 5 minutes. They said it does come around every 15 minutes. You can't beat that! The bar, restaurant, and Star Bucks on the premises were all excellent too. The food was great and the buffalo chicken wings were the best I have ever had! You must try them. There were daily food specials at the restaurant which is nice. Houman was the best server ever and when he delivered for room service, he was most attentive. A friendly, nice person too! I was at this hotel for a conference and many people commented that the hotel was a good choice. The conference was run smoothly in part to the excellent service received by Lauren Madison and Mauricio Cortez. They aim to please and are super people too! The rooms were clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. I will definitely visit this hotel again if I am in DC. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance and the hotel shuttle will also drive you if you prefer. I highly recommend the hotel for a DC visit of business or pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNationalAirport, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear DeborahVJ:

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are absolutely thrilled you to hear how satisfied you were with your stay at the Crowne Plaza National. We hold our team members to a high standard of service, and we are glad to hear you felt they succeeded in all their efforts.

I will be sure to pass on your compliments to Houman, Lauren, Mauricio, and the rest of our team members. I am confident they will be as delighted as I am to hear they were able to make your stay a memorable one.

We hope to see you back again soon at the Crowne Plaza National Airport. Should your travels return you to our area, I would be happy to assist you in setting up a reservation. I can be reached at (703) 416-1600 or by email at libby.vertz@bfsaul.com.

Until next time!

Libby Vertz
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    209
    88
    27
    9
See reviews for
88
73
46
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Let me first say when you first walk in you are confronted by some amazing smiles at the front desk. Katherine and Candice will make you fell so important. And The Other Lady's Are A Nice On The Other shifts. Next the Hotel is always clean and spotless. The down stairs bar and pub has great food with good employees. Location is 2 blocks from Metro rail very safe area. First time to DC and by staying in Crystal City was the best choice. Value, safe, clean and friendly. Anytime I return I will stay here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank buzz501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing location!! From the minute we were picked up at DCA..it was the start of a great stay. A very warm welcome from the shuttle driver, a great check in experience and a very comfortable room was ahead of us. The front desk staff was very helpful in helping us find our way into the city and making sure we didn't miss the best parts.
Our room was very clean, warm and comfortable. For the rate we got we couldn't ask for anything more.
Having the metro stop only two blocks away was even better. We will definitely recommend and stay here again many more times.
Thank you

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank tjonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed 4 days in this hotel for a conference. This is a renovated hotel (at least my room and the 2-level lobby) with great access to the Metro stop a few blocks away. The room had a large bed and desk, but the bathroom was tiny with a small counter. Wifi coverage was good. The hot breakfast was good, the same small-ish selection every day on the buffet. The Starbucks in the lobby is a nice addition.
The airport bus runs every 15 minutes in theory, but they skipped my scheduled departure time because the one bus running was late. I got to wait 20 minutes wondering if I missed my flight. The other 2 hotel buses were sitting outside idle.
When I checked in, I had to sign a statement agreeing to a $50 charge if I checked out early for any reason. I knew immediately that I had paid too much but it was too late to cancel without paying for a night. Sure enough I paid about 40% more than the current price online. I suggest skipping the discounted non-cancelable rate when you book and then checking the rate every couple of days or you will pay more than this hotel is worth. As many other hotels are doing, the rate will also vary for each night of your stay. The two Crystal City Marriotts are good alternatives.

Room Tip: Rooms on the same side as the entrance are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank passingthrough95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Crowne Plaza Hotel is a nice mid-tier hotel in Crystal City. The hotel is located on the quiet end of Crystal Dirve, but within walking distance to the Metro and several awesome restaurants. This area of Crystal City has high rise apartments, business offices, shopping and lots of restaurants. It is bustling during the day. Restaurants are busy at night, but you have the feeling of being in a modern village.

The hotel has all of the amenities you need for business, family or couples travel. With two restaurants/bar, fitness center, pool and a business center this is great hotel for a conference (the reason for my visit).

The rooms were a few steps up from the Holiday Inn, but didn't reach the level of the companies luxury flagship Intercontinental Hotels. The beds were very comfortable and each room was well appointed with the usual tv, iron, hair dryer, etc... Crystal City is less than a mile from Regan National Airport (the hotel has a shuttle for convenience); this hotel is near the flight paths of the runways, but I never heard any of the noise that goes along with that!

This was my second conference in this hotel in two years. The food both times was excellent, the staff more than accommodating. The large and small conference rooms are well appointed with comfortable chairs and nice tables. As part of both planning teams, I would recommend the Crown Plaza again for large and small groups.

Green Features: I didn't notice an effort to recycle or conserve.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jayhawkinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

There were a couple REALLY great things about this hotel. First, there's a Starbucks in the hotel. Second, the staff is very accommodating - especially with the shuttle service. I was traveling with a coworker who had to go buy a new suit and they shuttled him to a nearby mall. They also picked him up and brought him back to the hotel after he was done shopping. We had to go to an awards ceremony at a nearby hotel and they shuttled us over to the hotel with no problem whatsoever. The rooms were fine - no complaints really. Because of their flexibility I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had just settled into our well-appointed room when I turned back the bed covers and discovered blood on the sheets--just a drop, but it wasn't mine. The management immediately sent housekeeping with new sheets, which we put on for ourselves because we were already prepared for sleeping. Management called soon after, insisting that we move to an upgraded suite. That was considerate, but we did have to pack up and move to another floor. The suite was poorly arranged with a lot of wasted space and a very small counter in the bathroom--inconvenient for make-up and hair styling for my partner. The management again checked on us during our stay and check-out and were very considerate. We would probably stay here again because of their efforts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drmrru12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNationalAirport, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Drmrru12:

We are so sorry to hear about the housekeeping mishap you experienced while staying with us. Our staff works hard to provide guests with an enjoyable, clean, and comfortable experience; we regret that your stay was anything less. Thank you for leaving your feedback so we can avoid such an issue in the future.

Thank you also for your comments regarding the layout of our junior suite bedroom. I will pass your concerns onto our management so they are aware of the issues you faced while staying with us.

We are glad to hear you would give our hotel a second chance. We would truly appreciate the chance to impress you with not just our service, but our guestrooms and amenities as well. If you would like any assistance setting up a future reservation, please feel free to contact me. I can be reached at (703) 416-1600 or libby.vertz@bfsaulco.com.

Sincerely,

Libby Vertz
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#16 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
0.1 mi away
Americana Hotel
Americana Hotel
#21 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
Address: 1480 Crystal Dr, Arlington, VA 22202-3231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Arlington
#25 Business Hotel in Arlington
#31 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel in Arlington, Virginia is a first class, full service hotel located in the heart of Crystal City. Only moments away from the Nation s Capitol and the Pentagon, we are less than one mile from Reagan National Airport. Located within minutes of Washington, DC agencies and attractions, the Crowne Plaza has been newly upgraded offering the Sleep Advantage Program for your additional comfort. With you in mind, each guest room offers plush duvet covers with 7 pillows, upgraded linen and mattress toppers, and a 43" flat-panel television. The Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel is close to companies and agencies such as US Airways, IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, General Dynamics, National Guard , and many more. We specialize in government travelers offering per diem rates. Stay connected with our free Wireless High Speed Internet Access in our public areas and 24 Hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24 Hour Fitness Center. The Crystal City Metro Station is one block away with Historic Old Town Alexandria only two miles. We boast five meeting rooms plus an array of business class amenities. We take pride in providing exemplary customer service and will take care of your every need. Come to the Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel, The Place To Meet! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport Hotel Arlington
Crowne Plaza Arlington
Crowne Plaza Hotel Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing