We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location, Courteous, Helpful and Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport offers convenient access to attractions and events in the nation's capitol. Located just blocks from the Crystal City Metro Station, sites around the National Mall are just minutes away. And if one chooses to drive, entry to US Highway 1 and Interstate 395 are also just blocks away from this place of lodging.

Staff is courteous, helpful and friendly, exceptionally so. Regardless who it was with whom we spoke, be it folks at the Front Desk, the Bellman, Maintenance, Cleaning Staff, and so on, all were ready and willing to answer questions, help, often going above and beyond.

The rooms are nicely appointed, the beds clean and comfortable. Lighting was more than adequate.

A Starbucks restaurant is located within the hotel, and offers one the ability to call ahead for a grab-and-go beverage. Also located within the hotel is a restaurant, but its hours were limited when compared to our schedule and we were not able to dine.

On the minus side, television reception was often fuzzy if viewing other than digital stations. Digital was fairly frequently obscured, perhaps due to the hotel's proximity to Washington National.

While very clean, the carpeting apparently was not vacuumed in advance of or during my stay. (The same bits and pieces that were present upon arrival remained untouched as I left.) There were also some discarded bits and assorted other unwanteds tossed behind the nightstand that remain to be vacuumed and/or otherwise removed.

A smaller refrigerator is made available; it was hidden behind the right door of the furniture on which the television is placed. We were able to purchase soft drinks elsewhere and cool them in this fridge, avoiding the $2 per 20-oz bottle charged at the vending machine on this floor. The addition of a microwave would have made the stay all the better.

Site access is a bit of a challenge. Through no fault of its own, a bicycle race on the Sunday of our stay blocked all egress from the site. One could drive to CPWNA. One could not leave, however, as roads were blocked by the bicycle event. It may help to check in advance to see if any similar events may be occurring during your stay. Entry to the hotel is off a narrow alleyway between the hotel and an adjacent building.

All-in-all the goods far outweigh the few bads. And again, the courteous, helpful and friendly staff ensured our stay was a very good one.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 57C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

459 - 465 of 578 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

Hotel is in Crystal City which is an area with lots of hotels and office buildings. Breakfast buffet was nice with fresh fruit and hot foods.
Shuttle to/from airport runs every 15 minutes.
Just around the corner is the Long Bridge Park. This is a great place to walk in the morning before it gets too hot.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingLibrary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

A nicely inviting lobby staffed by friendly, wee-trained staff gets you off to good start at this property. The rooms are nicely appointed and quiet with flat screen TVs. The Fitness room is spacious but media is poorly designed and the free weights are stored in a frustrating contraption. Treadmills were well-maintained. The Restaurant/cafe is sports bar-themed but good service could not overcome the below-par menu and food quality. The location is aided by courteous shuttle service from airport.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank acoulter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

This hotel is well situated near the Metro and within 3 stop (yellow line) of the National Mall. There is a variety of good food in the near vicinity.

We got a great price. Check-in was easy. The room was nice, got cold, and was quiet.

The bed was not THE most comfortable ever; but good. Starbucks closed early on Saturday.

On another trip to DC this hotel will be one of the top options.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Good location near metro stop and DCA airport. Hotel is very outdated

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We were scared that this would be one of the "older" Crowne's and seem worn out and dingy, but in reality, everything seemed clean and new! Their bed and pillows were so comfortable. The decor was so modern and warm. The a/c unit was controlled by a digital wall thermostat instead of a window-unit which just blew hi/low cold/hot. It was perfect. I would rank this at least a 4-STAR or 4.5 STAR! On a bad note: The metro is hard to find It was about 2-3 blocks away but you had to know exactly where to walk (through another hotel's driveway). We got bad directions from the front desk. They wanted to charge us $21/day for parking, but we just parked for free across the street (overnight).The actual hotel lobby was hard to get to. Other than that. It was a spectacular experience.

Room Tip: King size bed was probably memory foam. The sheets and comforter were brand new!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NewlywedsfromFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I've stayed several times when visiting family in the area. The rooms are of good size, although the bathrooms are rather small. Most rooms have been recently updated with attractive furnishings and the refrigerator in the room is a plus. The hotel is in a quiet location, although on my last stay, the soda and ice machines on the 10th floor were outrageously noisy, but my room was not nearby. If it had been, I probably would have changed it.

I've always found the hotel to be clean and well maintained. The Starbucks on site has been open every morning I visited. I have not eaten at the hotel, but the bar on the ground level looks quite nice.

The metro is only about a block away, so this would be a good choice for a DC visit. Crystal City shops and restaurants are nearby, but not accessible underground.

While I consider the hotel to be "average", that simply is because it does not stand out in any specific way from others in the area. I intend to stay there again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NJTravelBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
0.9 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
0.3 mi away
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.3 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#14 of 52 in Arlington
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport

Address: 1480 Crystal Dr, Arlington, VA 22202-3231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Arlington
#23 Family Hotel in Arlington
#25 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: $102 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel in Arlington, Virginia is a first class, full service hotel located in the heart of Crystal City. Only moments away from the Nation s Capitol and the Pentagon, we are less than one mile from Reagan National Airport. Located within minutes of Washington, DC agencies and attractions, the Crowne Plaza has been newly upgraded offering the Sleep Advantage Program for your additional comfort. With you in mind, each guest room offers plush duvet covers with 7 pillows, upgraded linen and mattress toppers, and a 43" flat-panel television. The Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel is close to companies and agencies such as US Airways, IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, General Dynamics, National Guard , and many more. We specialize in government travelers offering per diem rates. Stay connected with our free Wireless High Speed Internet Access in our public areas and 24 Hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24 Hour Fitness Center. The Crystal City Metro Station is one block away with Historic Old Town Alexandria only two miles. We boast five meeting rooms plus an array of business class amenities. We take pride in providing exemplary customer service and will take care of your every need. Come to the Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel, The Place To Meet! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport Hotel Arlington
Crowne Plaza Arlington
Crowne Plaza Hotel Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing