We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Option for Visiting DC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Top Option for Visiting DC”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

This hotel is well situated near the Metro and within 3 stop (yellow line) of the National Mall. There is a variety of good food in the near vicinity.

We got a great price. Check-in was easy. The room was nice, got cold, and was quiet.

The bed was not THE most comfortable ever; but good. Starbucks closed early on Saturday.

On another trip to DC this hotel will be one of the top options.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    211
    89
    29
    9
See reviews for
89
73
49
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Good location near metro stop and DCA airport. Hotel is very outdated

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We were scared that this would be one of the "older" Crowne's and seem worn out and dingy, but in reality, everything seemed clean and new! Their bed and pillows were so comfortable. The decor was so modern and warm. The a/c unit was controlled by a digital wall thermostat instead of a window-unit which just blew hi/low cold/hot. It was perfect. I would rank this at least a 4-STAR or 4.5 STAR! On a bad note: The metro is hard to find It was about 2-3 blocks away but you had to know exactly where to walk (through another hotel's driveway). We got bad directions from the front desk. They wanted to charge us $21/day for parking, but we just parked for free across the street (overnight).The actual hotel lobby was hard to get to. Other than that. It was a spectacular experience.

Room Tip: King size bed was probably memory foam. The sheets and comforter were brand new!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewlywedsfromFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
327 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I've stayed several times when visiting family in the area. The rooms are of good size, although the bathrooms are rather small. Most rooms have been recently updated with attractive furnishings and the refrigerator in the room is a plus. The hotel is in a quiet location, although on my last stay, the soda and ice machines on the 10th floor were outrageously noisy, but my room was not nearby. If it had been, I probably would have changed it.

I've always found the hotel to be clean and well maintained. The Starbucks on site has been open every morning I visited. I have not eaten at the hotel, but the bar on the ground level looks quite nice.

The metro is only about a block away, so this would be a good choice for a DC visit. Crystal City shops and restaurants are nearby, but not accessible underground.

While I consider the hotel to be "average", that simply is because it does not stand out in any specific way from others in the area. I intend to stay there again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NJTravelBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is a fabulous hotel! I had never stayed in this area of DC before and was not sure what to expect. The shuttle service was a huge bonus to this hotel....we used it for transportation to and from the airport, to area restaraunts, and to the Pentagon City Mall. The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful and assisted us several times with directions to DC attractions. The rooms were extremely clean and very nicely decorated. I was here on business but would definitely take my family back and stay at this hotel! I look forward to my next visit! A big thanks to Lewis for being so friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knoxco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNationalAirport, Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We were delighted to hear of you recent stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza National Airport.

We pride ourselves in having very engaging associates and it seems you enjoyed your experience throughout the property.

We have shared your comments with Lewis and it always makes him feel appreciated and reconfirms to him what he likes most about his job...interacting with our guests!

We hope your plans bring you back our way again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

This is a great hotel. Nice, clean rooms. Close to the airport, very close (a few hundred meters) from a metro stop to go wherever in D.C., good dining options nearby, the great running/jogging trail nearby, and a very attentive and friendly staff. What more could one ask for?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HelloNewCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

The staff was helpful and friendly. We were picked up at the airport by the hotel shuttle within 10 minutes of calling them. The location is close to the Crystal City metro stop, shops and restaurants. It is a few blocks walk to the Mount Vernon Trail, which we hiked along into Georgetown. Our room was comfortable; there was a refrigerator, but no microwave. We really didn't spend much time at the hotel, since we came to visit D.C.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank we_drive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#14 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
0.1 mi away
Americana Hotel
Americana Hotel
#21 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
Address: 1480 Crystal Dr, Arlington, VA 22202-3231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Arlington
#25 Business Hotel in Arlington
#31 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel in Arlington, Virginia is a first class, full service hotel located in the heart of Crystal City. Only moments away from the Nation s Capitol and the Pentagon, we are less than one mile from Reagan National Airport. Located within minutes of Washington, DC agencies and attractions, the Crowne Plaza has been newly upgraded offering the Sleep Advantage Program for your additional comfort. With you in mind, each guest room offers plush duvet covers with 7 pillows, upgraded linen and mattress toppers, and a 43" flat-panel television. The Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel is close to companies and agencies such as US Airways, IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, General Dynamics, National Guard , and many more. We specialize in government travelers offering per diem rates. Stay connected with our free Wireless High Speed Internet Access in our public areas and 24 Hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24 Hour Fitness Center. The Crystal City Metro Station is one block away with Historic Old Town Alexandria only two miles. We boast five meeting rooms plus an array of business class amenities. We take pride in providing exemplary customer service and will take care of your every need. Come to the Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel, The Place To Meet! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport Hotel Arlington
Crowne Plaza Arlington
Crowne Plaza Hotel Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing