We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good business/bad food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good business/bad food.”
Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

Free blast buffet if you are a fed. Good efficient airport shuttle. Starbucks on site in the mezzanine area. Average crowne plaza, good business hotel. Only bad is the restaurant food...avoid it at all costa, eaten there twice and front end staff were great but the food quality was atrocious. Steak nachos have mauve 1oz of hamburger bits, apple pie dessert had oatmeal instead of pie crust. Really sub par cooking. If you stay out of the restaurant you will be fine. Walking distance to metro as well so really good location.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanch020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehager, Chef at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Greetings!

We are so glad that you were able to take advantage of some of our greatest amenities like our airport shuttle and our onsite Starbucks. We would like to extend our deepest apologies for the unpleasant dining experience that you received during your stay at the Crowne Plaza National Airport earlier this month. As a Torchbearer Award winning hotel, we pride ourselves on delivering a commendable dining experience in our restaurant and lounge areas. Unfortunately, we fell short of meeting your expectations during your visit. Myself as well as the food and beverage team would like to apologize for failing to live up to the standard of quality that you expect when visiting the Crowne Plaza National Airport.

We hope to regain you as a valued customer in the future and appreciate your valued feedback.

Regards,
Chef Sean Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    209
    88
    27
    9
See reviews for
88
73
46
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus. Ohio
Level Contributor
303 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I've stayed here a couple of times for extended stays. The no-charge shuttle will pick you up at DCA and run you to the local shopping mall or other short-route destinations [some drivers are friendlier than others]. The restaurant wait staff are great. I especially look forward to breakfast; it's a nice spread and the staff dote on you. The metro is 5 minutes away, and just a few stops from the monuments in DC. This is a quiet street in an attractive area ... nice walks in all directions.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peebs777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Good location to all of DC attractions. Rooms were comfy

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncgirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This hotel is located in Crystal City, Arlingotn, VA. Only 3 miles aways from DC and 5 minutes walk to Crystal City Metro (Blue or Yellow Metro Lines), There is Shuttle service available to the metro if you do not want to walk but is is the most convenient location. If you do not want to pay the DC price this hotel is a good option to visit all DC attractions but without paying high DC prices.

The service was outstanding!

Room Tip: Stay on weekends the prices are discounted more than 50%
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank francesco p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We booked this on hotwire. Nice hotel for the money. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpbtkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Typical Hotel in a big packed city. You have to pay for parking, or find a spot thats free, and walk or catch a ride back to the hotel.

The room was nice, the staff was nice, but on the first morning I woke up, and tried to take a shower, the water was cold..

I dont like waking up to a cold shower.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BSmith0731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Hello BSmith0731,
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor! Washington, D.C. Crystal City area is huge! But we hope that during your business travels you had the time to sightsee the history of our nation! Looking forward to serving you again!
Kindly,
Crowne Plaza National team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Well, I would not stay here again. Quite dark hallways, staff in early morning was either absent or non-responsive. I could not get either the front desk or bellman to answer the phone.

The lobby was non-descript. The restaurant food was acceptable but the waitress mixed up the credit cards.

To me the only plus was this hotel's location but there are far better ones within the same distance from Washington National Airport.

Poor would be too strong a negative rating but average might well be too good. Average minus seems a fair rating based on my experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDYREN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Hello MDYREN,
Thanks for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor! We’re happy to hear that you found our location convenient to your needs! We hope next time you’re in Crystal City you choose to stay with us!

Kindly,
Crowne Plaza National team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 51 in Arlington
1,141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#16 of 51 in Arlington
1,390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Americana Hotel
Americana Hotel
#21 of 51 in Arlington
1,317 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
Address: 1480 Crystal Dr, Arlington, VA 22202-3231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Arlington
#25 Business Hotel in Arlington
#31 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel in Arlington, Virginia is a first class, full service hotel located in the heart of Crystal City. Only moments away from the Nation s Capitol and the Pentagon, we are less than one mile from Reagan National Airport. Located within minutes of Washington, DC agencies and attractions, the Crowne Plaza has been newly upgraded offering the Sleep Advantage Program for your additional comfort. With you in mind, each guest room offers plush duvet covers with 7 pillows, upgraded linen and mattress toppers, and a 43" flat-panel television. The Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel is close to companies and agencies such as US Airways, IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, General Dynamics, National Guard , and many more. We specialize in government travelers offering per diem rates. Stay connected with our free Wireless High Speed Internet Access in our public areas and 24 Hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24 Hour Fitness Center. The Crystal City Metro Station is one block away with Historic Old Town Alexandria only two miles. We boast five meeting rooms plus an array of business class amenities. We take pride in providing exemplary customer service and will take care of your every need. Come to the Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel, The Place To Meet! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport Hotel Arlington
Crowne Plaza Arlington
Crowne Plaza Hotel Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing