We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenant, and low cost”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Albany New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Convenant, and low cost”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2007

I was there with my family and friends for the Cherry Blossom festival in Washington DC, March 30 to April 4. For a 3 star hotel it exceeded my expectations. The entrance was clean and our party of six was greeted with a smile. The staff was diverse, as it should be in a major city, and there were zero communication problems. Whatever we asked for we got quickly. We needed a microwave and it was bought up and installed within 15 minutes.

We had decided to drive into the city so we asked the desk for maps. They gave us maps but advised against driving into the city. They suggested the subway and it was great advice. The subway is only three blocks down from the hotel. It’s a 10 minute ride to the DC mall. We had a fantastic time sight seeing and not worrying about parking the car.

The major benefits to the hotel for me are: clean room, responsive staff, no charge for parking, no charge for having four guest in one room, (also they booked us in the adjoining room of our friends and we did not ask for it.), the subway is close, the attractions are close. Take the subway, and get directions from the front desk before you leave the hotel.

If you are looking for a hotel with a view. this is not the place. However, if you are looking for a safe, clean and affordable place to stay while you’re off sightseeing, then it fits the bill.

  • Liked — Clean , affordable and responsive staff.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JazzAlabnyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    219
    76
    26
    9
See reviews for
121
55
44
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morganton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2006

When I first arrived at this hotel I was a little worried... there was some constuction going on and the main sign for the hotel was gone. But once I walked into the lobby, my worries went away. The lobby was very clean and well lit. I arrived just after 12:00 but the front desk happily checked me in right away. Everything in the room was clean and well maintained. I took advantage of the free shuttle twice. The first time was at night, the second time was in the morning. I did have problems with the morning shuttle. I was told by the front desk that it had left to take another guest somewhere and would be available after that. It took 20 minutes to return which confused me because the shuttle service is only suppose to run within a mile of the hotel. 20 minutes for a potential 2 miles? That was my only problem with the stay.

Ballston metro station is a short walk away, as is the Ballston Mall which has several restaurants. Very convenient if you don't want to worry about driving!

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Disliked — Tiny parking lot.
  • Tips/Secrets — If you know you want the shuttle for a specific time, I suggest calling the front desk and trying to reserve a time.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RhiaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, SC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2006

We stayed over the 4th of July. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We rode the complimentary shuttle to restaurants and Metro over the 4 days we were there. Over the course of the time we were there, there was only one occasion that the van was unavailable. This was because the employee was out sick. Someone came in later in the day. The staff was even nice enough to let us leave our car in their lot after we had checked out while we went on a White House tour. The hotel is located in a safe area. We enjoyed the local restaurants, especially a pastry shop named Tivoli at the Ballston Metro station. We will definitely stay here again. For the money, it's a great deal.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmyc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2006

You can walk to the metro and to the Balston Mall. But, the elevator is very slow. The shuttle is complimentary and they tell you that you may not get picked up at all since the bell hop is also the shuttle driver. I called twice for the shuttle and was told that I would need to wait for 30 minutes and then indefinitely, once because the driver was on a dinner break, and then he was hoping luggage. The hotel is adjacent to some construction site which is very ugly. The sidewalk is non existent due to the construction. The staff for the most part, speaks English as a second language so you will need to constantly repeat request and questions. This was very frustrating. I had difficulty getting incoming phone calls due to that problem. I would recommend this hotel due to the convience of being close to the metro, but there is another hotel that is much closer.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rr23703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2006

While this is not Ritz Carlton, it was are really good hotel. It is very clean without the over-cleaned chemical smell some hotels have. The room has great features, is well-planned, comfortable, quiet - which is very important. The staff is very accommodating. And the room service was excellent! I have stayed at some dice-y Holiday Inns occassionally and so was a little hesitant about this but would stay here again if my work brings me back.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2005

Don't depend on the shuttle for transportation to the NSF or metro. Allow time for the one working elevator to get to you.

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2005

The construction next door and in the street makes it difficult to get to the Holiday Inn, either by car or on foot. What's more, you can't expect to sleep late once the heavy construction machinery gears up. Even more annoying, both elevators kept breaking at the same time, which meant that guests had to walk up and down the stairs to their rooms. The front desk clerk was willing to give me a reduced rate at checkout to make up for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Ballston
Comfort Inn Ballston
#23 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Arlington
Hilton Arlington
#14 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Arlington Gateway
The Westin Arlington Gateway
#25 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Ballston
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston

Property: Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston
Address: 4610 Fairfax Dr, Arlington, VA 22203-1538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Arlington
#23 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring into value! The Holiday Inn Arlington hotel, conveniently located off I-66 East, is just 4 miles from Washington, DC (6 from DCA) in the thriving Ballston neighborhood of North Arlington. You ll find the National Science Foundation, the Nature Conservancy, AES, CACI, Global Knowledge, Accenture, and ESI within several blocks of the hotel, along with many restaurants, shopping, Macy s, and the Kettler Capitals IcePlex. It s easy to access the White House, Smithsonian museums, Zoo and the National Mall via the Metro, just 3 blocks from the Holiday Inn Arlington. Our friendly shuttle drivers will whisk you to any location within a 1-mile radius of the hotel. All guest rooms have one king or two queen beds, free high-speed Internet (wired), free refrigerators, and free coffee. We also offer a fitness center, gift shop, free business services, an outdoor pool, and a spacious parking lot with reasonable prices. Dine in our restaurant, pamper yourself with room service, or experience our airy, contemporary lounge with free Wi-Fi and plasma TVs. Our 5,000 sf of attractive function space is perfect for weddings and meetings from 10 to 300 guests.This hotel in Arlington, VA is near Georgetown, Tysons Corner, Pentagon City, Old Town Alexandria, and Arlington National Cemetery. We re also a straight shot from Dulles Airport (IAD).The Holiday Inn Arlington -- a great value for visitors to DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Ballston
Arlington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing