We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I accompanied my husband on his buisness trip. This is a clean hotel. The front desk staff was very helpful. The cleaning staff very friendly. We LOVE the bartender, Roberto! I left behind a set of earrings but called as soon as I thought of them. They not only found them but are holding for husband to pick up on his next trip. Wonderful experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CANTHONY925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    224
    77
    26
    9
See reviews for
123
55
44
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My daughter and I chose this location as our home base for a long weekend of sight-seeing in DC. I wanted a place close to a metro station, and one that could guarantee me a room with two double beds. I was unfamiliar with Ballston, so candidly, there were other hotels at other locations that I would have preferred, but they couldn't guarantee the kind of room I wanted.

This one could, so we took it. While it is near the metro, I'd say it's a bit further away than some have described; maybe more like 4 or 5 blocks. That's still not bad, but you do feel the last few blocks walking from the metro after a long day of walking around DC. Having said that, its proximity to the interstate makes it easy to get there by car. And it's in a good, safe, quiet, pleasant area that's very walkable at night and has decent restaurants nearby.

The room was clean (mostly) and comfortable, including the bed and linens. I noticed some of the wallpaper was old and starting to come loose, and I also noticed an off-putting smudge on the wall that was either ketchup or blood! But it was small, and I didn't complain.

I agree with those who said that breakfast was good, but a little on the expensive side. But if you're in a hurry, it's the way to go. IHOP is down the street near the metro, but it's a little slower, and really not much cheaper.

I want to commend the staff at this location. They were professional and welcoming always, and even gave us free band aids when my daughter developed a blister on her foot.

Overall, I'd definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBIndianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

The room was neat, tidy, and the daily cleaning staff kept it perfectly clean throughout our stay--not easy with four people. The desk staff were friendly and always eager to help us. The restaurant staff were exceptional, and the food was excellent. A special shoutout goes to "Sr. B," the waiter who politely let my daughter practice her Spanish with him each morning. We greatly appreciated Mohammed, the van driver, who dropped us off and picked us up a couple of times. We also enjoyed the pool each evening and the presence of a lifeguard. This hotel is within walking distance to the metro, a mall, and many other shopping needs. Our family members arrived by train and airplane and never had to use a car at all, making this a truly relaxing vacation. The rooms were nice and the hotel is well-maintained. It was a great place to stay while visiting the DC sights. However, it's the the staff who are the real stars and who make this well-run hotel such a great place to stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The hotel was clean, fairly modern. Its what I've come to expect at a Holiday Inn, but a slight bit better than most. Free breakfast for being a Holiday Inn IHG member. Lots of nice restaurants just around the corner. Its right there right off the freeway, and I passed it when I first arrived.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LA_Engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This hotel is noteworthy because of the extra mile the staff is willing to go. When we checked in Thursday and stayed the first night, there was a problem with the shower faucet diverter -- and we reported it. While we were working that day, Friday, the maintenance crew came and found it to be more complicated and wouldn't be able to fix it until Monday, so we were told we had to move -- unfortunate hassle, especially since we were tired. However, the way Keith and Said treated us, showing true 'hospitality' (rare in today's hotel market) was/is exemplary, and they also compensated us very generously for the inconvenience. We used the pool one night, which was very nice. They had a lifeguard on duty til the 10 pm closing. The rooms were quiet, that's important to us. The breakfast, though a bit pricey, was totally perfect, just the way we asked in every aspect, (notably the best breakfast steak my husband ever had) and one morning we had the buffet, so the Silver Leaf Restaurant adjacent to the lobby gets high marks from us. They charge for parking, that is one negative. And we did find that the AC was either too cold or too warm, within short cycles, just couldn't get it to be 'just right' or consistent. Convenient location, lots of choices of restaurants within easy walking distance. We stayed 4 nights, on business. Would definitely recommend this hotel to any travelers to Arlington.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Most all hotels are comfortable but the staff makes this hotel a success. My experience included support and cordinarion with Keith, Kori, Vera, and Dawn. Yes, I know their names, which speaks to the personal attention one can receive at this hotel. There are different packages that can be accomodated that may include parking and/or breakfast, it depends on what one is looking for. The Metro is near by and is better to visit sites throughout the DMV. The shuttle (with a very hospitable driver named Muhammad) will deliver you to any location in a 1 mile radius, to include the metro, or he will cordinare a taxi for you, with recommendations on where to visit. I stayed at this hotel for 4 days with a visiting party of 80 foreign personnel. When I say the staff makes the visit, it is no joke, this staff was awesome and ensured each and every person/family received proper attention. A special thank you is dedicated for Vera and Kori as they did have to address issues with room schedules due to lack of an imdividual making a reservation. They maintained their composure while handling 42 different reservations, foreign language, and one discrepancy. Give them a chance to make your stay as comfortable as mine. 4 due to some reports of a/c isues but new ones were being wheeled in the same day.

Room Tip: I prefer higher rooms, rooms do not have microwave in them, only coffee maker so plan to use lobby a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weems, VA
Level Contributor
290 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Nice and courteous staff. Comfortable, clean and nicely decorated room. Not sure we will stay again because of the cost of parking and the expensive breakfast if we can find a better deal, but we might because we liked the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Ballston
Comfort Inn Ballston
#23 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Arlington
Hilton Arlington
#13 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Arlington Gateway
The Westin Arlington Gateway
#25 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Ballston
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston

Property: Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston
Address: 4610 Fairfax Dr, Arlington, VA 22203-1538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Arlington
#23 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring into value! The Holiday Inn Arlington hotel, conveniently located off I-66 East, is just 4 miles from Washington, DC (6 from DCA) in the thriving Ballston neighborhood of North Arlington. You ll find the National Science Foundation, the Nature Conservancy, AES, CACI, Global Knowledge, Accenture, and ESI within several blocks of the hotel, along with many restaurants, shopping, Macy s, and the Kettler Capitals IcePlex. It s easy to access the White House, Smithsonian museums, Zoo and the National Mall via the Metro, just 3 blocks from the Holiday Inn Arlington. Our friendly shuttle drivers will whisk you to any location within a 1-mile radius of the hotel. All guest rooms have one king or two queen beds, free high-speed Internet (wired), free refrigerators, and free coffee. We also offer a fitness center, gift shop, free business services, an outdoor pool, and a spacious parking lot with reasonable prices. Dine in our restaurant, pamper yourself with room service, or experience our airy, contemporary lounge with free Wi-Fi and plasma TVs. Our 5,000 sf of attractive function space is perfect for weddings and meetings from 10 to 300 guests.This hotel in Arlington, VA is near Georgetown, Tysons Corner, Pentagon City, Old Town Alexandria, and Arlington National Cemetery. We re also a straight shot from Dulles Airport (IAD).The Holiday Inn Arlington -- a great value for visitors to DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Ballston
Arlington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing