We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not that special, but it is convenient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Arlington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Arlington
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
San Diego
Level Contributor
192 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Not that special, but it is convenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

Stayed at the Hilton Arlington for business meetings two blocks away and stayed on for a little sightseeing. The location (literally on top of a Metro station) is very convenient. It is 20 minutes from the Capitol and about the same from Arlington Cemetery - easy to get to most anywhere in the area.

The room was generous sized and decently furnished. But the view was of a cluttered roof and the offices across the street. The TV stations are limited. There was no list in the room of hotel amenities - because there really aren't any. No pool, no gym, very limited meeting rooms, and the internet connection and cell phone reception (Verizon for me) are spotty and inconsistent.

The staff is accommodating. The restaurant is OK, but not very populated (at least during the week.) I ate in the bar so as not to be served in solitary splendor in the dining room.

If you take a cab to this Hilton, be sure you know that cabbies refer to it as the Ballston Hilton (for the Metro station and the neigborhood) because there is another one nearby.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Just bland, nothing special
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank oscar505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    318
    161
    53
    24
See reviews for
186
130
72
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philly
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

This is a great location - very easy to get around with the metro. Lots of bars and restaurants to choose from within walking distance. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MsJones1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

My husband and I stayed for the weekend and were very pleased . We wanted a nicer hotel with the plush beds and sheets and that is what we got. It felt a little more masculine with the dark woods and tan/brown colors, but it was very classy.(The candid traveler photos were exactly right!) The front desk gave us a room at check in (10:45 am) even though we were expecting to have to wait until 3pm. That was a nice surprise. The bathroom was very nice with plenty of towels. There was a hair dryer, ironing board with iron, mouthwash, in addition to shampoo, conditioner, lotion, and shower cap. The front desk was helpful in giving me bandaids for my blisters after walking all day, and giving us a list of restaurants nearby. We went to the Italian restaurant Tutto Benne and it was delicious. The bed was really comfortable and we slept really well. We did not find the A/C too loud. During the week, it looks like you get a USA Today delivered to your room. We did not eat at the hotel, but there is a french pastry shop on the ground floor, and we had our breakfasts there . As in a fruit tart or napolean for breakfast! The Ballston Metro station is just under the hotel so it was really convenient. It was so nice to know that when we got off the metro, we would not need to walk several blocks to get to the hotel (which we have done before). All the museums, and DC attractions are about a 15-25 min metro ride so we just left the car in the hotel parking lot. The parking was $17daily with in/out privilages and the all day Metro card is $6.50 per person. We got a good rate (I think) because my husband is a Hilton Honors member and got a corporate rate discount due to his company . It is definitely worth asking about any special rates for any affiliations- ie. AAA, AARP, Costco etc. It was a romantic weekend getaway for us and the Hilton Arlington delivered. .

  • Liked — location, plush and comfortable
  • Disliked — we enjoyed it all
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nightengale63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2007

This hotel is right above the Metro. We just walked out the door and hopped onto the Metro and we in Downtown DC in 15 minutes. There is a restaurant just outside the doors as well. We ate and drank at the bar nightly. The hotel offered us complimentary breakfast downstairs each morning because the club level breakfast room was being remodeled. I wouldn't pay for it though. (overpriced). Nice big rooms, fluffy towels, comfy beds. CLEAN. We were checked in with smiles and friendly staff. Had a great time in DC over the Memorial Holiday. We had a rental car and could go in and out when we wanted. No problem

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dodgergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2007

The Hilton Arlington is located directly on top of the Ballston metro station. The centre of DC can be reached in some 15 minutes. While there are some restaurants and shops next to the hotel, Clarendon (two metro stops away) offers a much better selection.

The rooms are nicely decorated and clean, but a bit on the small side. As others already mentioned the air conditioning is too noisy to be used during the night. The wireless internet access was available although reception in my rather remote room was not great. The restaurant is located on the mezzanine level. The breakfast buffet was pretty limited and service was ok.

The hotel did not provide any benefits for HH Gold.

  • Disliked — Noisy air conditioning
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mmbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2007

I was all set to book a reservation through hotels.com to stay at this hotel. When I went to finish the reservation, I noticed a fee of $20 for an "extra person fee." There were only going to be TWO people in that room! Hotels.com was kind and called the hotel to see if they would waive it. They said absolutely NOT. I called the 800 number for Hilton. The representative was unpleasant and curt and said that the $20 fee was for water and electricity! When I asked for the direct hotel number, she said that there wasn't one! What a scam! I am staying elsewhere now and Hilton will, hopefully, have an empty room. Is there an extra charge for an "Empty Room Fee?"

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank bigtraveler300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2007

As a visitor from the UK I wanted a hotel which got me close to the Metro......and the Hilton is as close as it gets!! Its also easy to get to by public transport from IAD - a short bus ride to Falls Church Metro.

Had no complaints except for the noisy A/C turning on and off which others have commented on. I used the resaurant only for breakfast one morning - not very welcoming from the staff and cold plates are not ideal for putting a cooked breakfast on. 5 minutes walk to the nearest shoppping mall and a numbe of restaurants. Great location for
access to all DC's sights.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CHAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Arlington Gateway
The Westin Arlington Gateway
#15 of 50 in Arlington
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Ballston
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Arlington
Hyatt Arlington
#10 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza
2.1 mi away
Virginian Suites Arlington
Virginian Suites Arlington
#14 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 794 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Arlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Arlington

Property: Hilton Arlington
Address: 950 N Stafford St, Arlington, VA 22203-1813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Arlington
#22 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#24 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Arlington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the upscale Ballston community, the Hilton Arlington Virginia is adjacent to the Metro and minutes from downtown Washington DC. Walking distance to shopping, nightlife and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Arlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Arlington Hotel Arlington
Hilton Hotel Arlington
Arlington Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing