We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plain, Expected A Little More”
Review of Hilton Arlington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Arlington
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Plain, Expected A Little More”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed here one night for business and expected a little more for what I paid. I've been to a number of other Hiltons in this area for business and have usually been pretty impressed with what I've gotten, but this time there wasn't anything that really stood out. The hotel was fine, nothing in particular to complain about, but nothing to rave about. As a Hilton Diamond member, I am usually really surprised and pleased with the perks at Hilton hotels, but this time there wasn't really anything special. I had booked a room on the executive level and the hotel didn't seem too full, but didn't get any sort of upgrade. The executive lounge, which they said would have snack and beverages available, had some burnt cookies and a nearly-empty bowl of fruit with some water and sodas. I was hoping for a few other snack to choose from so was a little disappointed that I'd taken the time to go all the way down there since it was on the ground floor and the exec rooms were all the way on the 7th.
The room itself was pretty small. The doors were so loud it was pretty much impossible not to seem like you were slamming them every time you went in and out. The walls seemed pretty thin as well since we could hear every time there was someone out in the hallway or in the adjacent rooms. The bathroom was fine, but tiny. The hinge on the door to the bathroom was loose so the door was hanging unevenly, and it took a bit of a trick to lift the door so it would align properly in order to get it closed. The air conditioner was very, very loud and seemed to have a hard time keeping the room at a constant temperature. It would come on for a minute or two and freeze the room, and then wouldn't come back on until the room was too warm for comfort. I also noticed a water stain or two on the ceiling.
The breakfast buffet was average, nothing too impressive, but since it was free I can't complain too much about that. I definitely would not have paid the $16 that it normally costs, though.
The staff was nice and the parking was close by, although I was very glad to have gotten the package that included parking because it's $17 per night for self parking otherwise.
With so many other Hiltons in the area that are equally or less expensive, I'd probably choose to stay in one of the other properties and drive a little further to work.

Room Tip: It doesn't seem to be worth the extra money to pay for the executive level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahB0Barah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    360
    175
    60
    28
See reviews for
223
158
77
469
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, MI
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I arrived around noon for a room that wasn't reserved until 4PM. The front desk clerk was extremely courteous and immediately granted me a card to the executive lounge, inviting me to wait in comfort until a room could be made ready for me. She had three other early check-in requests and smiled at everyone while answering the phone and balancing multiple demands. When I emerged from the lounge 45 minutes later, she remembered me and had a room waiting. It met all my special likes (away from elevator, quiet, etc.).

Room Tip: The higher levels are probably the quietest. I strongly recommend you're careful with your Metro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank professordoctormom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Visiting establishment while attending a wedding. 100% occupancy but everything runs smoothly from front desk to GREAT hot buffet. Nothing spared to make u feel special. Soft towels, cool sheets and was afraid to ask for anything because they always say yes!

Room Tip: Be prepared to wait for busy elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhlref1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Hilton was in a very pleasant and walkable part of town with plenty of restaurants and shops within a couple blocks and it sits right on top of the Ballston Metro station so the entire city is easy to get to. The hotel itself was very clean, well appointed and quiet. The staff were top notch and the breakfast at the hotel, while typically expensive, was one of the better hotel breakfast meals I have ever had. If you are in town to work with the National Science Foundation I can't imagine a better place to stay - it is connected to the NSF building by an elevated walkway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HealthyEaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streetsboro, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The enterance to the Metro was so easy. We also enjoyed sitting outside in the lounge area since the weather was so very nice. It was close to the malls and restaurants. All within walking distance. The only thing that I had a problem with is that if you are not a Hilton Honors high point member, you have to pay $10.75 a day for internet service. Since we stay at quite a few hotels every year, this is the VERY FIRST one that I had to pay for internet service. Since they are a high price hotel in the area, you would think that internet service would be free. You also have to pay $17.00 a day for parking. Another thing is that you could not use the excercise room unless you were an Honors high point member,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The location atop the Ballston Metro station could not be more convenient unless it was in the tunnels themselves. Allows for excellent access to all points in DC/NoVA. While the bed and pillows were excellent, we had a few issues that a Hilton level property shouldn't have. 1. Bathroom door hinges were so loose that you had to lift the door in order to get it to hinge properly. 2. The A/C unit is from 1978 and is of a style that you would expect in a Motel 6 and when it clicks on, it sounds like a F-18 from the deck of the USS Enterprise. 3. We paid for a club level room on the seventh floor which overlooked IHOP...really, really noisy at 0200-0300 when the bars let out and all the drunkards decide to get pancakes. Ask for a room on the west side of the building to avoid this.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougB1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NM
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Hilton Arlington is downtown Arlington which makes it convenient to a number of private and government facilities. It is connected via skyway (2nd floor) to the Ballston Mall, which is a reasonably sized mall w/fairly good selection of restaurants. The room was nice (6th floor, HHonors floor); nice soap, shampoo, etc. Cost was $226 (govt per diem rate). Parking is $17/day; not too bad for the area. The Metro station is literally in the basement & that's probably the way to go. No breakfast (might be coffee). A small restaurant/bar that didn't seem to be getting much action. I walked to the Clarendon area for dinner (~1 mile) which opens up lots of possibilities.

Room Tip: I was on the Fairfax side (high traffic) but didn't have any issues w/traffic noise on the 6th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMBomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Arlington
Hyatt Arlington
#10 of 51 in Arlington
1,689 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Arlington/Courthouse Plaza
0.2 mi away
The Westin Arlington Gateway
The Westin Arlington Gateway
#24 of 51 in Arlington
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Ballston
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Arlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Arlington

Property: Hilton Arlington
Address: 950 N Stafford St, Arlington, VA 22203-1813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#22 Business Hotel in Arlington
#24 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Arlington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the upscale Ballston community, the Hilton Arlington Virginia is adjacent to the Metro and minutes from downtown Washington DC. Walking distance to shopping, nightlife and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Arlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Arlington Hotel Arlington
Hilton Hotel Arlington
Arlington Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing