We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rate, depressing stay”
Review of Econo Lodge Metro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Metro
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Good rate, depressing stay”
Reviewed October 22, 2006

While it's hard to beat the nightly rate, I was unimpressed by this hotel and won't stay here again. The room was clean enough, but small and the walls were thin. Clearly a hotel meant for those with cars. Unfortunately, I'd taken a cab from downtown, so my mobility was limited. Food options were extremely limited as well (unless you count the vending machine) and there's nothing really within walking distance.

Guess I got what I paid for!

  • Stayed March 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank awelch2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    141
    40
    8
    3
See reviews for
114
78
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elkton Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2006

This was a great hotel. It was very clean, and the staff was polite. They helped to make our entire vacation perfect.

Positives:
Clean
Soft beds
Friendly staff
Muffins, Cereal, toast, and juice for breakfast
Close to metro (essential for DC travel)

Negatives:
TV volume was set very low, could not hear it.

  • Liked — Location to metro
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emily8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2006

I spent hours looking for a decent Hotel room near DC and adjacent to the Metro. This was a very good choice. Our room was clean and well worth the money. The management takes pride in their business and it shows. I would recommend this location to anyone who is touring DC. The East Falls Church Metro station is about 1/4 mile away from the front door. You walk through a nice neigborhood to the station. There are several restaurants, gas stations and other businesses in the area of the hotel. Falls Church is a bit confusing for a unfamiliar driver but it is easy to figure out.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WildcatfFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2006

Just back from 4 nights at the EconoLodge as part of a 1 month USA family trip (2 adults and 2 children aged 9 and 12). This hotel lived right up to expectation. The rooms were not overly large but perfectly clean and comfortable. The location was quiet and the neighbourhood very safe, no hesitation walking around at night. Big bonus was proximity to the Metro, an easy walk even with luggage (we took it into the city and then via Amtrack to NYC).
The staff were very helpful, quick to get out the maps and give sightseeing and local advice that was useful. Free breakfast was great, served in the lobby to take back to your room. Free computer internet access was a bonus also.
In summary a little way out of DC but VERY convenient and user friendly representing great value and an excellent base for a holiday in the region.
Note that when using the metro the stationmasters are EXCELLENT value. Don't hesitate to ask for advice on ticketing (they will personally help you with the vending machines), timetables, fares or even to use the bathroom (some stations have them, locked and the s/master helps out with the key).

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cellmate2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ballston
Comfort Inn Ballston
#25 of 51 in Arlington
442 reviews
6.2 mi away
Americana Hotel
Americana Hotel
#21 of 51 in Arlington
1,362 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Inns Of Virginia Arlington
Inns Of Virginia Arlington
#40 of 51 in Arlington
199 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Pentagon Hotel - Reagan Airport
4.6 mi away
Inn of Rosslyn
Inn of Rosslyn
#43 of 51 in Arlington
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Metro

Property: Econo Lodge Metro
Address: 6800 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22213-1003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Arlington
#30 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Metro 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Metro Hotel Arlington
Metro Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Arlington
Arlington Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing