We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
SanDiego
Level Contributor
156 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

I gave this a four star but it really should be a 3 1/2. Skydome restaurant is incredible. It turns. I arrived on a Sunday evening and most things are closed. I walked a bout 1/2,mile and found really good restaurants. Are at Good Food. Ted's Montana is also there and McCormick and Schmidt. I took the Metro from National. No problem. It is an eight minute walk. You get off at Pentagon City, go up escalator and turn right. Go thru construction for two blocks, turn left and follow path. Look for Verizon trucks then turn right to entrance. Go up escalator to lower lobby to check in. Rooms are okay. Must use your key to operate elevators. They do have shuttle that runs every half hour. Great shops within five minutes of walking. I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ElmoSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dori F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for posting your review. I appreciate the rounding up and I am so glad that you enjoyed the unique venue that is the Skydome. There are some really nice dining options in Crystal City for those that choose to dine outside the hotel. I am glad you found some to your liking.

I appreciate your detailed directions from the Metro Station and the reminder to use your room key for access to guest floors. It is nice to have the option of taking that quick walk or getting on the complimentary shuttle which loops through every half hour.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon. Our goal is to have each guest leave happy and wanting to return so it is rewarding to read that this was met with you. . As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time -

Dori Familiant
General Manager
703-416-3801
dori.familiant@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    881
    516
    230
    133
See reviews for
768
434
182
1,019
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St.Louis, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Doubletree has excellent access to DC (National airport and the nearest Metro station) and all the sights. The property is aging, but the staff maintain it to a high level. Pricing was reasonable on a comparative basis with other Hotels in the area. I would recommend it for a trip to DC for leisure or business.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dori F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review. Many of our guests really enjoy our proximity to the main attractions that bring tourists to DC. The Metro makes it so simple to get in to Washington DC and having the option of walking or taking the complimentary shuttle to the Metro Station is a big convenience for our guests. It is nice to read that you found our location to be convenient for your needs.

We are looking forward to finishing our rooms remodel project soon, but appreciate that you notice how hard the staff works to maintain what is in our control. Thank you again for your review and for your recommendation. We hope to welcome you back soon. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time -

Dori Familiant
General Manager
703-416-3801
dori.familiant@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This was our family's first visit to the Washington, DC area and our first stay at DoubleTree. We were impressed with the warm greeting and ready to assist attitude of the staff. Through out our stay they were able to help us with directions and information about the area. The room was exceptionally clean, as was the entire facility. We will definitely be looking for DoubleTree as we plan our future vacations.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dori F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review. It is rewarding to read that you experienced a friendly welcome with a smiling staff. It is one of our top priorities to make a great first impression so it is nice to read that was your experience. Of course, step two to that plan is to carry that same attitude throughout the guest's stay so again it is great to read this occurred.

The housekeeping department will enjoy reading about how clean you found the hotel to be as they work very hard to make this happen for each guest. Our ultimate goal is to have each guest leave happy and wanting to return and I am glad you would allow us to welcome you back should you return to the area.

Thank you again for your review and for choosing to stay with us. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time -

Dori Familiant
General Manager
703-416-3801
dori.familiant@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2014

By invitation of the Recovering Warrior Task Force, I attended the meeting held at your facility. The lack of breakfast accommodations, was a disappointment, as no breakfast was included with the room rate. I don't know if this was a cost of $10, or a loss of $10 profit to your management... but, I am disinclined to stay on my next trip to pentagon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dori F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We have a great relationship with the Recovering Warrior Task Force and host many of their programs. I am sorry the lack of a breakfast in our standard rate upset you. We do have rate options that include breakfast at a discounted rate so please be sure to look into this option should you return. I hope that the remainder of your stay was a positive one.

Thank you again for your review and we would love to welcome you back. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time -

Dori Familiant
General Manager
703-416-3801
dori.familiant@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Confused by the Metro and tried from my journey I miss calculated the location; on foot with my luggage I got lost and had to call Hotel reception repeatedly for directions!.. They were patient and it is this I really appreciated. Once in the room (A Frig!! Hooray!!) and its location with everything I needed within walking distance, grocery store, exceptional shopping mall, Pentagon Metro station (2nd Hooray!!!) All was good!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Thea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dori F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you got turned around on the Metro and ended up with a long frustrating walk. Your comments on the helpfulness of the hotel operator is appreciated. It is very nice to read that you had a positive stay and found our location to be convenient for your needs. We are fortunate to be located so close to many shops, restaurants, the Metro, Airport, Pentagon, and Washington DC.

Thank you again for your two "Hooray" review and we hope you return soon. We will work just as hard to exceed your expectations. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time -

Dori Familiant
General Manager
703-416-3801
dori.familiant@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Grove
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I have been a Hilton Honors card holder for many,many years and have stayed at this brands hotels all over the USA,but this place is a BIG disapointment! Many issues and excuses and this hotel has issues with the whole building and staff! The ONLY bright spot was the pool attendant who was so polite,helpfull and went beyond in doing his job,watching him as a business owner I could see that....Back to the nightmare! Checked in went to room turned on a/c to cool room down and came back 3 hours later to a hot room! Pulled covers back to relax while I called to the front desk and there was a mans hankerchief tucked behind the pillow!!! This was GROSS(I think we all can assume all the linens were recycled and NOT changed,JUST SICKENING!) and made for interesting conversation once the manager answered the phone(NOT) I had to go down to desk as the managers hide in the back room doing who knows what!!! I requested to change room as the engineer said this was broken and he could not fix it now??? So off to a new room,losing my view of Potomac and Washington...Went out after that change and came back 4 hours later to a HOT room where the a/c was turned to 60 degrees???? Pulled pillows to look to see what shape they were in and there was make-up all over the 4 pillow cases....ENOUGH was ENOUGH........ Went to manager and she heard the whole story,saga of my two day nightmare so far,she put me in suite with a/c and clean sheets......This was a nice room so if your staying here demand clean sheets and cold a/c because your NOT going to get any of this,even if your a loyal Honors member.......I should have stayed at the OMNI hotel over in D.C,it was $400 and night but they treat you like royalty!!!! AVOID this hole,needs complete re-vamp.........(except pool guy)

Room Tip: Stay at Omni,rooms are better @$400 night than suites here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dori F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. While we strive to be #1 on a lot of lists, that is not one that we are proud to be #1 at. I am so sorry we offered you such a poor stay experience.

I appreciate that you took the time to recognize the lifeguard and glad he was helpful to you. While I can understand your assumption and apologize that the handkerchief was there, I can assure you that after check out all linens are washed. Our managers talk to guests very often and there would be no reason to be in the hospitality business if any were hiding from guests. There is work that is needed to be done and some of it is needed to be done in the back office area.

The Director of Housekeeping is aware of your challenges and has looked into why this occurred. It is our goal to ensure this type of experience is not repeated. Edita, the Manager you spoke with, mentioned that you accepted some compensation the first night as an apology, but did not want anything the second night. While our goal is to ensure everything goes smoothly during the stay we do understand challenges happen and really try to make it right. I am sorry we let you down and hope you return so we can work hard to climb up your list of hotels.

Thank you again for your review and once again I am truly sorry that we did not offer you a typical guest experience. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time -

Dori Familiant
General Manager
703-416-3801
dori.familiant@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Had two meals at two different restaurants during our stay. First night resulted in a 45 minute wait from ordering to seeing our meals delivered with no explanation of the delay until the food was delivered. Food order was incorrect. Same horrible service at brunch on the last day. Get your act together, Doubletree.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Hakin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dori F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review. It is disappointing to read that you had these poor experiences in our restaurants. I was glad to see that 50% off your bill was offered and accepted as an apology, but sorry that you had these challenges. The Director of Food & Beverage is looking into what happened to ensure it is not repeated. I would be interested to learn more details as to what upset you with the brunch. We had so many positive comments about it from other members of your reunion (one mentioned it in a TripAdvisor post), but I apologize that you had a poor dining experience. I do hope that being you did not mention any other aspects of your stay that means they were positive.

Thank you again for your review and once again I am sorry that we let you down. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time -

Dori Familiant
General Manager
703-416-3801
dori.familiant@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
0.5 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
0.4 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#14 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
Address: 300 Army Navy Dr, Arlington, VA 22202-2891
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Arlington
#23 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#28 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel minutes from Ronald Reagan National Airport and located across the Potomac from Washington D.C. just two blocks from the Pentagon and Fashion Centre Shopping Mall. Houses the areas only revolving rooftop restaurant and lounge featuring views of the DC skyline. Amenities include luxurious guest rooms and suites with high speed internet access, fitness center, indoor heated pool, lobby bar, cafe, and fine dining restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton - Washington Dc - Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Doubletree Hotel Arlington
Doubletree Crystal City National Airport
Doubletree Hotel Crystal City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing