We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great price with easy access to DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Arlington
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great price with easy access to DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Mt family and I stayed here while visiting DC. The price was great even the added $26/day for parking. Very nice hotel located close to the Metro. Wish WiFi was free and don't understand why not offered free. Did get one night free as Hilton Honors member but in today's electronic world this shouldn't be a big cost burden on the hotel. Otherwise, great place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dori F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for the time you took to post a review. It is nice to read that you found value in staying with us. I will pass your suggestion for complimentary wifi to Hilton Worldwide as the decision has been made to charge for WiFi in all full service hotels (Doubletree, Embassy Suites, and Hilton Hotels). This is the same decision that most major hotel chains have made (Marriott, Sheraton, Hyatt, etc) as they too charge for guest room WiFi. However, we do offer this complimentary in our lobby, Lobby Bar, and business center. We also offer rate packages that include guest room WiFi. I am glad to read that your overall stay experience was a positive one.

Thank you again for your review and for choosing to stay with us. We hope you return soon so we can work hard to exceed your expectations. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time -

Dori Familiant
General Manager
703-416-3801
dori.familiant@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    798
    473
    214
    123
See reviews for
668
376
165
887
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed here 3 nights last weekend. We're Hilton Honors members and were offered an upgrade to a junior suite. On the positive side; staff was wonderful, everyone we spoke to was very pleasant and helpful including the housekeeping staff. Breakfast buffet or continental had good choices and the food was good. Servers were pleasant and efficient. The bar service was good too. On the negative side we went to the Sky Dome on Friday night and were told about the $10 cover charge; I think that should be waived for hotel guests and Hilton Honors members. Also the fabric on the chair in the kitchen part of the suite was badly stained and should be cleaned or replaced. (room 1158 south tower) And there was no information on accessing wi-fi in the room; the directory said a card should be on the desk but it was not. This info. should be in your directory about hotel services.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cate52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dori F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for posting your review. We try to offer upgrades when available to Hilton Honors members and I am glad we could do this for you. Our staff works hard to offer a positive experience to all of our guests so I sincerely appreciate you recognizing their efforts. It is also nice to read that you enjoyed your breakfast and bar experience.

Your suggestion of waiving the cover charge is very much appreciated. This is something we will discuss. Please keep in mind that the cover charge only applies on Friday and Saturday evenings after 10pm. Thank you for identifying your suite number so the Director of Housekeeping can follow up on the stained chair. My apologies this was not corrected prior to your stay.

There should have been some information on the wifi and again, I am sorry this was not there. The reason most hotels print this separately from the guest information booklet is because the wifi information changes from time to time and the wifi instructional card can then be changed without having to reprint the entire information booklet. I am sorry this was missing from your room.

Thank you again for your review and for choosing to stay with us. We hope you return soon. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time -

Dori Familiant
General Manager
703-416-3801
dori.familiant@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed here two nights in the middle of the cherry blossom festival. We didn't realize it until the next morning but the room had only be partly cleaned and we had not received bath towels and a few minor things. In the morning we called for towels and coffee packets for the in-room machine and were brought other things. So we asked again and they got it right the second time. We left a note for the front desk manager that morning letting her/him know the room had not been fully cleaned/stocked. When we got back that evening...still not fully cleaned and old hand towel still hanging....Let the manager know the next morning and she gave us one free night as compensation. I could have requested more, but it wasn't that big of a deal. We all make mistakes and I just appreciated Hilton making it right.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iownit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dori F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. While I am sorry we initially let you down, I am so glad it was corrected. We really prefer to hear of any mishaps during a guest's stay so we have an opportunity to make it right. Thank you for letting us do this for you. I am glad the manager offered compensation for the challenge and that you went on to have a nice stay experience.

Thank you again for your review and for choosing to stay with us. We hope you return soon. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time -

Dori Familiant
General Manager
703-416-3801
dori.familiant@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Although the hotel offers most of the amenities, it is highly over priced and too far from the nearby restaurants etc. It's not for average person unfortunately. The management should at least think that they should make some changes in the business lunch - they should not offer EXACTLY the same sandwich for three consecutive days - very unfortunate and distasteful!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Pradeep B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dori F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for choosing to post your review. I am sorry that you did not find a good value in your stay. We do have restaurants within a three block walk from the hotel (7-10 minute walk). Also our shuttle drops at the Pentagon City Fashion Centre Mall and that has a very large food court in it as well as there being restaurants located across the street. However, I am sorry that you did not find what you were looking for.

In your review, it is not clear where you were dining for lunch, but it appears that perhaps you were in a meeting. If that is the case, the person that planned your meeting would have picked the lunch available to the group ahead of time. We have many options to choose from, but of course only serve what was agreed upon with the group coordinator. In our Cafe and in the Made Market, we have many options to choose from on the menu. Again, it was not clear what you meant about only having one option each day, but I welcome you to clarify this.

Thank you again for your review and I am sorry that you left disappointed. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time -

Dori Familiant
General Manager
703-416-3801
dori.familiant@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We only stayed here for a short 5 hours because we had to stop some where to sleep because we were tired had a long drive ahead of us. But the staff was extremely helpful, check in was quick, the room was very clean and it served its purpose for the short 5 hours we slept there. I really like the view from our room and the restaurant in the lobby. I think we were on the 11th floor and we could see the pentagon from our room. I wish I stayed could have stayed longer and got to do some sight seeing a little more. If I ever plan to go to Washington, DC again then I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lydia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dori F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. It is nice to read that your short stay was a positive experience. I appreciate you mentioning the helpfulness of the staff. The front desk team works hard to offer a quick check in to all of our guests as they know how important this is.

We are fortunate to be in a location that can allows us to offer unobstructed views of Washington DC from many of our rooms. I am glad you were able to stay in and enjoy a view room.

Thank you again for your review and we hope you return soon. We would really like to welcome you back for a longer stay and please know that we will work hard to exceed your expectations. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time -

Dori Familiant
General Manager
703-416-3801
dori.familiant@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Perfect location. Good hotel. Very disappointing service. The sofabed had dirty linens from previous stay. We tried to order new linens. Had to call 5 times (literally!) and wait for 2 hours at night. Next day after the cleaning we had no towels in the bathroom. Called twice, waited for an hour before we got any. And so on. Not very friendly service in the breakfast cafe. Nothing too wrong, just not friendly and welcoming. And so on with the service. It was really annoying. For Hilton hotels, it was an upset. Will not stay again because of the service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank ActiveFamilyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dori F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. It is so disappointing to read that our service let you down. We understand that service can make the difference and strive to have this be a positive impact on our guests' experience, not a negative one. I am looking into why your calls/requests were not handled in a timely manner as this is unacceptable.

Thank you again for your review and I truly am sorry we let you down. I am going to reach out to you directly to see if you will reconsider your decision not to return as this is not typical of a guest experience. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time -

Dori Familiant
General Manager
703-416-3801
dori.familiant@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

My bathroom had a leak from the ceiling around 2:30AM which made me move rooms. The hotel did NOT credit me the one night stay. The entire experience was terrible. I bet Marriott hotels would of treated me better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dori F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am terribly sorry that a leak disturbed your stay. It is quite frustrating when something like this happens unexpectedly and even more so when it is in the middle of the night. Once again I apologize to you for the disruption.

In looking at your reservation, I see that due to the leak, you were changed from a standard room to our Presidential Suite with a balcony overlooking Washington DC. I wish you had let us know that this upgrade was not acceptable for you and you preferred another form of compensation.

I can not speak to what the Marriott would have offered, but it is not uncommon for a hotel to offer an upgrade for a challenge such as a leak. Thank you again for your review and for choosing to stay with us. We hope you choose to return. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time -

Dori Familiant
General Manager
703-416-3801
dori.familiant@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.5 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,053 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
0.4 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#13 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
Address: 300 Army Navy Dr, Arlington, VA 22202-2891
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Arlington
#23 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#28 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel minutes from Ronald Reagan National Airport and located across the Potomac from Washington D.C. just two blocks from the Pentagon and Fashion Centre Shopping Mall. Houses the areas only revolving rooftop restaurant and lounge featuring views of the DC skyline. Amenities include luxurious guest rooms and suites with high speed internet access, fitness center, indoor heated pool, lobby bar, cafe, and fine dining restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton - Washington Dc - Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Doubletree Hotel Arlington
Doubletree Crystal City National Airport
Doubletree Hotel Crystal City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing