We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but in need of updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location but in need of updating”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Although I have stayed at this location a number of times due to its proximity to everything I need in the Arlington and DC areas I will probably not stay here again until major updates are made particularly to the rooms. I reserved a 2 room suite however was completely underwhelmed with the accomodations. Only one chair to sit on in the living room even though there was a wet bar and tv on the wall. If I had guests there would have been nothing for them to sit on. A lot of wasted space. Private Balcony was open to other room's balcony. Jeoporadized any security. And rug was worn and very dirty!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Kitty2267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Feldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate you staying with us and I am sorry that you were disappointed with your suite. I appreciate your suggestion for more seating and we will look into this. Many guests appreciate the open space and prefer that over it being cluttered with furniture. However, I am sorry this was not the case for you. There is a separation on the balcony between the two suites, but my apologies that you did not feel safe.

Thank you again for your review and I hope you reconsider your decision not to return. We have many other room types that you may be more satisfied with. I invite anyone reading my responses to contact Kevin Feldman at 703-416-3835 and kevin.feldman@hilton.com He will be glad to assist in anyway he can.

Happy travels -

Dori Familiant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    881
    516
    230
    133
See reviews for
768
433
182
1,018
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Have been staying in this Hotel for the past 5 yrs. Their Service has been top notch. Their staff has always goon above and beyond to make sure my needs have been taken care of. This mentality is bread straight from their GM. The first day I met him, was during a one of the very few times i had an issue with my room. He stepped into the elevator while I was on the way back to my room and asked how my stay was going.. told him I had a small problem with my room. He insisted that I show him personally. He immediately called down to the front desk and had me moved to a new room. He didn't know I was a regular their at the time. This showed me that his level of dedication to every last one of the guests staying at his hotel was beyond reproach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koink77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Feldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. We appreciate you choosing to make the Doubletree your choice hotel when visiting the Washington DC area. It is rewarding to read your comments on the staff as they work very hard to offer a positive experience to all of our guests.

It was a pleasure meeting you and I am so glad to have been in the right place at the right time. Challenges pop up from time to time, but it is often the response to the challenge that our guests remember rather than the challenge itself. While I am sorry for the challenge you experienced, I am glad we could change your room and offer you a fantastic stay experience.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your next visit. We will work just as hard to exceed your expectations. I invite anyone reading my responses to contact Kevin Feldman at 703-416-3835 and kevin.feldman@hilton.com He will be glad to assist in anyway he can.

Happy travels -

Dori Familiant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was in a good location for our participation in the Marine Corps Marathon. We had a nice stay with no problems. The staff was very helpful, and the pre-race pasta buffet a tasty and convenient option.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Feldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We really enjoy welcoming back the Marine Corp Marathon participants and spectators year after year. It is nice to read that you found our location to be convenient. We put out the pre-race pasta buffet each year and receive great feedback on it. I am glad to read that you too enjoyed it. Your comment on the staff is appreciated as they work hard to offer top service to each of our guests.

Thank you again for your review and we hope you return so stay with us again. We will work just as hard to exceed your expectations. I invite anyone reading my responses to contact Kevin Feldman at 703-416-3835 and kevin.feldman@hilton.com He will be glad to assist in anyway he can.

Happy travels -

Dori Familiant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The price is very reasonable for this type of hotel. It is in a good location. You can take a TAXI $8 to go to the national mall. Also, bars, mall, and restaurants are about 5-10 minutes walk. Waling at night is very safe in that area.

Room Tip: Try to find a room that faces the national mall. You will enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twahibell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Feldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing to post your review and for staying with us. We are fortunate to be in a location that is convenient to Reagan Airport, the Metro, and Washington DC. I am glad our location fit your needs. While we really hope our guests enjoy the Skydome, our guests appreciate having options in the area.

Thank you again for your review and we hope you return soon. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact Kevin Feldman at 703-416-3846 and kevin.feldman@hilton.com He will be happy to assist in anyway he can.

Happy travels -

Dori Familiant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linneus, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2013

It was an unexpected and unplanned stay but I was very happy with the accommodations.. Clean and comfortable room, close to the airport, reasonably priced, very good breakfast, friendly staff. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Katherine M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Feldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing to post your review. It is nice to read that your unplanned stay went so well. I appreciate you mentioning your clean room and that you enjoyed your breakfast. The staff works hard to offer each guest this experience so I am happy to read you had a positive stay.

Thank you again for your review and choosing to stay with us. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact Kevin Feldman at 703-416-3846 and kevin.feldman@hilton.com He will be happy to assist in anyway he can.

Happy travels -

Dori Familiant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Not the experience we have come to expect from DoubleTree or the HH chain. Several issues: no Wifi, poor condition of hotel, and no knowledgeable hotel staff. Mostly attention to detail items, but there were so many shortcomings. There was no information about the city in the hotel room. (Something I would expect as a matter of pride for the Nation's capitol). I really feel that they could have done a MUCH better job. Not the level of service, comfort, or experience we have come to expect from this hotel chain.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Melody D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Feldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am very sorry that you are disappointed in your stay. We do have wifi available in all of our suites for a charge and complimentary in the lobby/ Lobby Bar. There is also a complimentary business center. I am sorry you thought there was not wifi available.

I hope the readers of this review will read the many recent reviews to realize this is not typical of a guest experience. The majority of our guests leave with positive thoughts and comments about the staff, but I am sorry this was not your experience.

In each room is a Where Magazine. This magazine has a Metro map, multiple maps of DC, and lists just about every DC/Northern VA attraction (and closest Metro Stop). It also lists the many places to dine. My apologies to you that one was not in your room. This was an oversight and the Director of Housekeeping will speak to his staff to ensure it is not repeated.

Thank you again for your review and one again I am sorry we let you down. We hope you return so we can show you that your experience is far from the norm. The large majority of our guests leave happy and wanting to return. I invite anyone reading my responses to contact Kevin Feldman at kevin.feldman@hilton.com and 703-416-3846. He will assist in anyway he can.

Happy travels -

Dori Familiant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambler, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had a wonderful experience staying at the Double Tree Hotel in Crystal City, DC. The staff was very professional, courteous, respectful and helpful. The facility was spot on with modern décor, comfortable seating and spacious accommodations. I give them my strongest recommendation and plan on returning for further trips.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Henry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Feldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. It is nice to read that you had a very positive experience when you stayed with us. It is rewarding to read your comments about the staff as they work very hard to give that exact experience to all of our guests.

The feedback on our recently renovated lobby and public space has been very positive. So many of our guests really enjoy the many options to sit and relax. It is a great area to meet up with family, coworkers, getting a bite to eat, or just to relax outside of the hotel room.

Thank you again for your review and your recommendation. We hope you return soon and please know we will work just as hard to exceed your expectations. I invite anyone reading my responses to contact Kevin Feldman at kevin.feldman@hilton.com and 703-416-3846. He will assist in anyway he can.

Happy travels -

Dori Familiant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
0.5 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
0.4 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#14 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
Address: 300 Army Navy Dr, Arlington, VA 22202-2891
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Arlington
#23 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#28 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel minutes from Ronald Reagan National Airport and located across the Potomac from Washington D.C. just two blocks from the Pentagon and Fashion Centre Shopping Mall. Houses the areas only revolving rooftop restaurant and lounge featuring views of the DC skyline. Amenities include luxurious guest rooms and suites with high speed internet access, fitness center, indoor heated pool, lobby bar, cafe, and fine dining restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton - Washington Dc - Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Doubletree Hotel Arlington
Doubletree Crystal City National Airport
Doubletree Hotel Crystal City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing