We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed in a one bedroom suite and couldn't have been happier. The service from check in to check out was excellent. Very prompt room service and great views of the DC area. Close proximity to attractions and shuttle service also. The staff was extremely friendly and offered great advice to surrounding restaurants. The room was perfect and the bed was so comfortable I didn’t want to get up. The Sky Lounge is a must with great panoramic views of the city. Overall A+++

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Feldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am really glad to read that you had such a great experience. The suites are very comfortable so it great that you got to enjoy that room type. I appreciate you mentioning the top notch service you received as our staff works very hard to make exceed each guests' expectation.

I agree that all guests should go and experience the Skydome Restaurant/Lounge as the views of DC are unbeatable. We are honored to be given the grade of an A++++.

Thank you again for the review and as always I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

Happy travels -

Kevin B. Feldman
703-416-3846
kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    808
    479
    215
    124
See reviews for
684
391
167
905
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevensville
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the un-renovated North Tower for the view (which was great). Though the rooms were a little dated I appreciated being given the option to chose between the view and the renovated rooms. The layout was a little bizarre in the lobby area and getting to the parking/shuttle area. Very much appreciated the free, every 15 minute shuttle from the hotel to DCA. Had room service-food was good. Was given late check out option because of my late flight out of DC. Overall, great experience.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Terri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Feldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for your review. I appreciate that you mentioned the rooms in the North Tower as the connotation that goes with "un-renovated" is negative, when in actuality so many guests enjoy the North Tower rooms; especially the view rooms. I am glad this was your experience as well.

I am not sure what you found bizarre about the lobby, but welcome any suggestions or feedback you may have. You are correct, the airport shuttles sure make it convenient to get to/from Reagan Airport. We also offer a shuttle to the Metro, but many guests prefer the quick 3 block walk (7-10 minutes).

Thank you again for the review and I am glad you had a positive experience. We hope you return so we can work hard to continue to exceed your expectations. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

Happy travels -

Kevin B. Feldman
703-416-3846
kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Pros: 
- Airport shuttle, close to airport
- Large room
- Close to mall
- Decent gym

Cons:
- Older hotel
- Safety/security issue with balcony

This hotel is located within a couple miles of the airport, so the shuttle ride is about 5-10 minutes.  There is also a shuttle that goes to the mall, so there are plenty of food options.  The shuttle is shared with Embassy Suites, but it doesn't cause any inconvenience.  I found the room to be somewhat dated, but very large, and it had a nice view from the large balcony.  The downside of the balcony, however, is that it's shared with the room beside you.  The sliding doors have a pretty flimsy lock that probably could be opened from outside without a lot of effort.  This certainly did not give me the best feeling of security while in the room. Overall, it's a decent airport hotel and I would stay there again, but no balcony room.

Room Tip: No balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mustangcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Feldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the complimentary shuttles as it is a favorite amenity of our guests. Also having the option to walk to the Metro/Mall due to it being only 3 blocks away (7-10 minute walk) is nice.

I am unaware of any security challenges with the sliding doors to the balcony, but will pass on your concerns to the Director of Security. I appreciate you sharing this. The balcony rooms are adjoining rooms so there is the option to rent out both if you would like to enjoy an extra long balcony. We have many suites with a balcony that have been recently updated, but I am sorry if you did not get one of these. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the size of your suite. Luckily we have many room types so if a balcony suite is not for you there are many other options.

Thank you again for the review and as always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

Happy travels -

Kevin B. Feldman
703-416-3846
kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
390 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is a very convenient hotel for the airport and has the benefit of shuttles to the airport as well as to Pentagon City metro station. The lobby looks great but my room was quite shabby and overdue for renovation.

Also the hotel closed their pool for renovation without making this clear when I booked, which was a huge disappointment.

The price I paid was very good for a Washington hotel, and staff certainly were very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Feldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad you found the location of the hotel to be convenient for your needs. The complimentary shuttles definitely make getting around much easier.

I am sorry that you were disappointed in your room accommodations. We do have many rooms that were recently renovated and there is a plan to complete the rest of them. I do hope you will contact me directly so I can be sure that if you return you are given a more recently updated room. Many of our guests really enjoy the rooms even though they have not been renovated yet, but I am sorry that was not your experience. I do want to let you and other readers know that the engineering team is going through each one of the rooms that have not yet been renovated to update them as much as possible until the formal renovation begins in 2014.

Actually, the pool was not closed due to renovation. It was a needed repair and once we found out, we did post a note on our website to alert as many guests as we could. I am sorry that you were disappointed about the pool being closed. I appreciate you mentioning the helpfulness of the staff. We work hard to exceed all of our guests' expectations.

Thank you again for the review and we hope you return soon. I invite anyone to contact me anytime.

Happy travels -

Kevin B. Feldman
703-416-3846
kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

It is a big hotel but very quiet. My room was huge. Everything was ok. Clean, wifi access, comfortable bed, a/c perfect.It is located close to Pentagon Mall and Ronald Reagan airport. They have shuttle to take you to the mall and the airport.It is a good advantage.I did not eat there.

Room Tip: higher floors you can have the view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giselledbueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Feldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. This time of year in the DC area is much quieter. If you are interested in seeing it a little noisier/busier please come back in April to have a different kind of experience. However, we work hard to offer our guests quiet accommodations so no one is disturbed and gets a good night's sleep.

Also keep in mind that even though the hotel is quieter this time of year the Skydome remains busy on most nights. I recommend all of our guests go up there to experience the truly unique atmosphere.

Thank you again for your review and we hope you return soon. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

Happy travels -

Kevin B. Feldman
703-416-3846
kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Full disclosure: got a $69+tax rate on name your own on Priceline. Nice staff. Free parking. Bathroom was OK except that the backs of all the room doors had dirty hand and fingerprints on them. I find this problem in a lot of hotels, don't understand why housekeepers can't just give the door a wipe on their way out. There was an air purifier in the room, which combined with the old fashioned a/c room unit created a lot of noise. I shut the purifier off to sleep. I suspect it was in the room because of a mold problem. The ceiling was the dropped ceiling with tiles, all mismatched, some falling, some damaged, some waterstained and moldy looking. Furniture was careworn but bed was comfortable. Can't comment on food or drinks because I didn't engage - just stayed there for a quick overnight for local business to avoid our hellish DC traffic. I would advise against paying the advertised rates for this hotel, but for <$80 it's a fair deal, close to metro, etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank exNYfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Feldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were not happy with your room conditions. Actually the air purifier is there to help our guests that have sensitive allergies. We have many PURE rooms in the hotel and they are quite popular. The air purifier is supposed to have minimal noise and I am sorry if the one in your room was louder than it should have been. I can understand why this would disturb you.

I appreciate the suggestion on the back of the doors. While I believe that procedure is already in place with the housekeepers, I have passed your comment to the Director of Housekeeping so he can remind them not to neglect the back of the doors.

There are many parts of the hotel that were renovated as late as 2012, but I am sorry we did not get to the room you stayed in yet. I do hope you return so we can offer you a room or suite that exceeds your expectations.

Your review mentions free parking and while we do have room packages that include parking, the current charge for parking is $24.95 to self park and $29 for valet; both per day.

Thank you again for the review and for choosing to stay with us. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

Happy travels -

Kevin B. Feldman
703-416-3846
kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I was in town for a funeral and my self and my husband stayed at the Doubletree by Hilton-Washington DC-Crystal City after traveling all night we checked in at around 2:30am the staff was wonderful with accomidation us we were greeted at the door and check in was smooth as fast and best of all we were giving a delightful chocolate chip cookie to top it off i would most definatly stay again and i will be visiting soon. Thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RUDEONE72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Feldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. It is nice to read that you had a nice stay experience. We always try to have warm Doubletree cookies available for all guests, even the really late arrivals. It is a nice way to help welcome our guests to the hotel.

We hope you return soon, but for a happier reason. Thank you for the review and I am sorry for your loss. As always, I invite anyone reading my reviews to contact me anytime.

Happy travels -

Kevin B. Feldman
703-416-3846
kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.5 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#12 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
0.4 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#13 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
Address: 300 Army Navy Dr, Arlington, VA 22202-2891
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Arlington
#23 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#28 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel minutes from Ronald Reagan National Airport and located across the Potomac from Washington D.C. just two blocks from the Pentagon and Fashion Centre Shopping Mall. Houses the areas only revolving rooftop restaurant and lounge featuring views of the DC skyline. Amenities include luxurious guest rooms and suites with high speed internet access, fitness center, indoor heated pool, lobby bar, cafe, and fine dining restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton - Washington Dc - Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Doubletree Hotel Arlington
Doubletree Crystal City National Airport
Doubletree Hotel Crystal City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing