We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Acceptable given price, but not Radisson Quality” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Reagan National Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Reagan National Airport Hotel
Ranked #36 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
packerbacker04
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Acceptable given price, but not Radisson Quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

I am writing this just before I check out, and I have had a mixed experience. The room is dated but clean, and I like to stay at Radissons because of their free internet policy. The bed was also OK, and while breakfast was overpriced, it was also fine. The price was the room itself was a reasonable weekend rate. The hotel is also only a few blocks from the metro station. So so far, nothing special but I also didn't pay a mint to pay.

There were, however, three sore points. First, no one cleans up the hall after room service. There is something that has been sitting out there overnight, and the whole corridor reeks. I do not think this is an isolated problem--there were wine glasses in front of my door when I checked in that are still there when I check out.

The second was the attitude of the guy who drove the shuttle from the airport here. While that is "free," he spent the whole time switching between his private mobile and his mobile for the hotel. In fact, we sat waiting for five minutes at a turn while he chatted, and while the hotel phone complained that he had not yet arrived. When we got to the hotel, he walked off and did not help with luggage. To say the least, I did not tip him.

The third issue is relatively minor, but I booked the place in part so that I could do a morning swim. The pool was locked up.

So...worth three stars. Very average with some benefits and some rather lazy service staff. It is also nowhere near what I have experienced with Radisson in England, Sweden, or Germany. If you are European, be aware that this place should have a different name on it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank packerbacker04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    380
    203
    86
    71
See reviews for
289
172
124
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
345 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

I stayed at the Radisson Hotel Crystal City for five nights in June and had a comfortable stay. Very convenient to the Metro and Reagan National Airport. A busy, bustling area with good access to get around. Complimentary shuttle to and from Reagan National Airport. Enjoyed the SleepNumber bed and found the room to be very clean and well-kept. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willow grove
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

Stayed in this hotel from friday,to sunday,and could not find one flaw.Reception was helpful,rooms were clean,location of hotel was close to metro.I stayed with my wife 2 sons,sons girlfriend,sister-in-law and her husband,and a friend (3 rooms total,and not one complaint).Do i recommend this hotel? DEFINITIVAMENTE YES

Stayed July 2009
Helpful?
Thank jantcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

The shuttle from the airport was prompt, hotel is very close to the Reagan Airport and one of the Metro stations. Also nearby is the Crystal City Shopping Center, which is handy for fast food and run-of-the-mill shops. The Radisson is located in a large cluster of office/hotel/apartment complexes, but the area felt safe and wasn't too noisy after dark. The staff here was very helpful, especially the concierge who helped a lot when we were debating whether or not to change airports (for the return flight) and needed a cab right away. They also checked our luggage in their "luggage room" on our last day, after we'd checked out of the room but several hours before our return flight (while we were sight-seeing). They took good care of our stuff, even my husband's "baby"--his expensive laptop. The room itself was small (but not as small as the photos made it seem), yet comfortable--not confining. We got 2 double beds. It was very clean. Breakfast buffet was a bit pricey ($12 I think) but good, standard fare and I ate a lot (had to get my money's worth). Basic amenities included sleep number beds (just okay), internet access, pool, small gym/workout area, room service, gift shop, snack shop in lobby. I have to say that we got a very good deal on the price of the room, which made the hotel seem a lot nicer. We're very...thrifty. I would stay here again if I was budget traveling. But if I could afford to splurge, next time I'd stay in DC itself--closer to the monuments and museums you go there to see in the first place.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellatrix2342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2009

I stayed at Radisson for 2 days in mid-June 2009. Hotel is a convenient 5 min walk from the Metro (Crystal City). It is located between 2 busy streets, but I was not bothered by any street noise (stayed on the 5th floor). The room was clean, shower water pressure was excellent (a big thing for me). High speed internet was a little bit on the slow side and I also experienced an occasional brief loss of Internet connection, but nothing major. Lots of TV channels. No recycling bins, though. Had breakfast downstairs once - it was just OK. Overall, I was pleased with my stay and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InfrequentTraveler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

The room was very attractive and comfortable -- definitely an upscale room! It included a sleep number bed which was fun to try out. We arrived late in the evening via Metro (2 blocks away). When I called for directions, the friendly clerk said he would send a shuttle right over. We felt very pampered and were delighted with our stay. In the morning walking to the Metro was a breeze. It was a great location for touring DC. Breakfast was not included. We used the easy-to-order breakfast hang tag; our breakfast was delivered on time, hot, and tasty.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HistoryNutCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2009

The hotel prices around Washington and Arlington are high and we selected this hotel strictly on price. I wanted to stay 6 nights but it was too expensive and we settled on three nights over the weekend when the rates were cheaper. They also offered a summer deal of Friday is free. They also charge $20 for parking which adds up. There is street parking available behind the hotel which is free in the evening.
The street side rooms were a little loud so we changed rooms. We actually changed rooms four times- yes 4- in a three day stay. The second room was surrounded by 54 high school kids on a school trip running and screaming. The third room must have had a leak in the ceiling that we didn't notice but the staff noticed and asked us to move.
There is no free breakfast, or at least none on the hotels.com rate we used.
I thought Radisson was a classy chain but this was NOT a classy hotel. Most guests were business travellers or in the military (I believe the Pentagon is nearby). It was a very ordinary hotel except for the Sleepcomfort bed which was fun to try.
Therre was no computer for guest use but they let us use the one oat the Hampton Inn next door, (which looked like a nicer hotel).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amyarizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.1 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#12 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Crystal City at Washington Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Reagan National Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Reagan National Airport Hotel

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Reagan National Airport Hotel
Address: 2020 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Reagan National Airport)
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Arlington
#32 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Reagan National Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Reagan National Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Reagan National Airport
Radisson Hotel Arlington
Radisson Arlington
Arlington Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing