We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great guac, good margarita's, so-so food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guapo's Restaurant

Guapo's Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 850 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great guac, good margarita's, so-so food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I have been to Guapo's twice before and we've gotten different dishes each time. My wife ordered chicken enchiladas and I ordered fajitas for our first visit. They were good but nothing special. The guacamole and chips was by far the best part of the meal, and no other place in Arlington has duplicated their guac. Our second visit also included the guac, but I opted for cheese enchiladas and my wife got the quesadilla. Again the guac was the best part. The enchiladas were mediocre compared to those I've had elsewhere, and the guacamole that was served with the quesadilla was some soupy, mass-produced, low-quality recipe; it definitely wasn't close to their appetizer recipe. I recommend Guapo's for drinks and light snacks. The atmosphere is good with adequate service. Don't skip the guacamole & chips.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KiraandWes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    92
    31
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Some Good..Some Not”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Went on a Saturday night, was seated promptly inside. I ordered a drink which came promptly. Ordered a fresh guacamole which but for a bit too much lime was exceptional ! The salsa was also fresh and delicious. Food was only average, service was not good after the initial seating. Took 10 minutes for the other ordered drink--ordered a burito withiut meat and they brought a plain burrito with nothing in it at all--just a flour tortilla rolled up ! They did replace it when asked.
We sat inside and had to shoo away flies throughout the meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kcarbfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mexican hemmed, but not Mexican flavored”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The food was bland and not reminiscent of authentic Mexican favors.
The sangria was tasty but I had a severe headache after just half glass
The seafood soltado was soaked in a sauce and soupy... Very different to authentic soltado

This place is usually full, but I'm not sure why:(( I so wanted to like it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DenMoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Mexican Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Guapo's is our favorite Mexican restaurant. They make their own tortillas which are amazing. Their fajitas are fabulous. The quality of the meat in the steak fajitas is excellent. Their chips and salsa are also great. The chips are light and crisp and the salsa is good. Plus, the location of the restaurant can't be beat - Shirlington is perfect for date night, family outings, etc.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeanniea976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Doesn't get better than this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The food here is fantastic. From the wait staff, to the atmosphere, to when you leave, everything is great. Awesome drinks, appertizers, main meals, desserts. Have tried various items on the menu and loved all of it. Wish they had more locations in the East!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 3girls7911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guapo's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Guapo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing