We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Thai

Urban Thai
Ranked #312 of 838 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
“Good for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

It's a good place for a group lunch. It's close to our office in Crystal City. Only issue is with parking on the street, which can be difficult at times.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Spring Rolls Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I've tried just about every Thai restaurant in the metro-DC area in search of some fresh spring rolls that beat Urban Thai's jai roll. They're amazing. I usually have two (or three) orders of those as my entire meal. Don't get tricked and order the other spring rolls as happened to the people sitting next to me. Best spring rolls I've ever had!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HooGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Salad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The "Mix Green Salad" was one of the best salads I have ever had in any restaurant. The greens were fresh and crisp. The tomatoes were sweet and the dressing was delightfully light and delicious!

We stumbled on this restaurant recently when we were in Crystal City for a meeting. We were told there was a block of restaurants a short walk from our Hotel. We wandered up the street and on a whim choose Urban Thai. We we pleasantly surprised. Each time we now have a salad we compare it to the best salad we had at Urban Thai! Well done! We will be back when we are in the area!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank E_of_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Better Thai Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Two Thai Choices on 23rd Street. I prefer Urban Thai.
The food preparation just appears fresher to me and perhaps a bit more authentic.

The other one, Top Thai, is good, don't avoid it based on my words! It appears somewhat more 'Americanized'. Just my impression. Strongly suggest that you try both restaurants for yourself, and decide.

I go for the basil chicken, from the lunch menu, but for a dinner entree. The chef is very accommodating in that regard. The menu has all the traditional Thai offerings and a couple specials every time I'm in. The latest 'new favorite' is the Shrimp Bikini appetizer.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NoNumbersPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level Contributor
165 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Always reliable, hitting the spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I had a craving for Thai recently, so when a friend called out of the blue, we ended up going to Urban Thai. I always love going to this place -- the wait staff are very friendly, the service is fast, and the food is decent. Definitely a place where you can have a good working lunch. The restaurant never seems to be full, so there's room to spread out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CyrusMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Thai also viewed

 

Been to Urban Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing