We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“excellent tapas” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jaleo

Jaleo
Reserve with OpenTable
Jaleo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 850 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 23rd Street
Transit: We are a 5 minute walk from the Crystal City Metro Station, located on the Yellow and Blue Lines. To reach us, exit the Metro, go left on 18th Street, right on Crystal Drive, and walk 5 blocks to 23rd Street, finding us on the right. Or come halfway up the escalator, left into the Shops, and proceed to 23rd Street, turning left to Crystal Drive.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
181 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“excellent tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have been here several times and it has been excellent every time. Our server was friendly and informative and we were seated quickly. Virtually everything we tried (about 18 different dishes) was at least good, and some were outstanding (the marinated chicken, chicken fritters, cheese board, flamenquines). The shrimp in garlic sauce was a bit disappointing. The atmosphere was comfortable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GeneDoc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    220
    73
    34
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, VA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exceptional tapas. Front of the house needs training.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our first impression was a little rocky. We were strolling along the sidewalk about close to 11:00 AM. The posted menu was interesting. We sat down at one of the outside tables to wait until they opened. A server came outside and with no other greeting said "We're not ready. We don't open until 11:30." It was a lovely day, and we had no schedule to keep, but she lost my husband right there. We went down the street and had a Bison Burger. I couldn't get that menu out of my mind, and persuaded my husband to go back that night. The greeting that evening was a little warmer. My husband, who was already a little put out, was again put off by the prices, but after a couple of bites, he decided it was a great value. He called the Spanish black-footed, acorn-fed pig "pork butter." The tuna-potato salad was extraordinary flavor from ordinary ingredients. At first I thought we might have been a little hard on the servers, but we went to another restaurant from the same chef in DC the next day. The front and back of the house both were phenomenal.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank UltraClassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tasty Tapas, Appealing Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

I took my college age son to Jaleo as a reward for finishing the semester. While I have fairly simple food tastes in general, I was looking forward to the variety of dishes you can sample at this well known tapas restaurant. We went on a weeknight and arrived at 6:30 pm. There were only two of us and we were seated right away. However, by the time our food came, there was a wait.

We ordered dishes featuring scallops, shrimp, sausage, mushrooms and potatoes. Everything was well prepared and tasty. The service was attentive and timely. The atmosphere is very nice. Big windows, high ceilings and wonderful art work take you to Spain for the evening. My one complaint is that it is a fairly pricey meal. I think they do have happy hour deals, so you may want to stop in for drink and a tapa during this time of day.

If you like tapas and don't mind spending a few dollars, you can't go wrong with Jaleo.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KwajTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just WOW! Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Tried the chef's choice, reasonable price, had to stop counting courses. We received a meat plate, a cheese plate, bread and salad, then were brought to the main dishes, we tried everything they brought but were so full by dessert we had to stop them from bringing the second round. All the Tapas were excellent in themselves.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LuvPghPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Alright food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Went to Jaleo for late lunch and ordered the typical tapas, and we where a bit disappointed with the food. Not really authentic taste or texture, seems to be more of marketing than anything. Them place is alright but there is definitely a better Spanish restaurant in downtown DC that will blow this one out of the water.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sbconsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaleo also viewed

 

Been to Jaleo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing