We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Margaritas in the East” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Paso Cafe

El Paso Cafe
Ranked #107 of 838 Restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Spanish, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Margaritas in the East”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The food is very good, the atmosphere friendly but it's the margaritas that keep us going back time and again. El Paso has a pretty standard menu and always produces excellent quality dishes in portions large enough that we've never needed dessert. The drinks menu isn't huge but everything we've tried has been excellent, from the draught beers to the magnificent margaritas.

Best Mexican I know in Virginia.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SorenTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    38
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“still love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I had not been here for several years after moving of the country, but returned and the food is still good! The chips and salsa are great, and everything I have ever ordered has been as expected and delicious. Service is friendly and fast and prices are about average for the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kath91982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Local Place, Just What You Need”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a local spot with a small-town, small-place vibe to it. You'll like it. Servers friendly, professional & prompt. The drinks are good. It's noisy when busy, you'll have to speak with a raised voice so your dining companion can hear you, but it's not deafening like some places. Prices are about right for Arlington, not crazy Clarendon pricing. Parking is in their lot or across the street. Food: fajita was good, crispy shell beef tacos were excellent. Pork tamal app was very good. Chips & salsa, the salsa is very good.

Recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fawlcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Outstanding Tex-Mex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We've been to dozens of Tex-Mex and Mexican restaurants in the DC metro area. We love this food genre and it's definitely our preferred choice when dining out. We had heard positive reviews about El Paso Cafe from friends and co-workers. We had also heard that former President Bush (the 43rd) had visited El Paso Cafe multiple times while in Washington and said it was on par with best Tex-Mex restaurants in his native Texas.

We went to El Paso Cafe on an early Sunday afternoon in January. There were very few patrons, with only three tables occupied. The staff told us to sit anywhere we like. We chose a table with easy viewing of the two TV's on site. One TV had on the NFL playoffs, while the other had soccer on with FC Barcelona featuring Lionel Messi, so we were more than satisfied from that standpoint.

Our server came over promptly to take our order. We ordered veggie fajitas and fish tacos. Both dishes were outstanding! The fish was very tender and plentiful. The vegetables for the fajita were cooked to perfection. The rice was fantastic. I did find the black beans a tad too creamy/mushy, but that is minor. They still tasted very good as well. We also ordered a house margarita on the rocks which was tasty. The staff was very cordial and made us feel welcome. El Paso Cafe is great. We are already planning our next visit!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jontae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Consistently excellent food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I've been to this place with teachers for an afternoon happy hour, with clients for consulting dinners, with my family for celebrations and with my husband for date nights. The service is always "just enough" (not interrupting us, but always there when you need it) and even when my kids have been LOCO (not eating, overtired, spilled water) they help us to make the meal great. There is enough space between tables that you can really talk to your companions, and they make birthdays extra special. (Once they brought my friend dessert and tequila shooters). The food is great and I 2nd the pupusa vote-bean and cheese is the best. Margaritas are delicious and if they are pre-mixed, I can't tell. Last visit was apps & margs with a friend and we had a great time on a Saturday night. Great value. Close to 66 & 50.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shannon1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Paso Cafe also viewed

 

Been to El Paso Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing