We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of pie-tanza

pie-tanza
Ranked #168 of 878 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $10 - $15
Description: pie-tanza is well known for its warm, family-friendly atmosphere and authentic Italian food. We serve gourmet Neapolitan-style pizza, fresh salads, entrees, and subs all made with the finest ingredients. Enjoy a glass of wine and the warmth of our wood-fired oven as your food is prepared. Sit at the pizza counter and watch your thin crust pizzas and calzones be handmade to order with quality toppings, hand cut cheeses and fresh chopped vegetables. Join us at pie-tanza and see what your neighbors have been enjoying.
Restaurant details
Description: pie-tanza is well known for its warm, family-friendly atmosphere and authentic Italian food. We serve gourmet Neapolitan-style pizza, fresh salads, entrees, and subs all made with the finest ingredients. Enjoy a glass of wine and the warmth of our wood-fired oven as your food is prepared. Sit at the pizza counter and watch your thin crust pizzas and calzones be handmade to order with quality toppings, hand cut cheeses and fresh chopped vegetables. Join us at pie-tanza and see what your neighbors have been enjoying.
Arlington Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We go to both Pie Tanza restaurant locations frequently. Their Calzon with spinach, artichoke and rosemary chicken is our favorite with a caesar salad. It is so large you can split it or bring it home to enjoy leftovers the next day. Great family restaurant. If you want to avoid the little ones coming if after soccer/ballet/baseball/karate etc.... eat later. Food quality is consistent and delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaR2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    12
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food but a bit overpriced...”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Used to come here all the time when the kids were little. We used to trade off between here and Joe's pizza. Over the years, the prices here have gone up more than Joe's. You can't go wrong here -- good soups, salads, and pizzas.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank FinanceDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Solid, not outstanding”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were jonesing for some great authentic New York pizza, so we tried Pie Tanza. It was average. The pizza was not very hot and it was so-so. The atmosphere was chaotic and there were far too many rug-rats in the establishment. Honestly, if the kid's head is shorter than the table, get a baby sitter or use carry-out--especially on the weekends. All in all, it was pretty average. The service was good and the staff were very personable. But, in the end it is about the pie and that was average.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flyfishing76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A nice little gem in Arlington”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

A really good little pizza place in North Arlington. Wood-fired pizza done right. I had the primo pepperoni, and it was excellent. Very quiet while I was there for a late lunch. Worth the visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I am a health nut and do most of our cooking at home. We've tried lots of different restaurants in the area but Pie Tanza is our "go to" for a pleasant dinner any day of the week. Keep in mind that if you don't want to eat dinner with tons of (adorable) kids running around you should wait until after 7:30 pm. I always get the goat cheese salad with the cheese and dressing on the side. The greens are super fresh and the size is perfect for my meal. My husband gets the Margherita pizza which is also topped with very fresh ingredients including lots of fresh basil. We split 1/2 carafe of the house Pino Noir which we really enjoy too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ginny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed pie-tanza also viewed

 

Been to pie-tanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing