We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great food and great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Liberty Tavern

Liberty Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Liberty Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 850 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Irving Street
Transit: On the corner of Wilson Boulevard and Irving Street in Arlington, The Liberty Tavern is easily accessible from downtown DC, Route 66, Route 395, and is across the street from the Clarendon Metro Station.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
490 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Great food and great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is quite a hot spot neighborhood restaurant; the bar downstairs was packed. But we were seated immediately per our reservation, and the waiter was very solicitous--despite being very busy, he volunteered lots of information on the dishes and came back several times to check on us. Not a lot of decoration or atmosphere--it's more bistro-like. It was restaurant week so we had the 3-course meal--a great .

There were lots of tangy skillet roasted Pei mussels--some of the best I've had--and the Pasta Faglioli bean soup was creamy and tasty. The smoky collards and Tuscan kale with the Wild Bluefish and the Wild Board Cotechino Sausage provided unusual and savory compliments to the meal. The desserts were good but a bit standard--Almond Vanilla Cake and Triple Chocolate Cheesecake. We'll definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cfuller603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    131
    49
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ft Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
92 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Uniquely excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Several went out for a celebration dinner and every meal ordered was extremely unique. Wild boar sausage, specialty pizzas and pasta. If you like mussels they are as good as they get. The fresh homemade breads are addictive. Wine list just ok great beer selection. Service was awesome....try it and have fun.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DanTheManFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb. True Fine Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Excellent fare! Huge portions. I ordered the pork chop from the classics menu and was blown away by the balance and intensity of flavors and texture of the meat. My wife and I also had the octopus appetizer which was larger than expected and grilled to perfection. Wine selection was top notch. My only complaint was that our 2-topper didn't offer enough room for all of our courses! Make sure you order something grilled when you go.

Helpful?
Thank Keeaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Old Reliable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Had dinner with a friend Sunday, and enjoyed once more the reliably good food and attentive service. Yummy delmonico steak; they happily replaced the steak fries with my requested polenta; the creamed spinach was perfect. My friend's potato champ was the only discordant note: way too rich and greasy to accompany the skirt steak, which itself had a rich sauce. We suggest they add a few malbecs and carmeneres to the wine list. You need to offer more affordable vinos.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FallsChurch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Too Salty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I wanted to like Liberty Tavern last night -- I was being treated to a birthday dinner and the atmosphere, service and presentation all pointed to a memorable meal, but alas the chef grabbed a couple handfuls rather than pinches of salt. Dinner consisted of fried ("crisp") shrimp and clams, roasted beet salad, New England Style Fish "Soup", a half order of ravioli and a half order of pincianelle (more pasta), a kids order of fried (not "crisp" for the kids) shrimp and a kids order of a branzino fliet (Seriously! Aquaculture in Europe must have really brought the price down). With the exception of the beet salad, everything was too salty (in contrast, the salad was flat, lacking flavor despite the presence of arugula and a honey-juniper dressing). My salt-loving 8-year old daughter ate her filet and wanted more -- that by itself might have been worth 1 circle since her palate seldom extends beyond chicken and grilled cheese -- but even she noted that the fish was salty. The broth of the fish "soup" (why the quotes or why not call it a stew or chowder? I don't know) tasted a bit too much like the sea, and the salt monster in the original Star Trek would have loved the lamb ragu that came with the pincianelle (which looked like hand-rolled thick spaghetti, or pici). To end on a positive note, the French press Peruvian decaf coffee was quite good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peripatetic_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liberty Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Liberty Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing