We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I was expecting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Arlington
Ranked #35 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not what I was expecting”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I haven't stayed in a Le Meridien property in many years, so after reading some less than positive reviews of hotels in the Washington DC area I thought it would be a good option. A couple of thoughts:

-The hotel is isolated to some degree. It's also pretty small. It's definitely more "boutique" and you'll have to do without a few things by staying here. Your dining options are almost zero. Some of that has to do with the area. Things seem to close very early and there aren't a ton of options for shopping or dining. The good news is that you're only a quick cab ride or metro ride from those things. But if you want a bottle of water or a quick snack inside the hotel you're pretty much out of luck.

-Room was great in some ways, not as great in others. It seems like there are quite a few room types and sizes. In order to get a decent room i had to settle for an accessible room. The bed was great and very comfortable, there were plenty of power outlets and the internet service was great. On the downside, it was fairly dark in the room even with all the lights on.

-Staff was very friendly. They were able to arrange a car or taxi very quickly.

-I'm platinum with Starwood and was pretty disappointed with what that gets you at this location. That may not make much of a difference to anyone who doesn't have status with the Starwood program.

-Room service was hit or miss. Their late night menu is not good.

So, there are probably plenty of people that would really like this hotel, but I'd pick another option if I returned to this area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MattbPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, Manager at Le Meridien Arlington, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Good Afternoon mattbPR, thank you for sharing your comments with us. I am glad that our staff was helpful throughout your stay and certainly would like to apologize for the areas we fell short. This will give us an oppportunity to improve and we will address the issues mentioned promptly. If there is anything else I can do for you do not hesitate to let me know and I will ne glad to help.

Paul
Le Meridien Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    209
    93
    34
    32
See reviews for
115
155
45
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ambler
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We just returned from a very nice weekend at this hotel. I had never stayed here before, but was willing to try something new, and I'm very glad we did. We had a very nice time, and we really liked the hotel. There were very few nitpicks that I had, but the good far, far outweighed anything slightly off. The rate was extremely reasonable, and it included breakfast, which in the end turned out to be a great deal. Check in was very smooth, and we were given an available room with a view of the potomac immediately. The room was very nice, large, the king bed was comfortable, and the room was clean. The bathroom was spacious as well. I didn't love the bath products, or the fact that the bottles were mounted to the wall, but this is a minor thing for me. The hotel is very close to Key Bridge and to the Rosslyn metro stop, which was extremely convenient. We loved the location, and there were plenty of places close by to grab a quick bite. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. We did have a small issue with room service - we tried to order and kept getting re-directed to the front desk because no one was picking up. The staff member said he'd have room service call us back. They did, about 10 minutes later, and our food arrived about 40-45 mintues after that. That was a bit long, but the food was delicious, as were the breakfast offerings from Amuse, the restaurant at the hotel. All in all, we had a really nice weekend, and really enjoyed this hotel. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: We had a city view on the 11th floor, which offered a wonderful view of Georgetown and the Potomac.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaC11212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, Manager at Le Meridien Arlington, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you mb187143 for choosing the Le Meridien for your recent visit. I am so happy to see that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our property and the beautiful room with a vew of the Potomac and Georgetown! I will look forward to seeing you back in the near future!

Paul
Le Meridien Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
1,101 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,145 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Nicely located on a quiet street in Rosslyn, just across the Key Bridge from Georgetown. It is in a new, high-standard residential building. Well-equipped gym. The hotel has the potential of being a very good 4-star property. Alas, it is let down by budget-conscious and not detail-oriented management. This is shown in: broken reading lamps that are not replaced (see photos); toiletries that are cheaply attached to walls (as opposed to nice miniature bottles from good brands); absence of basic amenities (shower caps, shoe miffs); lack of a luggage rack in the room; etc. They would oblige in a friendly manner if you call and ask, but all these make you feel it's more a Holiday Inn than a Meridien or Sheraton hotel. Oh, and one room we were shown smelled badly of smoke - clearly they don't have a no-smoking policy, or didn't clean the room after a stay; anyway we were moved but not warned of such possibility.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, Manager at Le Meridien Arlington, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you Lam N for staying at the Le Meridien while visiting Arlington and Washington, DC. Please accept my apologies if our staff fell short in meeting all expectations and rest assured that all issues will be addressed promptly. If there is anything else I can do for you do not hesitate to let me know.
Sincerely,

Paul
Le Meridien Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Had three nights at the Le Meridien with my wife. The hotel is just 3 minute walk to Rosslyn Metro Station and you can just walk over the bridge to George Town.

The hotel is modern and the reception staff are really helpfull. We used the vallet parkering at it worked great (30$ per day / 18$ per day Fri-Sun).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boejland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, Manager at Le Meridien Arlington, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you boejland for choosing the Le Meridien for your recent visit to Arlington. I am glad to hear that you had a great stay and enjoyed our hotel. I will certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Paul
Le Meridien Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Just returned from a weekend stay at Le Meridien, Arlington and I was very impressed. The hotel itself is is nicely furnished with modern decor. The room was spacious, modern and clean. I could see the Washington Monument from my window. It's a one block walk from the Rosslyn Metro Station, and 1-2 blocks from the Key bridge leading to Georgetown. The location is great whether you plan on spending most of your time in Arlington or DC.

But what really impressed me is the hotel's service. The staff at Le Meridien went above and beyond to accommodate us. When we arrived it was 10pm and we were hungry, so we looked at the room service menu and saw that they stopped serving the regular menu at 9:30pm. We didn't want any of the offerings on the late night menu, so we asked if we could order from the regular menu, to which they responded "sure" and happily assented. The next day we were waiting for friends to pick us up and decided to have mimosas at the bar of the hotel restaurant, Amuse, while we waited. We were informed that the bar wasn't open yet and that they don't have mimosas on the breakfast menu, but that they could make them for us and we could sit in the lounge/bar area anyway. They even turned the tv on for us. I love this place! It seemed like they were willing to do whatever they could within reason to make sure we enjoyed ourselves.
I usually stay in DC when I'm in the area and have actually never considered staying in Arlington, but now that I know how close Le Meridien is to DC and how awesome this hotel is, I will definitely stay here again. Add to all of this, the fact that I got a great rate for my stay and it just can't be beat! Thank you Le Meridien Arlngton! I'll be at a different Starwoods property in a few weeks and you guys have set the bar pretty high.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNGPhila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, Manager at Le Meridien Arlington, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you MNGPhila for choosing the Le Meridien and for being able to enjoy the stunning views from our rooms! I am very happy to hear that our staff went above and beyound to make your stay a memorable one! I will certainly look forward to seeing you back at the Le Meridien Arlington soon.

Paul
Le Meridien Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Great location- just walk over the bridge and you are in Georgetown! We stayed here for a weekend. My newly engaged son arranged for his fiance's parents to fly in to meet us. My son told the General Manager this was the intent of the visit and he graciously upgraded both rooms. (Thank you!!!) One room had an amazing living room; just the perfect place to get to know my son's wonderful "in laws to be." Weekend rates were very reasonable. Great place for our special weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeDe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, Manager at Le Meridien Arlington, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you DeDe B for the wonderful comments about the Le Meridien Arlington. We are so happy to hear that you had such a memomarable experience while staying with us and were able to enjoy the upgraded suite! We look forward to hosting many more happy stays for you and your family!

Paul
Le Meridien Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

I went to this hotel on trip with boy friend. We got the room next to family who had a grumpy kid. But that was not the main point to blame them. While we were getting ready to sleep, we found out the AC didn't work. So we call to the lobby for their services. They gave us a drunken guy who not allowed to walk into our private. We were sick of AC and hoping it would work on during the night. But it did not.
My boy couldn't sleep well and upset about this place very much.

Finally, I called for dine room service for breakfast and got that food for inconvenience night and free when we checked out.

Should I blame them?
All I can say it was written on above. But this place got my last visit already.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAPATSARA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, Manager at Le Meridien Arlington, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you Princess P for sharing your experience with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for not being able to meet the high standards we have set for ourselves. If you get an opportunity to contact me directly at the hotel I will be glad to assist you personally. I will certainly look forward to seeing you back soon.

Paul
Le Meridien Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Arlington
Hyatt Arlington
#9 of 51 in Arlington
1,715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Key Bridge Marriott
Key Bridge Marriott
#27 of 51 in Arlington
437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn
Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn
#29 of 51 in Arlington
525 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Arlington/Courthouse Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Arlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Arlington

Property: Le Meridien Arlington
Address: 1121 19th St N, North Arlington, Arlington, VA 22209-1704 (Formerly Palomar Arlington, a Kimpton Hotel)
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#9 Green Hotel in Arlington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#27 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Arlington 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among top destinations in the Washington, D.C. region, Le Méridien Arlington is a stylish boutique hotel close to numerous restaurants and shopping options for our guests. We are excited to announce our new, contemporary chic style restaurant and lounge coming this March! Between the dates of January 13th to March 14th we will have our formal restaurant and lounge closed to carry out some beautiful refinements in the name of Méridien! We do not anticipate any disruption to services as the hotel has taken alternative measures to provide you a great experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Arlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palomar Arlington Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing