We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arlington Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Willow Restaurant

Willow Restaurant
4301 N. Fairfax Dr., Arlington, VA 22203
(703) 465-8800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Willow Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #88 of 755 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Utah
Transit: Public Transit Stops Two blocks from the Ballston Metro.
Pequea, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Arlington Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were here for a reception to honor a longtime local resident who had passed away. This was his favorite restaurant and he was a regular. The wait staff were very friendly and circulated well with the passed hors d'oeuvres. The flat breads were fantastic! The decor was really appealing - a sophisticated and welcoming combination of burgundy, brass, wood and natural light. Due to the occasion, we didn't fully explore the menu or beverage options but we'll go back! The Willow is an easy walk from the Ballston Metro station. Fyi, for nature enthusiasts, it's also close to the Arlington office of the Nature Conservancy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TWS-804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad experience at Willow no owner follow-up when reported”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have been to Willow a couple of times and was impressed but this last time was a deal breaker. Went in at lunch because there was a storm brewing, sat at the bar which was sticky and dirty and never got my food after 30 minutes of waiting. Was sitting at the bar and deserted completely. And I ordered soup and a half sandwich. Had to walk out for a meeting - what a mess. When I contacted the owner never got a response - that's it for me.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aimstern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
195 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“really nice find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

really nice restaurant with street entrance but also building entrance..decor is very cool and appealing. Menu is good and diverse. Food was very good, service was good and we had a private dining area making it extra special.

they even validate garage parking. will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank abst14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great service, expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Made a reservation for brunch with friends over Easter weekend. The food was superb, service was fantastic, however, $200+ for four people for brunch was a bit excessive.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank NYCSpark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hey! It's Ballston.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

It is often hard to find a decent restaurant, especially anything close to upscale, when you're captive to the Orange Line. Willow was a nice surprise and I plan to go back. True, some of the menu and bar items are far pricier than needed, but overall it is not unreasonable. The wine list suffers from the same mass-produced overpriced junk that most city restaurants offer, but I did get a decent Gruner and my friend had a very good whiskey cocktail. The kitchen produced two very nice soups, a passable smoked salmon offering, and an okay pasta dish for a reasonable price again. The service in my part of the Willow was very good and the server gave some very good suggestions.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Islandman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willow Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Willow Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing