We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Safe Bet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Willow Restaurant - CLOSED

Willow Restaurant
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Utah
Transit: Public Transit Stops Two blocks from the Ballston Metro.
Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always a Safe Bet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Willow seldom disappoints. The menu choices are varied and include something to please everyone's palate. My friend and I visited for lunch. I ordered the smoked tomato soup, delicious, and the mushroom flatbread. My friend's choice was the beet salad. It was beautifully presented, and in my friends words, very good. I also got a to go smoked salmon sandwich, another great choice. The dining room gets loud as it fills up, but it is otherwise comfortable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaTravelersrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    63
    29
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Dined at Willow to celebrate 5th wedding anniversary.
There is a reason this place made Washingtonian's Top 100 restaurants and snagged three stars.

Kudos to Willow for getting it right all around. Everything was top notch making it an excellent experience. Huge thanks to our waiter - who provided honest appraisals of the food and really helped steer us in the right direction for a great meal.

Signature cocktails - Spiced Pear Side Care and Whiskey Sour Cherry were well balanced and expertly crafted cocktails. Great way to start the meal.

App - shared the Bay Scallops. Amazing! The baked combination of creamy and crunchy with the scallops worked so well and it was a welcomed. Very distinctive and interesting use a common ingredient which Willow really made their own in this dish.

Entrees - both were absolute hits. As promised by our waiter, seafood really was the way to go. The Salmon with lentils provided a hearty and comforting dish for my husband. My selection of Tuna wrapped in proscuitto was equally yummy - the salty, crispy outer wrapping really made the fish - taking an already great quality ingredient and making it even better.

Dessert - Layer cake of the day. WOW. So yummy and light (I know it sounds so counter intuitive) it was the best d@mn layer cake ever.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieBarbK9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Level Contributor
247 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

A great place to sit at the bar and have a drink or have dinner. We did both. I had one of their soups (sorry can't remember which one) and the salmon plate - smoked salmon, latkes and a great crunchy slaw. My husband had arugula salad and cauliflower bisque. It was all excellent. Their chardonnay is excellent. Not too noisy, but we were there early. Convenient parking underneath which is plus in busy Clarendon. A little pricey, but worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank likebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
146 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Willow is very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ate @ Willow with a group of friends and were seated in a private room for 8. The atmosphere was beautiful & cozy without being cramped or short on space. The food is excellent & the service was very good. We had a leisurely dinner, great drinks, food & conversation. I suggest readers check this out when visiting Arlington.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenFromTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful, as always!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Visited Willow during Restaurant Week DC. My meal (and my friend's) was wonderful, as usual! The beet salad with goat cheese and beautiful greens was absolutely delightful -- and beautiful! A work of art in fact! I also enjoyed the filet mignon stroganoff served atop a bed of tender spaetzel. And ohhh - that lilikoi (passion fruit) cheesecake was heavenly! I can't wait to return -- in fact, I'll be back there next week! Service was attentive and added to the experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VAButterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willow Restaurant also viewed

 
Arlington, VA
Arlington, VA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing