We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently excellent Thai food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok 54

Bangkok 54
2919 Columbia Pike, Arlington, VA 22204
703-521-4070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 834 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent Thai food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Recently moved from Tysons to Arlington and have eaten here multiple times in the last few weeks due to lack of food in the house. The food is incredible, and consistently good. Traditional dishes such as the Drunken Noodle are absolutely perfect, whether you choose the spicy or non-spicy version. Portion sizes are robust.

Their seasonal dishes are great too. Currently, they have a squash (and chicken) red curry dish that is out of this world.

In some cases, I recommend dining in; as an example, the curry dish mentioned above comes with a salad but only when dining in.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roobifood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    55
    21
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
190 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

The Thai food gives you the option to be as authentic and spicy as you can handle. The seafood is very well done, the hot woks are fresh and pack a punch and the appetizers are generous. Go at happy hour and it is super cheap. My favorite is e spicy eggplant. Take out or eat in, this one will not disappoint.

Helpful?
Thank Urbanfarmgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food at an excellent price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

This place is really a great find for any Thai food lovers out there! The food is delicious and the servers are very helpful if you need any advice, but you shouldn't need it because everything is excellent. What makes it even better, the prices are really reasonable allowing for a tasty meal at a great price. DEFINITELY RECOMMEND!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA, USA
Level Contributor
180 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very, very, very tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Where to start.... spicy tofu - amazing. Duck - amazing. Spring rolls, fried rice - great. The service is always friendly and the dining area is nicely decorated. This is certainly one of the best values you can find - on a scale from 1 to 10, you get food that is an 8 and you pay the same amount for food that is half that quality elsewhere. I've never had drinks here, but am told they are pretty great.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Francisco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“My favorite Thai for takeout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I enjoy takeout or delivery from this restaurant almost too much! (I've only dined-in twice, but have had takeout or delivery dozens of times.) I like every dish I've had there; tasty, moderately-spiced (you can go hotter) typical Thai-menu dishes at good prices. (There are other, smaller Thai restaurants in the area that probably offer more "authentic" - less common - dishes as well.) The restaurant is handsomely decorated for dine-in. Parking can be a challenge, as there are many popular spots along this stretch of Columbia Pike. For locals in their delivery area, I've found the delivery times always faster than the quoted 45 minutes, and I've not had a mistake in a delivery yet. (Something I can't say about, for instance, the national pizza chain delivery in my area.)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok 54 also viewed

 

Been to Bangkok 54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing