We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good pho, nearly as good as the best I got in Saigon.”
Review of Pho 75

Pho 75
Ranked #21 of 883 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very good pho, nearly as good as the best I got in Saigon.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My go to bowl is tai nam gan, and Pho 75 delivers a very consistently good bowl of pho. The meats are even better than Pho Pasteur in Saigon, which is my favorite in Vietnam. Years ago, Pho 75 was slightly better than it is now, but the difference is slight. Go with some tripe or tatty tendon for flavor, you won't regret it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZivBnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    90
    21
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Solid”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Love the singular focus on Pho. High turnover means short or no wait.

Soup was well made, with crispy bean sprouts and spicy jalapeño adding to the interesting taste. Jalapeño especially dispersed a spiciness throughout the broth that was very satisfying.

Fabulous access by bus and Metro, and a CaBi BikeShare station nearby.

Helpful?
Thank HamTech87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Its all TRUE”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

So many reviews said it was great so I won't write too much but I was there in a snowstorm and the place was packed with happy mostly asian people bent over steaming bowls of pho...god it was fantastic......

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Good2GoUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good soup, but not consistent”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I have been enjoying pho since 1987 when I moved to Orange County, CA. I moved to
DC about 2 years ago and found Pho 75 (in Rosslyn) the most convenient location since I don't have a car. Pho 75 is a hit-or-miss place. Sometimes the soup is among the best I ever had, and other times it could be medicore. one time last month, they didn't even have Thai basil... It is not a complete pho experience without Thai basil! That said, this is still my go-to place for pho. on any given day, they can be very very good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ptdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Decent but doesn't deserve the hype.”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

They've got a lot going for them: a singular focus that shows in their menu and atmosphere -- but still they fall short in two of the three main components of pho.

The broth does have a good balance of fattiness and savory but it isn't as deep or aromatic as you might hope for and lacks the flavor from anise and clove. The second shortfall is the meat. They offer a good selection of types and they put a lot in each bowl -- and if you only like eye of round then you'll be satisfied -- but the quality is poor. The braised brisket especially should take on good flavor in the braising but theirs has none. The meatballs were utterly bland and cost a disproportionate $2. The fat on the fatty brisket was rubbery instead of delicate and melting. On some visits, the tendon was hard and almost crunchy, and the last time I went, my bowl had exactly one piece in it although the consistency was fine that time.

I'm sure this place is so popular because it SEEMS like it really ought to be good, but if you consider the food, I think you'll agree that it isn't all that great. Who serves better pho? I much prefer Pho 495.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chang_and_Ling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho 75 also viewed

 
Arlington, VA
 
Arlington, VA
 

Been to Pho 75? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing