We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Bistro - CLOSED

Village Bistro
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, American, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
CT
Level Contributor
126 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Very good restaurant. Great ambience too. Went looking for a casual meal and saw things like chicken parm on the online menu. When we got there, they handed us special menus. We had to ask if they had chicken parm and they brought out their normal menus. Glad they did since the normal menu had a very delicious salad with chicken. The chicken parm was good too. Service was good and the atmosphere was neat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendyg88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    45
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Simply adorable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a hidden gem only locals would know. I am fortunate my friend took me there while I was training in DC. The atmosphere could not be more inviting, pleasant and relaxed. The food was very good and my only regret was I did not stay long enough in DC to try other things. I ordered a Bloody Caesar (which is not the same as Bloody Mary), and to my delight, they actually did have clamatos!! I liked the fact they have small plates which is perfect for me. The prices were a bargain considering what you get. I've been to many very good restaurants, but never to a place like this. It truly lift your spirits. This is the 1st time in my life eating in restaurant that we ended engaging a conversation with the table next to us. By all accounts I had a wonderful time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Meal & Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stopped here on a whim for a Friday night meal and I'm very glad we did! The food, service, and atmosphere were excellent. I love that they have a menu of "small plates;" the perfectly sized portions are abundant but not overwhelming. Scallops were delicious, and the price is beyond reasonable for this area. Will definitely return to this restaurant!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly-S-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

The food was very good but the service was extremely slow and disorganized even though the restaurant was not full and there was plenty of staff. One of our party ordered a cup of coffee and we watched it sit on the counter for 5 minutes without anyone noticing.
I don't know if we'll come back. The food is meticulously sourced and prepared competently and with love... but it just does not make up for the sloppy service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Both the food and service have deterioated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We have come here many times over the years because the food and service have been great. This time was different. The food was only average and the service was nonexistent. It was hard to get our server's attention and every time we requested something they said yes but never followed through. We may be trying someplace else in the future.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Perry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing