We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Okay Thai Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thaiphoon Restaurant

Thaiphoon Restaurant
Ranked #126 of 834 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Okay Thai Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The restaurant is located in Pentagon Row, just behind the Pentagon City Shopping Center so it is accessible by car or Metro. Great location. The food is a little uneven in quality, however. We had an appetizer that was curried potatoes in a wonton wrapper that was delicious. My husband had a seafood dish with mussels and squid that he said was very tasty and fresh. My dish was a spicy chicken dish. The sauce was very good and the ingredients were fresh, but the chicken was very overcooked. I had trouble cutting it with my fork. The service was okay, nothing special.

Helpful?
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    23
    16
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Yummy Thai!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I used to live in the area, and was back for work. I raced to one of my favs and it didn't disappoint. I always get Spicy Beef Salad and Chicken Panang and Thai restaurants and at Thaiphoon they were heaven!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anne2StLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Overpriced, 'pretend' Thai food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is one of those restaurants where many of the customers aren't Asian, but one that has more of a hipster vibe where people like to say that they had Thai food here. The happy hour is decent (it's hard to have a bad happy hour) and the food was verryyyy salty. Not good. For nearby Thai food, I'd recommend Urban Thai -- they even deliver!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank dc20202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic Thai Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Good variety of Thai food. Good range of mild to extra spicy dishes. Decent selection of wines by the glass. Good customer service.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pentagon Row Restaurants--Excellent Variety and Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Very pleased with the variety of great restaurants---makes it hard to choose where to eat!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BVaughn007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thaiphoon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Thaiphoon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing