We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Tasty, Spicy, Good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Square Restaurant

Thai Square Restaurant
Ranked #143 of 838 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
242 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Tasty, Spicy, Good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Best Thai I have had on the East coast, almost as good as the Thai food back in California. The chicken with basil and chili was delicious, My only "beef" is that like most Thai resaurants they used only white meat. The Tom kha Kai and Tom yum Kai soups were great and flavorful. I was a little shocked by the total bill of $75 for 3 people, which was for 3 soups, 3 entrees, a Thai iced tea, a Thai iced coffee, and 2 glasses of wine. In spite of that, I would go back because they get the flavors right.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SofiaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    37
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“I don't want to write a good review, but I have too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

To say I love this place is really an understatement - that said - I am torn about writing this because the ONLY drawback is that depending on when you go - you can have a wait of up to an hour and a half. It is small - virtually NO decorations - it is ALL about the food. I'd want to say about as authentic as it gets, but in many ways - better. When in Thailand - we didn't go to a restaurant with this good food/attention to detail on flavors. (not talking about street food - that is a whole other story/great experience) Anyway - hope you DON'T go b/c I want more space for myself and shorter lines, but even if you do - I'll wait for a table!

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WX-Lobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“True to the Recommendations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

I chose to try Thai Square since I heard that this place caters to the Thai embassy’s events and Thai Royal families enjoyed their food when they visited the U.S.

This restaurant ended my quest for authentic Thai dishes in the United States. Well, not spicy enough to be truly authentic, but it is not the most important thing. To make it truly authentic, I just need to ask them to make the dishes that are supposed to be spicy such as Yam Woon Sen and Tom Yam Koong to be “Thai” spicy. We also ordered non spicy dishes such as pepper steak stir fly and pork noodle soup. The broth and the texture of the broad rice noodle was what I had been craving for.

They seem to have a large number of fans. Lots of obviously-none-Thai apparently-repeaters frequently came in to pick up their takeout orders.

Too bad that I live 200 miles away from the restaurant, but I am sure that whenever I come to DC, I would be eating here. I might need to travel to DC more often; already I feel craving.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pekocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crisfield, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Thai I've found in D.C. area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

From the Satay (well marinated chicken seemingly grilled over wood or charcoal fire) to the Pad Thai rich in flavor with noodles that had been cooked to tender (not overcooked to mushy) garnished with plenty of fresh cilantro and basil, Thai Square made a great first impression. I've eaten in a lot of different Thai restaurants in the DC area but this one is definitely the best Thai food I've ever been served. I know I'll be there again as often as I c
P.S. The place is small (maybe 15 two person tables) and the parking is hard to find but it's worth the effort. I'd suggest going early for dinner (or for lunch) to minimize these potential problems.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drmartie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Thai food. very reasonable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Great fresh food. Small place had to wait little while for a table. Very reasonable prices, good value.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Br0wnEyedGirl35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Square Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Thai Square Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing