We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great find!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Noy Restaurant

Thai Noy Restaurant
Ranked #94 of 850 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

Thanks to comments on TripAdvisor we had a wonderful dinner there. The pad see ew was the best I've ever had in this area. The Panang curry and the Massaman curry were also very tasty although the meat in the Massaman curry was on the verge of being tough. The portions were so generous that we had enough leftovers for another meal. The service was also very good. We would definitely come back.

Helpful?
1 Thank andiamoemangiamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    13
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly Neighborhood Restaurant With Terrific Thai Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

In an unassuming strip center, you walk into Thai Noy and it's like you've walked into a friend's house. Very knowledgeable and friendly staff, including the owner, greet you. There's quite a variety of menu items. My preferences: Crispy Rolls (or Spring Rolls especially during the summer), Mekong Chicken or the Salmon Special. No matter, you'll likely have tomorrow's lunch (or dinner) to take home, the portions are that generous. Thai Noy has a limited beer list and they try new wines regularly, so check out the selection. Just like at a good friend's house, you'll walk out happy to have made the visit.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 5from23rdSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“As Good As Laos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

My wife is Thai, I was also stationed on the Thai/Laotian border for two years. The cuisine and area is referred to as Isaan, generally the spiciest, and now very popular. We go back every year for weeks or months at a time. My son and his family recently moved to Arlington, and he told me of a great local Thai restaurant, run by a Lao.
The six of us went there last friday-and it was fantastic!
The dishes were very authentic, cooked the traditional way, with no obvious shortcuts.
We had the Gai Yang (chicken) with sticky rice, and som tam (papaya salad), all were delicious, and the portions were exceptional for a Thai restaurant. We also had Rad Nah( stir fried wide noodles with chicken and vegetables in a sauce)-excellent. Sea food cow pad (fried rice) exceptional! not greasey at all, not overcooked. We also had a Yum Moo (wild boar) salad, which was reccomended-it was wonderful.
We live in the Los Angeles area-and this place beats most restaurants in Thai Town!
The decor is very nice, and the service was helpful, although they were busy.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sander s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
“We can't resist it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2011

We've been going here for years and take all our out-of-town friends here as well. This place is one of those best-kept secrets ... they don't advertise and they're kind of tucked away in the Westover neighborhood. The Peninsula YumYum salad is to die for, and I always get the fresh spring rolls as well. I'm addicted to Thai Noy -- and believe me, I've tried plenty of other Thai restaurants in this city and others. I recently ate with friends at a Thai place in Georgetown of all places, and the food was absolutely tasteless (and expensive!).

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Perplexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food, wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

We live nearby and eat in the restaurant or get take out at least 3 times a month. The food is excellent. My husband loves their salmon special and they are kind enough to make it for him even when it is not listed as a special. I love their mekong peanut sauce and as I am a vegetarian, I very much appreciate that they will substitute tofu for the meat in just about any dish. My kids love their Crying Tiger appetizer as well as their Pad Thai. The decor is very relaxing, with peaceful and serene scenes all around. Two brothers own the place and treat their guests with great care. Can't say enough good things about Thai Noy!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sleepyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Noy Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Thai Noy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing