We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome tacos!”

Taqueria el Poblano
Ranked #112 of 874 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Southwestern, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Southern California - style Mexican food. Fresh ingredients, fresh-squeezed margaritas voted "BEST" in DC area 2014. Friendly atmosphere and lots of regulars all ages. Popular Sunday bunch -otherwise lunch and dinner.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
139 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Awesome tacos!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Excellent food and drink. The margaritas are excellent. Great place for brunch with many excellent choices. Authentic, delicious tacos, made with fresh ingredients. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    29
    9
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not very authentic”
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

First they brought me some cold tortilla chips, although the salsa was good. I had the 3 enchilada meal, which was ok, but not great. Everything was smothered in cheese and sauce, it reminded me of Chi Chi's from the 1980's. This place seems like what somebody thought Americans would want to eat, not what real Mexican cuisine is. A bit on the pricey side too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flapjack5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Taqueria el Poblano - Del Ray (Alexandria, VA)”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

June 29, 2012 - Friendly environment. Great Food. Great Service. We went around 5:30 the place was pretty busy. We didn't have to wait long for a table. Chips n' salsa were very good-very fresh. I have included some photos - Gulf Shrimp Yucatan (15.95), chips n' salsa basket and side of guacamole, and a photo of the duck carnitas (5.95). The waiter described their margaritas as made with fresh lime juice not packaged mix. $$ -$$$. Their menu is vegetarian friendly. They offer outdoor seating. They do have a bar (we drank water - it was a really hot day) http://www.taqueriapoblano.com. We plan to go back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Salsa EVER”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I love salsa ... So much that we make it at home and can eat an entire blender full in one night. And I have never had salsa as good as mine ... Until now! This place has the best salsa ever. I could eat it with a spoon!

That being said, the food here is great too. Granted, I found something I like here and never order anything else, but I've tried 3 or 4 things, including the todtada, carnitas, and chicken fajitas, and they are all good. But the beef tacos are GREAT! Its pulled beef put in a soft taco and then deep fried! Wow! Its so good!!! Put some of the brownish taco sauce thats on the table on your taco, and it's a one of a kind taste! Love this place and def recommend it!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobbTheFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I keep returning ...”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

... for nice simple lunches with fresh ingredients, friendly service, and a pleasant welcoming atmosphere.

I've been coming here for lunch and the odd supper since 2005. I can say that it has never really disappointed. It seems pretty clear that the important things (the chicken, pork, beef, salsa, guacamole, beans) are all made fresh on site, with care. You can opt for a small lunch of a couple of tacos (you can get them soft or crunchy), a bigger lunch of the very ample burritos, or explore the menu for more substantial fare. There are also usually a few items on the Specials board that are worth a try; keep an eye open for the tortilla soup, an excellent dish. Be aware that you can also order the tostada (usually a huge plateful) in a half portion that is perfect for a light lunch, one of my favorites. Another favorite, especially in cooler weather, is frijoles charros, almost a kind of bean stew made with pintos in a pork broth (I think). For dessert, the chocolate sorbet with a shot of tequila always clicks.

On the subject of tequila, the margaritas are excellent at the Taqueria. There are also several beers on tap, and a couple of local Port City brews have made an appearance over the last few months. For something non-alchoholic, their lime coolers are made fresh and are pure taste. Excellent.

Service has always been friendly and prompt. The restaurant has a lively decor in a subdued sort of way; it is kind on the eyes but if you look closely you find interesting old photographs and intriguing artifacts. It is a proper sit-down restaurant, but without any stuffiness.

I live in Fairfax, a twenty minute drive from the Taqueria on Harrison Street (even longer with the ongoing construction), but I still keep coming back when the opportunity arises. It's worth the drive.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StWinefridesWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taqueria el Poblano also viewed

 

Been to Taqueria el Poblano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing