We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Food and Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ray's the Steaks

Ray's the Steaks
Reserve with OpenTable
Ray's the Steaks is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 859 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cross River, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food and Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Ray's the Steaks is in the exploding Clarendon / Courthouse area of Arlington, VA. The setting is non-discript, but the attentiveness of staff, the range of the selections, the quality of the food (esp. the steaks) and the incedible value for the portions makes this a NoVA must. I have been there twice and came away both satisfied and well-fed. As good a meal as places with 3X the price tage.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    245
    116
    39
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“expensive steakhouse”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

the food was good but no atmosphere for the prices I like ruth chris if
I am paying high dollar on food the atmosphere much better and our service was great

Helpful?
Thank cindy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
289 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great Steak for a Reasonable Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Ray's the Steaks' steaks are as good as Ruth's Chris, but you'll spend less. They have a wide variety of steaks for every taste and appetite. I had the NY Strip Special with crab bisque. All the meals come with family style mashed potatoes and creamed spinach. I'm not a creamed spinach fan, but the mashed potatoes were very good as was my 12oz NY Strip. I may go back tonight.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank RLMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

When my wife and I tried “Ray’s the Steaks” with a visiting friend, I opted for what seemed to be a signature dish – the T-bone from the “dry aged cuts,” which the menu describes as “peerless flavor and texture, for the true connoisseur, aged in house 45 days, butchered and hand trimmed daily.” At $41, it was the most expensive dish (with the exception of some selections for two). What I found was a steak that had quite a bit of gristle that I had to cut around, and meat that really was not so flavorful or exceptionally tender. Too late, I realized that I should have tried one of the restaurant’s New York strip or rib-eye steaks, which is what I usually choose. Despite the disappointing initial foray, I’m willing to go back to check out another steak, perhaps the “Cajun rib-eye.”

The sherried crab bisque was richly flavored, creamy, and with good-sized chunks of crab, a real stand-out like the waitress promised. Management seems to have taken previous criticisms to heart, since patrons can now make table reservations. I was told that a table was only available at 6:00 a.m. or after 9:00, so we took the earlier seating. We were led immediately to our table, and our dishes were delivered quite quickly. My wife and our friend were a bit embarrassed to order off the short seafood listing, but they both liked their selections – blackened salmon and crab cakes. The high ceiling and the close placement of the tables means the background noise is quite intrusive, which I didn’t like.

With tip, the tab for my wife and I came to $95. We did not order wine or beer, however.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very, very good steakhouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

My significant other loves this place. Atmosphere is nice, not as elegant as Ruth's Chris in Tysons but also not as pricey. Portions and price are reasonable. Good place to go for a special night. Service is excellent and friendly.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1LarryFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ray's the Steaks also viewed

 
Arlington, VA
 

Been to Ray's the Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing