We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best value in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ray's the Steaks

Ray's the Steaks
Reserve with OpenTable
Ray's the Steaks is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 874 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best value in town”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Better steaks than the chains at about 2/3 the price with sides. The wine list is broad and well priced. You can keep Morton's, Ruth's Chris and the Capital Grille (although I'll admit to liking the Capital Grille). palm still rules when it coems to lobster and a great martini, but give me Ray's when I crave a great steak.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank msoberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    261
    123
    40
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not at ALL what I was expecting”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My family LOVES Rays to the Third but on his birthday they were only serving burgers so we decided to try Rays the Steaks. As with Rays the Third the ambiance leaves a little to be desired, it's very stark white with black accents. The menu had an interesting variety of steaks but it was hard to read (font too small) and it was disorganized. The service was just okay and when I ordered a diet coke it came to the table in a plastic bottle like I would get at Subway. The waiter didn't even pour it into the glass for me. The food was marginal at best. Our steaks were fatty and gristly, my husband left half on the plate because it was inedible. The mashed potates were not made from real potatoes but rather some box mix. For the price we paid I feel like I could have gotten better service and a better meal at a Longhorn Steakhouse. We will not be returning to this establishment.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TLOW1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Best steakhouse ever!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Food was delicious, much better than Morton's or Ruth's Chris. I'm normally not a steakhouse visitor because I feel that most are overpriced, but I would definitely visit here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelboundDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
1 review
“Disappointment”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The comment is really good here.so I put this place to must go in our trip @DC. The steak was really big from the picture. We ordered onion soup ,medium-well "FILET MIGNON" and a classic well-down "HANGER STEAK " . Soup was tasty.Filet was really small and the classic was 1.5 strip,not worth the price. Both steak was burned,the filet overcook like well down.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miran0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent, but Why Just Courthouse!??”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Have been going to Ray's since it was the hole-in-the-wall place that is now occupied by Ray's Hellburger - but now that they have opened a third (and really a fourth) Ray's restaurant within a block of each other, one has to ask: why just courthouse??? Wish it was more available and within walking distance of - say Clarendon or Ballston ... should be one on every Orange-line Metro stop in N VA. Ray's is the best steak / hamburger place around - but should make itself more accessible

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StationSquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ray's the Steaks also viewed

 

Been to Ray's the Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing