We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kanpai Japanese Restaurant

Kanpai Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #240 of 870 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I recommend the "lunch box" - complete meal for about $10 with miso soup, lettuce salad, rice, and your choice of combinations of sashimi/sushi/tempura. We sat outside and enjoyed the sun. Service was great. One thing - the Yelp reviews are not consistent with Trip Advisor and Yelp has a number of negative comments. For me I'm sticking with 5 stars though.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hertz314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    16
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just ok..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I was pretty hopeful about this restaurant given the online reviews, but went over the weekend and couldn't help but feel underwhelmed by the food. The food was fresh, but the rolls all seemd to taste the same. Food aside, the restaurant was clean and the service was good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KosMarkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

food was good, service was great. we had a great experience at this place. i am not too big on sushi, but gotta admit.. I like their sushi. Def will go back again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Francis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
239 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We enjoyed dinner outside at Kanpai. The sushi was good as was the soup and salad. Prices were reasonable. Service was very good and the portions were good. We also had the mochi for dessert.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alwaysfun2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Fallsburg, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“delicious late dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Rather than eat at the hotel restaurant, we took a chance on this Japanese restaurant. The chirashi was fresh, ample, and delicious. I had a soft shelled crab hand roll that was crisp and delicious. The plum wine was sweet and reasonably priced. The service was prompt, with a smile. All in all, an excellent choice.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kanpai Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kanpai Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing